Life In Lagos City...(1)

8 30
Avatar for Phantastic
1 year ago
unsplash.com

Waking up to the usual horns of cars, trucks and motorcycles is a part of our routine life in the city. I was told I will get used to it, But for the time being am still unsure of ever adapting to this chaotic lifestyle.

Here is my story;

My name is Emmanuel, I am a Nigerian from the southern part of the country. Life over there is simpler. Am a student, and I know you must be wondering if I haven't learned about the city lifestyle. I have but not experienced it, as the say experience is the best teacher. 

Due to the hold on tertiary education, I decided to visit my uncle who stays in the city, Lagos to be precise to spend quality time with him. As we are not sure of going to school this year.

The eagerness to experience life in the city deprived me of sleep in the night, so I stayed alll night fantasizing of all the moments I will spend in Lagos. I woke up very early in the morning to prepare as the journey will be a long one, since I will be traveling in a bus. I ate little of my breakfast for fear of an experience I had in one of my travels. Took my bag and waved goodbye to everyone, my friends, parents and siblings. It was a tough one for them but I was happy I will start telling them tales about the city, especially my long distance of  travel.  And finally I will be called 'Jagaban' by my friends, don't ask me the meaning but that is the name for people who traveled to Lagos.

Walking to the park with my shoulders so high, you might think I had boils in my armpit. I walked directly to the counter and spoke at the top of my voice, so everyone would hear I was going to Lagos. And I got the attention I wanted, they all turned and stared in my direction. I got a ticket and finally I was on the bus. I waved at every stranger at the park, I was so happy to leave. Few hours into the journey, I was already watching a Yoruba drama, hoping to get a glimpse and also master some words before I stepped foot in Lagos. Lucky for me, all I could catch so fast was 'Ekaaro' which I memorized till I got to Lagos.

After hours of the journey, we stopped  for people to get something to eat. I stepped down and thought I was already in Lagos. I smiled thinking it was a perfect time to show them I came prepared. I looked at one of the sellers, and said 'Ekaaro' with all confidence and charisma. She smiled and told me 'Am fine' was all she said. I smiled at her, but deep down I was satisfied that I had gotten a meaning for my Yoruba word.

Few minutes later, we started our journey again, ha! Driver, is this playing, what kind of playing is this, was all that was going on in my mind. Lo and behold, we passed the school gate of the university of Benin, then I realized we still had a long way to go. 

I went back to my online Yoruba tutorials, though they said a lot of things, since I wasn't conversant with the dialect, I became bored and decided to listen to some music. 

I slept off and woke up and we still weren't close to Lagos. I was too eager to get home, so I decided to ask someone sitting beside me. She told me, we just entered Ondo state. Wonderful, Merciful God!!! I only wanted to visit Lagos and not tour around Nigeria, I exclaimed. She smiled and assured me, soon we will be in Lagos.

At last, I was in Lasgidi, finally a Jagaban. It was almost 9pm. Decided to try out the word I had mastered after hours of watching the movie. I walked up to a POS attendant, and said 'ekaaro' , he looked at me confused, and he replied 'E kaaro ni akoko yii, se e daadaa? ' I was confused and had to explain to him, I wasn't a Yoruba man. He laughed at me heavily and told me the meaning. Wow! So I actually greeted someone good morning by 9pm, wonderful, merciful God, I exclaimed. 

unsplash.com

It was already late but I had to keep my fans at home posted, so I brought out my phone and took some pictures, making sure the BRT buses would enter. And I tagged the photos 'Jagaban in lasgidi".  When I uploaded them on my social media I got a lot of reactions and comments. I smiled, at least I felt what all these celebrities do feel whenever they posted online.  Had to inform my uncle I was in town, and a few minutes later, his driver came and we went home.

I narrated my ordeal at the park to my cousins and they all laughed at me. But I learnt something the hard way, the next morning I walked up to my uncle and greeted him 'ekaaro sir', he answered and my cousin began giggling. I knew she was going to expose my little secret, which she did without delay, my uncle laughed and we spoke about a lot of things before he left for work. I walked to the dining table to eat. Why on earth will the cook empty a bag of pepper into my stew, I said softly. When I lifted my eyes, she was standing in front of me. I knew I had enrolled myself into the vawulence academy. Wonderful! Merciful God!! I exclaimed….

To be continued………

5
$ 0.91
$ 0.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Kushyzee
$ 0.01 from @Kacy01
+ 1
Sponsors of Phantastic
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Phantastic
1 year ago

Comments

I love this, that ekaaro part got me laughing hard 😂 you actually passed my school (uniben) on your journey, were you coming from Delta state or another southern state? Lagos is a good place to visit and relax but only if you're not an office worker! If you're working, then be prepared to leave the house as early as 5am everyday just to dodge traffic, and you will still end up in mad traffic 😂 especially if you're staying on the island. I travelled to Lagos for my IT some months ago and it wasn't a fun experience, traffic frustrated me. There was a day I spent 5 hours stuck on the road, it now looked like I was traveling to another state. Don't even get me started with their quality of water and electricity on the island, I love Benin abeg

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha, how man go do, shey na me been wan speak yoruba by force. was coming from uyo. Really you are studying in uniben. That's one university I like their system of education but my friend there tells me about ekosodin boys, and I japa.

My experience in Lagos wasn't funny at all. I had to run home, no be me dem wan kill.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I stay in ekosodin and right now it's one of the safest off campus community around the university. It used to be a warzone in the past but now it's peaceful

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow... I just have this indept affection for my life.. I too love my life, that was why I didn't choose uniben again

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Guy you are good!🙌. You travelled to Lagos from Delta I assume. My first journey to Lagos was from Delta and the journey was far as if we were leaving Nigeria. Traffic got me choked up and since then I've decided not to embark on a long journey again unless I'm taking a VIP tour

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks man, though I didnt travel from delta but from Uyo . I spent all day on the road

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! You had a fun traveling. I also enjoy traveling too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish I did

$ 0.00
1 year ago