Three Months At Sea

2 28
Avatar for Pearlkel
1 year ago

There is always a first time to anything you wish to do or you are involved in. The first time one becomes a father spells a lot in mind.

So too to a first time mother. You assume the position of a caretaker and the responsibility that comes with it.

Looking back, I could give a report of how I led my sweetheart to the hospital that fateful morning for an assumed check but the medics asked her to me given a bed.

You know, as first timers, there was not much we knew. She had been in labour without she and I knowing.

Before I could say Jack Robinson, a baby was already crying by her side. I have heard of the pains of labour but doesn't witness it with my sweetheart.

I had been to the pharmacy to get some prescribed items and on my returns, our baby was just their throwing up his legs and looking me in the eye.

But the, the best of the worst started when we were discharged. The newborn baby won't allow us sleep at night. We took turn watching over him.

One evening, my wife called from the bedroom:

Darling! She is hot, his temperature is high. I can't risk it, please get your car key and let's take him to the hospital.

Do not worry, no one is lost on the Pacific ocean, I'm just saying someone was confused for 100 days.

Sarah was imbalance, she just want to get to the hospital as quick as possible.

 Can you guess who Sarah is?.... She was a dear first time mother. 

She couldn't believe this tiny human came from her womb and came with so much joy and yet so much hitch. As in eh ... It's shocking, choking. You know the labour room ecstasy, the pain, the tears of the mother and the cry of the newborn.  

After about a week of birth, he's been drawing up his legs, yelling on top of his voice, mostly at night as if in severe pain.

 Sarah the confused new mom had joined in the cry, hers was more like a soft sob as nothing she tried seemed to work. Since the baby couldn't speak yet,  no one knows what the pain is about, maybe it is just a sip of water he needed. Mom can't explain. 

I was just doing my thing at work when father and mother showed up in my space at 2am, early morning. 

Sarah(in tears)

I gave birth to this baby about a week ago. He hasn't been getting much sleep at night, he cries a lot, poops more than four times a day and he has a warm temperature. Please help me, he's my first baby.

I knew the pain she had gone through, keeping her baby. I had to calm her down first. And if possible, assure her that all will be well. 

Don't worry madam, he'll be fine. Please unwrap him, let me see. 

I began the normal routine check on the baby. As I carried him in my hands, he became calm.

Sarah looked at her husband, maybe signalling him that I had a magical hand.  That didn't bother me though, I just continued my work. 


Diaper check- poop normal for baby's age

Temperature check - normal.

I just said to her. 

what does he eat?

only breast milk.

Sarah replied. 

You're doing well. His stool is just normal for his age and his temperature is ok. 

You see mama, some babies in the first 100 days or 3 months of life can be a handful. Really.

 That "frustrating cry"  is called COLIC. About 12-38% babies will experience it.

Many experts have said a lot about colic, pharmaceutical companies have even made money from it by selling stuffs they believe will soothe the problem.

Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty

Painfully,  some concerned neighbors and family members have made matters worse for some babies. They'd recommend some sort of unknown remedies like herbs or water solutions. 

Some experts feel it's because the stomach and intestines are not used to feeding yet, or some babies do not tolerate their feeds well, or because of presence of the normal bacteria in the stomach and intestines.

Sadly, many research and methods of management or treatment of colic has been so far INCONCLUSIVE like Osun election 🤫🤫. Only Nigerians would understand what I mean by that. 

But as a mom, here are some tips for you.

It's okay to show up at the hospital so that your doctor can be sure there are no other causes of the cry.

 Burp your baby properly after each feed.

If your baby consumes formula use the right measurements for feeding. I made a post about appropriate feeding here

Go and learn " baby shark Doo..Doo" 😃😃. Yes! Learn lullabies, they have proven to be very helpful.

Please, don't give the baby any recommended Agbo ( herbs). I'm really pleading for this. 

Before the session ended, the baby had gone to sleep, smiling away like an angel. I feel that Sarah , the first time mom, had calmed and was ready to take the simple advice given. 


All images are mine.


5
$ 1.09
$ 1.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @TheStudent
$ 0.02 from @Lixten
+ 1
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
1 year ago

Comments

Very funny 😁 Do not give your baby Agbo, some people refer people to Agbo just because the malaria drugs didn't work

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Imagine.. Agbo is not outrightly bad. But at least one should confirm the problem first before medicatiin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago