Why Chase Freedom?

8 52
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Lead image

The freest substance of life is the air, breeze, or atmosphere. At every point in time in the life of individuals, freedom is what they desire but unfortunately, it is not easy to come by because of the design of world economic and political structure. Everyone may have the experience to define freedom the way they want because of what life presents to them. Just like I am about to do.

Freedom is that control I have over my thoughts and actions. Like when I can eat what I desire in as much as I have the means. That's what I term freedom.

The envy of an uncaged bird

A bird once flew across a cage that houses another bird. In the cage, there are enough grains and but for the caged bird to eat. There is also a swing and revolving water from an artificial fountain in the cage. The free bird started to envy the supposed comfortability of the cages bird. Then a conversation ensued between them:

Free bird: Hi buddy. This house looks gorgeous. I wish I had such a beautiful home. The already made food, the water spring, and the swing made it a perfect whole.

Caged Bird replied: It's fine to love all that you see but it's been long I had the opportunity to stretch my wings and fly across those trees and streams in search of my grains and but not play the swing game with other birds in pursuit. You don't have to envy my position, it's the worse you can ever get.

On second thought, the free bird having weighed what was said knew that freedom to one may be confinement to another.

Universal Thought on Freedom

Universally speaking, freedom could be said to be a state of being able to change without constraint. Many people have confronted the political system of different nations where they live because they feel like it restricts them from the freedoms they desire. You might have read about people like Rosa Parks, Martin Luther King Jnr., Machiavelli, Kwame Nkrumah, Osei Desmond Tutu, Herbert Macaulay, Vaughan Davies, Mary Slessor, and a host of other people who may not be mentioned here. Their agitation is just for the desired change which they got to a great extent. And from time immemorial, mankind has continued. I have come to resolve that freedom would always be fought for.

Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty

Meet my graceful sponsors.

I Bridle My Freedom

When I feel so free to do what I desire to do without anyone restricting me, sooner than I thought, my choices may not be too good in the end. The more reason I would prefer someone else checks my freedom so I don't blow it out of proportion. By so doing, I have been able to bridle my freedom.

A conscience that is not battered can also help you bridle your freedom.

Freedom is not worth having if it does not include the freedom to make mistakes.

The only real freedom is freedom from what makes you uncomfortable or afraid. I have freedom now, yet, I am still in need of some level of freedom.

Nelson Mandela's Long Walk To Freedom

When I first started reading Modiba's work on how he lived as a young boy in South Africa to becoming a lawyer and one of those who pursued the freedom of South Africa from the claws of Apartheid Rule and how he was instrumental to the formation of the then most populous Political Party in Africa; African National Congress. Throughout this journey, his life and that of his accomplices were continually under some sort of threat. Many of them paid the ultimate price, death.

A Typical Zulu Warrior of South Africa

He was arrested because he was not going to rescind his intention to fight for equality between the white and black races in South Africa. To say the least, that book speaks of how he lived his life in Robben Island, the prison yard where he lived more than half of the period when he was incarcerated.

Freedom comes with a lot of self-denial and threat, according to the level of freedom you want. Mahatma Gandhi spoke of it, many more prominent people fought for it. The fight for freedom will never end.

You and I still fight. The freedom fighters will still be born because there is no limit of freedom that will be enough for man.

12
$ 5.81
$ 5.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 6
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Comments

Freedom is indeed needed and craved by all. I wouldn't want to be like the caged bird irrespective of how much comfort I may be getting. Sometimes people may replace comfort with freedom. As for me, I'd rather be free!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

If only the free bird knows how privilege he is to be able to fly freely hihi. That's why, it is very important for u to appreciate the things we have. Be grateful instead of being envy.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's a pity that those who envy don't know the level of what they already have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anything good don't come in a easy way. Just like freedom, everyone want to gain freedom, but are we ready to do what it takes to be free?

Just like gold , before a gold can be useful , it will have to pass through furnace, just like some of our freedom fighters, they went through a lot of things before they could succeed in achieving their goals.

Freedom requires a lot from us, if we want to be free, we don't have to fold our arms , we work for our freedom.

Nice article!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We have to struggle a lot in order to be free, and it's not just by sitting down and asking for it, sometimes we have to fight in order to get freedom from our oppressors

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow I loved the part of the caged bird and free bird apart from the virtue of freedom it teaches it also teaches to be grateful in whatever situation we find ourselves

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Contentment is a great gain. The more we appreciate what we have, the better for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago