I Used To Forget This Day

13 38
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Looking back in time, I could tell that when it is 19th April, my memory doesn't seem to remember that it is my birthday. Many factors does contribute to this. I like to celebrate my birthday like every other person but most times until recently, I haven't been able to.

Now, let me use this medium to announce to all my wonderful friends and readers that today is my birthday. Only recently I celebrated my 9th wedding anniversary and now it's my birthday. April is such a great month for me. At first, some of my friends thought I planned it that way but far from it, I didn't plan my wedding date neither did I have a say as to when I was born.

Why Do I forget?

I have never had the opportunity to celebrate my birthday in a grand style. Over the years, I have had the opportunity to celebrate with my friends and at some instances, been the master of ceremony in birthday parties but my own date have not always stuck to my head due to the following reasons.

Life' Struggles

Many people may not seem to understand this part of my life but it is real. There had been times when putting food on the table was quite a big issue and if the opportunity raised it head, it had to be a very big task.

One particular year, when the Academic Staff Union of University embarked on a nation wide strike and the university campuses were shut down, I went with my friend from Ondo to Anambra state where we went to work as masons to gather enough funds to return to school.

After eight months, the ASUU strike were called off and we were back to school. Only then did I remember that my birthday have passed months ago. This is just one of those experiences that made me forget this special day.

There are times when I want to be like other kids but circumstances won't let me.

The Day Isn't Quite Different

Then, maybe because of what I was going through, I did not consider birthdays are very important.

Some people too have thought that birthdate are like every other passing day so they don't get to do anything special on that day.

How We Should Celebrate Our Birthdays

For me, I think the day of one's birth is a special day. It marks the beginning of another year. And looking back, one would understand where he or she is coming from and would like to take life with simplicity but with vigor to reach set goals.

We shouldn't be caught in the web of alcohol in the name of celebrating our birthdays. The day should be for sober reflection.

Unlike other times, I decided to spend the day worshiping the Most High. I put up a concert in my local church assembly which will start today by 6:00pm, West African Time (WAT). I think the day is a time for sincere worship to the One who had seen me through the hurdles of life.

We should not involve ourselves in any form of wastage in the name of celebrating out birthdays. We rather should use the day to see how we can help out the vulnerable in our immediate environment. For example, if one who is celebrating his or her birthday could reach out to the motherless babies home or the orphanage.

If You Remember Your Birthday

Remembering your birthday is a very rare opportunity. It means that life have been fair with you or you have been able to put under control the challenges you are faced with.

Count yourself lucky or graceful to have less worries on your birthday. Like my story of not remembering my birthday, we should be relatively grateful.and count it an opportunity to give back.

Someone out there is seriously in need of an assistance that you can render. Do not hold it back. Your birthday could be the best moment to reach out to them.

At this juncture, I'd like to say a very big THANK YOU to friends and well wishes and my kinsmen in the BCH NIGERIAN FORUM who have taken time to celebrate with me today. All your prayers, gifts and wishes farewell received and appreciated.

Happy birthday to me.

All images used in this publication are mine

7
$ 5.12
$ 4.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.05 from @Laurenceuuu
+ 1
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Comments

Happy birthday in arear sir🥳. May God bless your new age and hone sir. And yes I agree April is such a great month💃🏻

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Birthday sir, Sorry for the late wish. May your coming days be successful and beautiful. I pray for a happy and prosperous life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happiest birthday @Pearlkel!

Why do you keep forgetting your birthday? You should not. We should be very very happy when we celebrate our birthday because our life and time in this world is short. Whenever it's my birthday, I always distract the negative thoughts and I always think that I'm the star of the day!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Many thanks, Sydney. Birthdays are meant to be a joyous moment. And until we realise it, life situation may make us skip the memory.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Birthday my friend! In our language we say, Maayong Adlawng Natawhan! How do you say Happy Birthday in Nigeria?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We say happy birthday in my dialect Igbo, Ubochi Omumu Oma.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
2 years ago

More healthy and fruitful years ahead. Happy birthday

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks for the birthday wishes. I really do appreciate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday sir! Life challenges tend to make one forget things about themselves sometimes.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

In all, we are grateful that we are alive. That's the most paramount thing. And thanks for the birthday wishes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Birthday Sir. I declare God's favor, blessings and grace upon your life. You've said well. Birthdays are not days to spend recklessly, it's a day to contribute your quota into the life of the vulnerable. God bless you sir.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Many thanks for your birthday wishes and prayers. I really do appreciate it my dear friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago