Condolence Visit

9 30
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Image source

We have been here for a while waiting for the bus to come to pick us at the venue of the get-together party organized for the graduating students for the year ending 2010/2011 harmattan semester. The organizing committee had made an arrangement for all graduands to be conveyed to the venue. At some point, as you'd expect, some impatient ladies started making efforts to get to the venue to the venue. Since the ladies have gone ahead, we thought they would make the organizers know that the bus hadn't come to pick us, the guests.

Jane was magnanimous enough to remember we were waiting so she put a call across to us. It was bad news.

Grin! Grin!! Grin!!! Jimmy's phone rang.

Hello,

Yeah, Jane.

We are at the venue but everywhere is silent.

Why? Is the party not holding again?

The party is on but people are sober. We lost someone.

What?

Yeah. The best graduating student in FMS died in his sleep last night.

Call ends.

When the call from Jane ended, we do not know what next to do. What is there to celebrate when we have just lost one of the illustrious sons of our generation of graduating students.

My livers were not strong enough to make me attend such parties even though some of the guys had already gone to the party, right there and then, I returned to my hostel.

Next thing. I took my friendly diary at the locker of my bed and a scribble about the events that had occurred in the last few days of my university life (I hope to write a big book about my university days).

I made up my mind not to celebrate my graduation, at least, not in the meantime. And the party, I am not interested in finding how it went down.

The next morning, posters of Mustapha Abdul were pasted all over campus. That guy was a comrade. He gave me a good chase in our general courses. How would he die so prematurely? As a first-class graduate, the university had decided to take the responsibility of giving him a burial befitting for an academic.

The University and the family reached a compromise to burial the young don without wasting time.

Students gathered in large numbers like when a heavy protest against a hike in school fees was staged. Some students were singing a dirge following the ambulance that carried his corpse, all on black attire with different inscriptions.

Image source

It ended after the dust to dust rites were concluded. It was such a sad memory.

Few days later, I decided to speak about a condolence visit to the bereaved family in out telegram platform since no one ever thought of it. As soon as I posted the idea, the whole group became as silent as a graveyard. So, I decided to go alone.

On the fateful day. I didn't wear any clothes with black patches, I just wanted to quench this emotion that was killing me. So I went.

When I arrived there. Many condolence visitors were trooping in and out of the bereaved home.

Silently, I went to sign the condolences register and then, attempted to enter the living room. As I struggle with my thoughts and my legs, I discovered my bladder was full of urine. Then, I attempted to urinate, only to discover it had been a long sleep and dream after an exhaustive day.

Image source

As I rose from my bed to enter use the White House, my phone rang. All that had happened in the dream began to play like it were going to happen in the real life.

Anyways, we held the party and we had no reason to mourn anyone.

The party ended with Mustapha Abdul going home with all four plagues and a scholarship to take his postgraduates in any University of his choice in Europe.

9
$ 4.94
$ 4.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Davinchysax
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 3
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Comments

Chai! You put me into suspense na 🧐🧐 Thank God it was a dream and no one died. I hate to hear news that the best student in a school died or something. It hurts me more. Thank God it was a dream oo 😅

$ 0.03
2 years ago

😅😂🤣 It's a dream after all. That's the intention writing it in the first place. Please, sip a cup of water, everything is under control.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I sighed in relief the moment I discovered that it was just a dream. Thank goodness.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ahaha. It was just a dream. Hope you had fun reading through though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What kind of dream is this? Thank God it wasn't real ooo.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am glad it was just a dream, but dreams can really take our emotions. Thanks God for that for the feel of peeing, just like me, it makes me wake-up from my sleep.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ahaha😅😂 I got you there. It was just a mere dream.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank goodness it was a dream, you almost scared me.

I was getting emotional with the story, with the thoughts of why would the best graduating student die.

Happy celebration.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It was just a dream. This script show made a good home video in Nollywood.

$ 0.00
2 years ago