Need to Overhaul your Financial Life?

5 42
Avatar for PatsKy8135
3 years ago
Topics: Finance

Oh jeez, it broke my heart seeing my Kabayans' financial life in a total mess. (*Kabayans mean Filipinos worked overseas preferrably those who lived in the same town/city.)

There was an opportunity of Financial Literacy Seminar a year back here in Seychelles during our Passport Renewal for FREE! however out of 100, there were only three of us who attended and they said, they don't need it.

They don't have time for it, much more they don't need OVERHAULING their financial life due to the fact that they won't bring with them their money when they die.

No wonder most of them were still in great debt. ( I will be sharing a separate post regarding how to get out of debt guys, so stay tuned! It is a must, our priority to be debt FREE)

We always have this stereotyping of Overseas Workers to be an ATM!

unsplash

Unfortunately, this mentality still exists till up to date.

Back in Doha, for three years, it was with great financial discipline to have invested my hard-earned money into the stock market, managed to buy a small property with a mini cab for a small scale business run by my family.

This is to point out as well that DELAYED GRATIFICATION is an edge if you want to be financially successful.

As I was saying regarding my Kabayans' Financial Life, I have witnessed even back in the Middle East how they have spent their money on value depreciated items.

Example:

A friend used to borrow money from me because she mentioned that her salary was not enough (although we have the same stipend tsk tsk) to send to her two boys back home.

So I lent her an amount enough for her family to but what they need, when a week after I have seen her and asked, how did she manage to buy an iPhone?

*whatever her excuse was, I could not believe that her PRIORITY was something else.

There were lots of scenarios wherein a colleague shared that she's been in the Middle East for 15 years yet she could not build a house and buy a property in the Philippines because her family asked more than what she's earning.

The stigma that Filipinos working abroad earning good money equalize into spending beyond the limit was ridiculously insane, likewise, a very sad reality that FINANCIAL LITERACY is the KEY to this dilemma, yet it was not given of great importance.

*This image was taken during my holiday in the Philippines wherein my sister and I where invited for the Philamlife Convention held at Apo View Hotel together with our speaker, CEO/Rampver Financials Sir Rex Mendoza and my Financial Advisor.

With conviction, should Filipinos working overseas only know how to GROW their money and not simply save it, would be going home fulfilled.

unsplash

I am just fortunate to have stumbled a community who helped me OVERHAUL my financial life while working abroad, and that through my self-discipline of regular investing, preferably in the Philippine stock market (equities and mutual funds), I am secured that my family's future is well taken cared of.

So RCians, how do you grow your finances?

What are your means of bringing your hard earned money to optimal growth?

Do you merely save? or do you invest?

#sharingIScaring!

Lead Images are screenshots from my phone edited via Adobe Sparks!

11
$ 1.39
$ 1.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.01 from @Ippollo
Sponsors of PatsKy8135
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for PatsKy8135
3 years ago
Topics: Finance

Comments

Wonderful article, it can help people to realize that we need to discover new things. Also it is not good to limit our selves.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Financial literacy is an issue for many people. I worked in the financial services industry for 10 years and I met a lot of people (young and old) who had no idea what they were doing. It was very concerning.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it is a must to be financially educated @Ippollo because I believe should people only know the HOW with regard to their money, then they would be wealthy. According to our mentor at the truly rich club, it's not just how huge or small the amount of money but it's actually the HABIT of doing it. So far venturing out into stock market apart from crypto gave me the security in terms of long term growth. thanks for dropping by to my post. Highly appreciated.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ano yan?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hehe sharing about financial life kasi ang hirap makarinig ng mga kababayan natin back to zero after working abroad for so many years @Jane. Dami sa Doha pati dito sa Seychelles. Hanggang awa nalang din tayo

$ 0.00
3 years ago