Whose Party Will You Attend?

10 40
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Engr. Kolade is happy today. He clocked fifty and against all odds his wife gave birth to a baby boy. They have been married for fifteen years without a child. Part of his joy is that is the child will be named on his fiftieth birthday. The ceremony is attended by his colleagues in the construction industry where he is prominent for his many giant strides in the business. It hopes to be a great day. There was food to eat and assorted drinks to accompany it. The guests came in their numbers. From the church, family relatives, business partners, neighbors, and well-wishers.

The Anglican priests were on the ground to anchor the naming ceremony. The live band was on the ground to give many beautiful renditions as the crowd danced away. As I watched from a distance, I couldn't help but join in the celebration. I danced away with the youths dancing shaku-shaku, Skelewu, azonto but when they brought the one-corner dance style, I left them. That dance style looks more like a madness exhibition.

Praise The Lord!

The priest halted the session of dance to name the child. Engr. Kolade brought out a long list of names to name the child. You know, in this case, many people have suggested different names to call the child. The list was very long, I exaggerations.

We name this child, Samuel, Majemu, Adekola, the son of Kolade.

All that we're present chanted the name of the child as the priest mentioned it one after the other. Then food was served.

This is my place of concern.

For those who wanted to eat morsels, they were one wrap of semolina, a very big chunk of meat, and one croaker fish. For those who chose to eat rice, it was one chunk of meat and Moi-Moi (beans pudding). While the food serving, in was taken note of the difference between what was served.

So, when the waiters got to me, I bluntly told them to serve me semolina. This is one special feature of a party organized by the Yoruba people. They feed them to their fill.

Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty

Every weekend, I just prepare my Senegalese kaftan in search of where a party is hosted and seat in their midst to be served food.

College days were rough when it comes to pocket money from our parents due to low income and distance from home.

One weekend, after we have searched all town for a party and none could be found, at the end of the southern part of the town, we found the Igbo people celebrating some sort of end-of-year program. We got there right on time. So, we sat and they began to serve.

At first, I waited to see what kind of food they were serving, only to discover that it was nothing to compare with the other parties I have been attending. The rice was so much on the plate but with a tiny cut of meat.

From that day, I learned that the Yoruba, Ijebu most especially can do anything to organize a very good party.

Today, being a Saturday, and as usual, in the city Lagos, there are several parties especially wedding reception, which would you advise to attend?

I know what's coming to your mind now. We attend parties for different purposes. Some attend to show their newly styled clothes while some just want to hook up with their friends after ages. Some just want to unwind. For me, apart from looking good, it's also an avenue to try out different cuisines. I am some sort of foodie if you like to call me that.

Image source

The last party I attended was in Epe, an Ijebu part of Lagos. Men, those people they do party. I bet you haven't seen it better when it comes to party like it is done in Epe.

Fresh fish soul. I mean some kind of fish you some see in the common market. I traveled like two hours within Lagos just to experience the party in Epe, I am proud to say that it was worth it.

Lead image

8
$ 3.38
$ 3.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 4
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Comments

As for me, I'll definitely attend the party that is very close to my heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, I don't attend parties , only went to eateries with friends. But with the little knowledge I have about igbo and Yoruba party.

The Yoruba can spend anything to hold an elaborate part even though if it's warrant them to borrow loan, it will , the meat on top of the food is always big , like you will enjoy yourself to the fullest.

But Igbo party, but not all igbo's... hehe, they are always careful about the money they spend, if you see the meat, it will seems as if the want to cut their fingers with it... hehehehe, it is well.

School life is always fun .

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ths Yorubas sure do know how to party! Their owambes are no joke šŸ˜† and one thing I notice about them is that they like meat a lot.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm glad you haven't attended a party where you sat and saw people at your front being served and on getting to you, either rice have finished or meat has finished or everything in general has finished. So disappointing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The ijebus can borrow money just to organise an elaborate party. They cook different meals and spray money without restrain. I love going to such party šŸ˜

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Celebration is a great element of human existence but i go with the naming celebration...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

North west Nigeria is known for their extravagant merriment. They can organise a good party

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are a flexing guy. You're flexing all around. Enjoy yourself

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ijebu are professionals when it comes to parties, we have a lot of them in Ikorodu, and every Saturday means a party for them.

I really don't fancy that but I can't deny surviving on party food during school days.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Well, Iā€™d advise to attend the party closets to you. Unless you want to spend most of your return journey in Lagos traffic šŸ˜‰

$ 0.03
2 years ago