The Chef In Me

11 45
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago
Topics: Foodie, Thoughts, Passion, Goal, Lessons, ...

Lead gif

In our world, I mean Africa as a whole, the kitchen is secluded to the female gender. Most people here home the belief that a man is to sit in the living room and watch while his wife sweat in the heat of the kitchen to prepare meals.

Growing up, I came to like staying more in the kitchen. My dad was a chef. He made several dishes, intercontinental dishes are inclusive. So, I stayed close to him in the kitchen, first not because I loved to but when clients, prominent clients come to seek his services.

My Hobby

So, I grew up liking to cook, bake and design kitchen stuff. My hubby is cooking, no doubts. I hope to take up cooking as a retiring career later in the future. Right now, I am a professional but my hobby is cooking. My first dose of cooking was when we had a guest in our home and dad was on special duty, I was to make breakfast of tea and eggs. As a young lad, barely eighteen at that time, I was so happy that I had the privilege.

I pounced on the ingredients and make them like dad taught me. To make tea was a big issue but the eggs, came out very nice that mom patted my back.

Gif

Cooking Is Not Punishment

As felt by many guys there, to be asked to cook should not be considered punishment. As said elsewhere, my siblings and I enjoyed our dad's meals, and each time he does to the kitchen to make something for the family, we were super elated.

Though mom's meal tasted motherly, dad would ask her to step aside while he does the cooking. He did enjoy cooking.

Gif

That's the one thing I learned from him. I like cooking too. When I do it, it is with my whole heart.

Processes

In cooking, there are a lot of skills that must me learn. One of such is time management. Some Ingredients must not be overcooked, others not undercooked. So, learning goes for what is very vital.

There is also the skill of attention. To avoid the food coming out with questionable taste, your whole mind must be centered on the preparation. I learned this the hard way though. Watching football on television and maintaining the food on the cooker.

It is a different ball game when you have to prepare food for a large number of people. Here, what is required is to cook using firewood and custom pots for the preparations. However, in recent times, the use of large cooking gas cooker has started putting firewood cooking away.

Image source

Whether you are using the conventional kitchen strategy or the local firewood, what is important is that the food comes out tasty. While doing all that is needed, health and safety tips must be considered. For health purposes, I suppose, the hair must be covered and the chef must talk less.

You Can Discover Your Recipe

In the course of cooking, I have come to discover that there is no limitation as to bow to go about the whole process. There was a time I prepared a local but popular vegetable soup using local condiments. I needed to make it have a minor sour taste to compliment the morsel, I had to apply cherry juice to the soup. In the end, it was top-notch.

Image source

Need I say you can discover your recipe? You know, I had to ask my dad in one our busy periods in the kitchen. I have heard a lot of people talk about chicken peri-per, it was so popular in the early 90s. My dad simply said:

Some chef must have just named it

So, I tried out one by myself. I made a pie with veggies. It was during dad's retirement. Everyone that for it, liked it. That's cooking for you.

I am still learning new tricks and upgrading my knowledge about cooking. I hope to learn Chinese recipes 🤣😥😥. That wouldn't be easy though because I learnt that the Chinese add a lot of herbs and roots to their meals. So, learning Chinese recipes would warrant that one learns the language too.

So, this all about my hobby.

Oh! Sorry, I didn't add that baking cakes and cookies, chinchin, chips and fries are also part of this whole thing. It's a complete package.

9
$ 3.41
$ 3.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 6
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago
Topics: Foodie, Thoughts, Passion, Goal, Lessons, ...

Comments

I think those of us(guys) that enjoys cooking should have a special place in heaven 🤣🤣🤣. It's a big advantageous to a guy when he knows how to cook, he eats what he like sometimes. I love to cook too, but not as far as making intercontinental dishes because they are not othen prepared at home like that. Before I go, during those day we were made to believe that food prepared with local fire(firewood) tastes sweeter to food cooked with gas🤣🤔

$ 0.03
2 years ago

🤣😥 That's one thought I am still trying to settle with. You know, food cooked with firewood has one jolly good taste. Especially, native soup.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you love cooking then life would be a little easy for you as I found. I'm not a big fan of cooking and sometimes get frustrated to cook every single day. I wish I could feel the same way you feel about cooking.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love to cook my meals. And the ingredients gotten fresh from the source. Learning from the way fast food joints prepares their meals, one would be forced to learn cooking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhhh i do really like those person who loves to cook. Your a perfect husband in that case friend your wife will be always full with you recipe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You can say that again. My wife would just look on as I make the food 😥🤣. She enjoys how I prepare the meals.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cooking is a world of it own, and there is no limitation to recipes. Each day, new method and recipes are revealed. Well done sir Pearlkel

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks, man. A complete man should not be left out of culinary skills too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Judging from the article, you are complete husband material. 200 yards and still counting, your wife and kids will definitely be happy to have a father like you.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You can bet on that @George_Dee. I have gain her trust when it comes to kitchen activities.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, Mr George. Yeah I'm sure his wife and kids would be proud of him

$ 0.00
2 years ago