Weather The Storm

4 53
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Lead image

Today had been good from all sides. Everywhere I turned today made me smile at least. Laughing isn't an easy thing to do in this season due to the above 16% inflation that has hit our nation's economy but what do we do? Laughter is the best you can gift yourself. So, I tried to laugh at every slight opportunity.

A bus conductor tried to get me angry by refusing to give me change for my bus fare, you know, I could get my anger on him, I just thought it doesn't worth it, in the long run, I cracked a joke and everyone burst into laughter. Just then, it began to rain and we all got stuck in traffic for almost an hour.

When I arrived at the event center as a guest representing my boss at the wedding ceremony, little did I know I was in for a shocker Of the decade. Sometimes in the media, I have read about older folks getting married. Today, I witnessed a wedding of such. The lady in question is almost sixty years old whereas the groom is in his early sixties. Funny enough, they were getting married for the first time in their lives. I know of this *Lagos Boy syndrome*, for carefree guys in Lagos who would always like to flex their money on social gatherings, clubbing, and a host of other engagements meant for youths.

It was a huge party and there was a lot to eat and drink. After the reception, I had to move to the other side of town where the grand finale of a musical competition was taking place. You might have not known, I have a thing for music. So, I am not going to miss this.

The stage is set. The band and lightning reflected many things in one language, exotic. We had the popular Nigerian comedian, Gordons as the anchorman. With his jokes, he tore the audience into a session of laughter. There were four finalists in this competition and they are all super lyricists. I tell you, the judges had difficulty in the selection process. I took major concern in the way they presented their songs.

Image source

Oma

Her full name is Chioma Ezechi. When she first came to the stage, she looked like someone who isn't going to pull a trigger, maybe because of her stature. She is skin and solely dressed, so I felt nothing serious would come out of her Nazareth. Oh! I didn't consider that it was the finale of the contest. When she handled the mic, it was the fire. Her rendition of Lauren Hill's Turn Your Lights Down Low kept me nodding my head throughout her display.

Pearl

Michaels-Okibe Maureen by name and Pearl for her stage name made the scene upstage look like a grammy awards presentation. With her plumpy statute, one would not be surprised to see her pitch from one musical note to the other. The judges were on their feet throughout her presentation. A very good mastery of the bass guitar made it a Soledad. She sang When Somebody Loves You Back by Teddy Pendergrass.

Image source

Mode

That's what he prefers to be called. He sang Elton John's~Sacrifice. Now, this weekend is making refined. Where have I kept all my old school compact discs? You can't imagine that all these were the songs we grew up with. We had a note where we kept them back in the day. Let me not bore you with all that. This is my first time seeing a Hausa guy that could sing so well. The judges told him, Elton will be glad to watch this on YouTube. It was a lovable presentation.

M.A.T

Madayese Ade Toheeb. The stage name came from the acronym of his full name. This guy killed Diallo~ Wyclef Jean. I could call this a reggae-pop. But it made sense and I saw some dudes in the background dancing the step-step dance like in Faith Evans' in honour of BIGGIE during the east-coast versus west-coast battle for supremacy that saw the death of two key players in the hip-hop world.

Who will be the winner of this contest? I knew it was going to be deadlock. Sony Incorporated the major sponsor of the contest decided to reward the four contestants with a year record deal. When the judges announced Oma as the winner of the contest, she couldn't contain the excitement, she just kept saying:

I weather the storm.

I weather the storm.

8
$ 5.99
$ 5.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 4
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Comments

Congratulations to oma

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Keep laughing. Laughter is a good medicine. So Oma won 🏆👏😍 😆🤣😂😹😆

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh finally, it was Oma who won ! Though I wasn't there but I'm feeling the vibe with your write up. I wonder the kind of joy she will be filled with, like she will be so ecstatic..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I actually have an aunt who got married pretty late. You really had a fun filled Saturday. What amazes me is the fact that you remembered the names of all the artists. Both their stage name and their full name

$ 0.03
2 years ago