Silent Tears

2 27
Avatar for Pearlkel
1 year ago

There are many mistakes people make in life. Some change your story, some destroy your accomplishments, change your choices and most mistakes change your life.

My existence began as a mistake. I was not even supposed to be born because according to tradition, frail children like me were supposed to be left in the forest to die. But due to motherly love and the time my mother waited for a child, my mother escaped with me to another village. I was a child of ill omen for no child had caused so much pain to her mother like I did. Pa never bothered to look for Ma for she was as useless as I was.

Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty

The people of Umakuru were very happy and kindhearted people. They rendered help to Ma by borrowing her some money to start up a business and also some foodstuff to sustain us for a while. Within a period of six months, Baba Hamajiri, the village head, had taken Ma as his sixth wife.

 During that period, things had gone very smoothly as Ma had taken in and had later given birth to a girl, Adah. Baba Hamajiri needed a boy to add to his only son, Kaba. He was happy my Ma had given birth to the most beautiful child in the whole village. 

 I lived a secluded life despite the happy surroundings and I hardly ever saw Ma for she was sharing the bed with Baba as his new wife. Nobody including the servants related with me for I was not an offspring of my new father. It was during my lonely days under the big uda tree that I came to know fully well about Kaba.

 Kaba had tried to talk to me a few times, especially when he returned from the only secondary school in the village. He was of my age and just like me, nobody even seemed to have his time too. As the day passed by, we began to grow fond of each other and I didn't find it wrong of him to walk into my hut and sometimes share his food and meat with me. After school, we played hide and seek and different games. Kaba was the most beautiful thing that happened in my childhood. 

It wasn't long before he started revealing his true intentions and he had started to touch me in abominable places and at times rubbed his lips against mine in a disgusting manner. At first I had retreated and warned him against the abominable manner and like a fool that I was, I succumbed to all his stupid tricks. I gave in and let him take advantage of me. 

Image source

To cut the long story of how he sneaked to my room every night, I became pregnant and Ma had advised me secretly to terminate the child before anyone had noticed. I was scared of telling Kaba, of course he had prophesied his love to me and made a lot of promises of a better future for both of us and future children, but he was having exams which would promote him to the university. 



With feigned courage I had told him one night when he had managed to get out of his reading schedules. Kaba didn't utter a word before he snuck back into his room that night. His silence had meant an automatic end to whatever he shared and he found pleasure acting like I never existed. Soon, my lips were not enough to cover my protruding teeth and everyone discovered it. Ma had denied having knowledge about my being pregnant and shockingly Kaba had denied having any "unholy relationship" with me and also being the father of my unborn child. That same week, he had travelled to the city obviously because of the shame I was slowly causing him. 


Baba Hamajiri with a soft spot allowed me to remain in his compound despite the household refusal. Ma had begged to let me stay as I had no place to go. Some months later, I bore Kaba's son, Hamod. 

No one had helped in raising my child and soon after five years he died.

No one married me and I was treated like an animal. Ma didn't give me a chance to talk to her and she turned a beast towards me. Kaba had returned later with a wife who was a nurse in the city and acted like I didn't exist. At one time I tried to explain the death of our son but he brushed me off. 

Anger clothed me from head to toe and I swore to have my revenge on him when his wife bore him his first daughter. I had sneaked into his room at night and seduced him to bed. Like the hyena he once was, he fell for my tricks and when he wasn't watching, I had driven a knife into his stomach and he died instantly. 

That night I had fled the village and had lived a miserable life after.

First Published Here

Lead image

3
$ 1.01
$ 1.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
1 year ago

Comments

That wasn't the best revenge to take. I think she should have allowed karma play its part. Now she is a murderer. So sad, the nurse will stay without her husband.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Anyone fueled by regret and revenge would always make bad choices at the end of the day. Such a touching story

$ 0.00
1 year ago