Improve Your Vocabulary To Write Better Articles

21 48
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago
Topics: Writing, Blog, Vocabulary
Image Source: https://www.google.com/amp/s/blog.socialstudies.com/the-importance-of-vocabulary-instruction-in-social-studies%3fhs_amp=true

Reading books or listening to audiobooks can greatly improve our vocabulary and creativity, which we can of course use freely to write our articles here, for example. Using new vocabulary can not only benefit us, but can also spice up our blog posts and make them more interesting and professional.

In this article, we will look at words, that we often use, when writing and see how we can replace them with other appropriate words to make our articles less monotonous for others to read.

Take A Look At The Weather First

Weather is the most common topic, when you can't think of anything to talk about.

I felt until now, that the Summer is late. Even in May, when it should have been very hot, but instead it was still very cold and rainy. I often had to wear my coat, whenever I went out. I didn't like it. I was looking forward to seeing nicer days. Now I can go out in just a pair of short and t-shirt as Summer is finally here.

Let's see this text above how would it look like with other words. As you can see, I used the phrases"very cold" and"very hot" which we use often, but we can replace them. I also used "Summer" twice so I am going to replace one of them. Other words I used are "late", "didn't like", "went out", "go out", "rainy" and "here."

So here it is again with different words.

I felt until now, that the Summer is approaching in a sluggish pace. Even in May, when it should have been scorching, but instead it was still freezing and pouring rain were soaking up the streets. I often had to wear my coat, whenever I was out and about. I was dissatisfied with it. I was looking forward to seeing nicer days. Now I can enjoy the great outdoors in just a pair of short and t-shirt as the sizzling season of the year is finally kicked in.

As you can see we not just replace words, but we can place a phrase there. This technique makes our paragraphs longer as well.

Image Source: https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.wired.co.uk/article/long-range-weather-forecast-uk/amp

Personal Blogs

I often read personal blogs. Usually about how a day went, for example, experiences with travel, work, celebrations or just an average weekend experience. I like to read personal blogs, because it gives me a chance to get to know a little better the person I'm reading about. It is interesting to see different people's different lives.

Here is a short text, that could be in a personal blog.

This is a Sunday afternoon and I am just after my lunch. I have not much to do, but I try to come up with something to do, so my afternoon would not be very boring. I like going for a walk or just resting at the riverside with a book in my hand. I like my weekends. I can really relax and gain more energy as I am usually get very tired during the week.

Ok so let's see what we can do about this short paragraph to make it more interesting to our readers.

This is a Sunday afternoon and I am just after my lunch. I have not much to do, but I try to come up with something to do, so the rest of the day would not be lifeless. I like going for a jaunt or just chillaxing at the riverside with a book in my hand. I like my weekends. I can really unwind and recharge my batteries as I am usually get exhausted during the week.

It is good to place some lesser know words just to make it a bit more interesting and not to make it so boring.

Using The Phrase "I know"

The use of "I know" is very widespread, both in speech and in writing. When we say, that we know something, we don't necessarily understand it. By this I mean, for example, that if we need to fix something, a simple thing, in order to make it work, say we need to change a light bulb in a lamp, we know how to do it, but we don't understand how it actually works. Exactly why and what components are needed to make light in the dark.

To give you another example, there is a psychiatrist I saw on TV. He gave an interview to someone from the media, and at the end of the interview, when they were saying goodbye, the interviewer said to him, "nice to know you". The psychiatrist turned back from the door and said, you don't know me, we just met.

That's why you have to be very careful with the word "know" both when writing and when speaking.

Here are some synonyms for the word "know"

  • Experience

  • Notice

  • Perceive

  • Realize

  • Recognize

Let's see what I can come up using these synonyms to write a short paragraph.

As I was walking on the street yesterday I saw a man and I recognized him. I have seen him before somewhere and we had a nice chat. I decided to approach him and I noticed, that he was actually not alone. I realized, that the lady, who was with him was my piano teacher. Based on my previous experience, when I had a chat with this man I preceived, that he has a different accent, than mine.

Image Source: https://tenor.com/search/i-know-gifs

Using The Word "Very"

This word is very easy to use and we use is very often. Almost every time I read and write an article I see this word used very much. You see I just wrote two sentences and used it three times deliberately. I wouldn't say don't use it, but I would try to replace this word as many times as I can.

Some common examples and replacements.

  • Very fast - Rapid

  • Very slow - Sluggish

  • Very hot - Scorching

  • Very cold - Freezing

  • Very poor - Destitute

  • Very rich - Wealthy

  • Very happy - Jubilant

  • Very thirsty - Parched

  • Very hungry - Ravenous

  • Very clean - Spotless

There are so many other adjectives out there. You can use the dictionary or thesaurus to find more.

Do not be afraid to use words, that you don't even know. If you combine your vocabulary and your creativity, when writing your articles you will see, that you will come up with articles, that are on a whole different level.

If you know some good words, feel free to share it with us. I hope you get some value out of this article. Don't be shy to use it.

Lead Image Source: https://nathalielanguages.com/8-tricks-learn-english-vocabulary/

12
$ 17.60
$ 17.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 6
Sponsors of Peter-Molnar
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Peter-Molnar
2 years ago
Topics: Writing, Blog, Vocabulary

Comments

I have read few articles about how to replace word for better expression of thought I am also trying my best to apply those but for now as a newbie I found it difficult to understand myself when using unfamiliar word. Maybe soon I might study more new words. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes It is not easy. One word has many synonyms, but you have to use the right one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm also trying my best to improve my skills and for this I'm taking classes as well but lets see how long it will take to improve more

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's really good. I am interested in creative writing so I will have to look into it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this. I'm new here and I find this very helpful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are very welcome. I am glad if I could help.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Using the phrase always helpful.But I am poor in English.I take tutorial classes on YouTube and meet to improve this.Can you recommend me a dictionary for help in writing?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You will be ok. I am glad you are taking action to improve your English. You can use www.thesaurus.com. and for dictionaries marriam webster, cambridge and oxford dictionaries all have online versions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you my dearā¤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I use synonyms always, it's just hard to find a fitting one for a sentence but well, It's still cool.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree. If we use them we have to make sure we use the right one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's live for synonyms! Thank you for this. And yes, reading always helps expand our vocabulary.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes there is never enough reading. It really helps in many ways.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You got that right!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very useful or shall I say beneficial. Hahaha! Nice rockin' again!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed Meyzee you could say beneficial. Haha. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks so Educative .I Will learn to replace some common words .but u know I still an amateur writter

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It does not matter. See my footer image and read it. :) Thanks for reading. Just to let you know in case you did not realize your comments are appear as spam. I don't know why.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have seen a lot of very's possible replacements and they are just so helpful.

Here is one I can remember:

Very cute - adorable

I have learned a lot from this. Yay! Glad to be the very first reader for this one. :) Saving it for future use.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yey my first reader. It meand we are both online. Lol. Thanks for passing by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago