Bro. Amos [9] Youthful Exuberance

4 23
Avatar for Pearlkel
1 year ago



Most times I don’t understand the way some of our brothers nowadays normally think. Imagine Brother Daniel ooo, he has not proposed to me and he has been calling me a series of pet names. Anytime he sends me a message or he calls, he always addresses me as my lover or my angel. WhatsApp too is not spared, but is it that spirituality normally takes away the sense of these church brothers? Well, I don’t know too.

At first, I thought it was just one of those ways of showing a brotherly care for a sister me. I had also given it a second thought. How would a brother who does not have any inclination with me give me pet names. Though at some level of closeness, that could come but this case is out of it.

One faithful day, Bro. Daniel came to visit me at my house. I was outside with some of my friends and neighbours. We were having a group discussion on recent happenings in our country and from nowhere I sighted Bro. Daniel and in my mind I was like what’s this brother doing here now. In fact, some of my friends were asking me questions that I can’t answer.

And to make matters worse, after he has greeted everyone. He greeted me by saying Hannah my love, how are you doing? I was really angry and I responded to him by saying

‘Never in your life call me your love. Excuse me, when did we start dating that I don’t know?

I know those were harsh words but I was angry, I allowed my temperament to get in the way. I left Bro. Daniel stunned. I am sure he would be ashamed of himself. Even though I felt some guilt within me, he likewise didn't handle the matter maturely. I wasn't betrothed to him, why the heck would he call me those pet names, and in the presence of my friends.

I hissed and went inside my room full of anger. And with shame gripped to his body, Bro Daniel left feeling insulted.

And this other brother, Brother Dare. He has been sending me gifts and recharge cards almost on a daily basis. Maybe he thought he could buy my love. He did something recently that I don’t understand yet. He went and bought underwear for me. Imagine, a brother that has not even proposed to me.

I was very happy when my pastor announced in church that there will be a marriage seminar in church for singles and married the next day. I got up very early and I was the second person to arrive in the church that day. 

All these immature brothers in the church would need such kind of a program to know how to deal with a single lastly and if at all they would like to have an intimate relationship with any of the sisters, they would know how to go about it.

Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty

The Counselling Program

The guest speaker started by saying that God is the originator and founder of marriage and anyone who desires to enter into this institution must have a personal walk with God. He went on to say that marriage is not about sex but it’s the only place where sex can be practiced.

He said no one should marry because of pressure and sex. The man also took his time to talk about purpose. He asked all the men in church for the program that day to stand up and he asked  those of them that have discovered their purpose to move to the altar.

You cannot believe that only four out of sixty men in that program came out. The preacher said that a man must find Christ and then purpose before he can start thinking of marriage. The ideal marriage according to him can be found in Genesis chapter two

The man narrated to us how he met his wife. He said he had known her for over five years but he was not even thinking about her because he had other sisters in mind, but a day came that the Lord dropped her name in his mind and asked him to consider her.

God Can Be Involved

Unknowing to him God had already informed the lady. He emphasised that ladies are not meant to do the proposing but they are to properly position themselves. While brothers are meant to do the proposing.

He ended the seminar by saying that a man that will hear God on marriage must have been hearing God on other issues before. He went on to say that every man must build his personal relationship with God. And he uttered a statement that keeps ringing in my heart since that day

“Stay at the centre of God’s will. There, you will discover God’s will for your life. Immediately Bro Amos' name came to my mind. And my body suddenly became weak.

If we are ready to allow Him a place in our lives, God is ready to commune with us, showing us the right path to lead.

Lead image

7
$ 2.30
$ 2.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
+ 1
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
1 year ago

Comments

This is a great saying but many won't love to hear it cos it's the truth. Many jump into marriages cos of sex and is totally wrong.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

You gerrit. Love should be the foundation of marriage and not sex or looks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Brilliantly spoken, grandma once told me, if you want something so bad, go out there and take it, I must not necessarily be the guy proposing. At least its not a sin, I will ask any guy out.😂

$ 0.03
1 year ago

😂😂🤣 I like your take on this. If you want something, go for it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago