Act One, Scene On

1 36
Avatar for Pearlkel
1 year ago

For me, acting has always come naturally. From when I was little I knew some day when I grew up I would love to become an actress. I acted in school drama, plays and church programs. My name, Sarah Obi, was always on the mouth of people in my little village.

There soon came a time when I had to pick my career choice. Of course I had always wanted to become an actress and I wouldn't let go of that dream for anything. Although my father seemed to agree otherwise. He felt becoming a lawyer was more profitable than having an acting career and threatened to disown me if I dared study theater arts in school but I didn't listen to anything he had to say because my passion for acting was very strong.

True to his words my father disowned me and I had no choice but to see myself through school by doing different jobs. I finally graduated from the university and that was when everything became worse. No one was ready to hire a fresh out of school graduate with no experience. The competition in the entertainment industry was really tight and tough but it wasn't always so bad. There were good times like when I met my best friend, Linda, in an audition and the time when we went to the club to have fun and I met my boyfriend, Jace.

Jace was the true definition of a gentleman. He would always take me out for auditions, and would give me money for transport if I had none to go for auditions.


The audition I would never forget was the last audition I went to which turned out good and also bad. I went for this  audition and since the actress for the major role couldn't make it, I had to do it. This was the first time I was ever given a major role in a movie. The movie was about a nun who fell in love with a priest as such, the setting was exactly that. The place was decorated like a sanctuary in a church with dim light and I had to wear a nun outfit.

I remember I was so nervous that I was even forgetting my lines and the director was so angry and was shouting at the assistant director thinking he gave me the role because I was his girlfriend. I could never forget Denzel, the assistant director, he was just so calm and came up and said,


" just try to calm down. Do not recite the script, say it as it comes to you. you are a talented actress and you can do this"

  

 I said my lines without worrying about the fear of being perfect, like Denzel said, I said it as it came to me;

" Forgive me Father for I have sinned. Like Eve in the Bible, I have tasted the forbidden fruit and drifted apart from you.This act I have committed, this is not my destiny, I am yours oh Lord, you must let this Cup pass me oh Lord, please, please I beg of you"


 After my lines, I looked around and realized people were shocked and some were even crying. I couldn't believe my acting could do this to people and it was a wrap up. I was so excited how things worked out for me and Denzel accompanied me out of the building and gave me a flyer about a program which helped people in the entertainment industry to make it big.

If I won, I would have twenty million naira with a ten years contract and a house of my own but before I left the building, someone approached me and told me the boss wanted to see me and I went.


I met one of the greatest directors of all time there, Frank Orji. I was so excited and he offered me a place in the industry only if I did all he asked of me. I wondered what that meant and I asked him and the dog of a man tried to rape me. I hit him so hard and ran off,  immediately I went to my boyfriend's house and on getting there I saw my boyfriend cheating on me with my best friend. It wasn't even painful enough that they betrayed me but they had to tell me to my face that they were not sorry and that they were in love with each other.


 I was so heartbroken and I didn't even know what to say and so I left his place. I was so miserable and spent my days in the house stuffing my face in tubs of ice cream until I stumbled upon the flyer and I decided to go for the program.


On getting to the event, I contemplated going back home and quitting acting as a whole but when that came to my mind, my name was immediately mentioned as the next person and so I went in and I realized Frank Orji was one of the judges. I was definitely sure now that I couldn't make it in this program.

Even when I was asked questions by the director in charge, I couldn't answer to anything and he asked if I was dumb. No surprise there because most of all these directors were always proud and I replied him


" No am not dumb. I am looking at how my life has turned into a mess within this few years and just minutes ago, I was thinking of quitting acting as a whole with the betrayal of my best friend and boyfriend and not even up to a week ago, this man sitting there sexually assaulted me of course am not fine but I am determined that nothing will ever bring me down"

   

I didn't even think I could win because I didn't answer any of the questions asked but I won and had the cheque of twenty million naira. Of course Frank Oriji's career went down the drain even though I didn't mean for it to happen. I became one of the most popular actresses in the country and I wouldn't have asked for better.


My father saw on the screen and asked that I be called back home. I couldn't hesitate. It was a reunion for me. Thanks to the sanctuary role that pushed.me out of my shells. 

Lead image

First published Here

4
$ 3.30
$ 3.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @Lixten
+ 1
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
1 year ago

Comments

This looked exactly like the movie “Superstar.” Well, I’m glad she finally was on her feet to success. It’s not easy going on the road to success alone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago