Are You An Independent and an Empowered Woman?

12 115
Avatar for PatsKy8135
2 years ago

I have been enjoying "reels" lately on Instagram which were not only funny, relaxing but also empowering because there were some "reels" that I found very powerful, substantial when it comes to sending messages to all the women in the world. This is not the kind of Beyonce's "who runs the world" rather this is more about giving FREEDOM what is due for a woman.

I came across the "JUST ME!" reel whereby the audio went like this!

  • "Just another day of ME going to work ...

because...

who else will take me on trips?

who else will buy me a house?

who else will pay for my nails?

??????

with all conviction...

  • "ME!" 

duh, (eye-rolling) you got this girl, the message was loud and clear!


Feed yourself and BE FINANCIALLY INDEPENDENT! yet some egoistic male species would not love to hear this from a female perspective because there were some men

I knew and a good friend of mine who love to pamper their women luxuriously. Giving them what they wanted either emotionally or materially. 

During my master's thesis back in the university whereby I was surrounded by "philosophers'' mostly our conversation was mainly on how they felt so proud of themselves for being able to provide for their women. How they have gained confidence towards the opposite sex by mainly being able to play the role of a "provider" or someone who paid the bill.

The idea of co-dependency is quite unfavourable for me that's why when I got married, hubby and I shared our expenses of which I insisted. Our recent overseas trip was my initiative and computed shares of our flights, hotel, allowances and any other expenses for the whole duration of our holiday in the Middle East. Does this make my hubby less of a man in the family? 

Heck NO!

Please know I am into FAIRNESS and EQUALITY more than anything else despite your preferred gender much more your role in the family or the society per se. Whether a husband or a wife. I believed more on 50-50 in all of its aspects.

  • Should First-Time Dating be a Man's Responsibility to Pay?

This blog covers my personal experience concerning my first-time dating back when I was working as a teacher in the Middle East and my ex-boyfriend (now my hubby) decided to meet personally. He called it our first date! I was just curious about him for real so I agreed, lol, didn't mention before that I wasn't really into him because my sole purpose of being in the Arabian Peninsula was to work and dating was not part of my agenda. 

Not until meeting my hubby got me into thinking deeply.

According to Kim Elsesser, Senior Contributor of Forbes in her article regarding the Contribution of Gender Pay Gap during the "first dates" said that research indicates this chivalrous tradition needs to end if women expect to be treated as equals at work. This may go beyond the first dates but it has an indirect impact on the treatment women get even in their workplace. 

This is not also to point out that women will shoulder the bill but the idea of splitting is way much better. 


Let me tell you how our first date went.

So my ex-boyfriend and I decided to meet on "Fridays " whereby it's 20 minutes drive from where I was staying so it's more convenient. It was a very casual met up and we mainly talked about anything under the sun apart from political views. We talked for nearly six hours straight until it was time to go home. It was 10 pm to be exact.

Now the bill came.

Initially, the waitress handed the bill to Patrick and he gave his card instead of cash. Very tricky because I told him I wanted to share the expenses because we met up as friends somehow. From my previous statement, it was not a date rather a meet up so at that time I felt the need to share the cost.

Of course, as a gentleman, he boldly said, he won't allow me to do such and no hard feelings on his part because from our first meeting he can sense how independent I am in a good way not giving him the feeling that I can also pay. Gone are the days that dating must only be shouldered by men although alter ego, and out of "chivalrous contribution" I allowed Patrick to pay for everything on the menu.

Although I made it clear to him should we decide to go on the meeting which I felt like our first date (lol) then he has to allow me to split the bill. I am more into "sharing the cost" rather than letting my date pay for everything especially if it's every week although most of the time, he would say...LET ME DO THE HONOUR!

  • Is it Empowering for a Woman to be Financially Independent? Or does it jeopardize her dating moment?

I have read in an article how a woman's financial independence can somehow threaten men although independence is not absolute in a way that it can't be true for others, however, it can be an issue even to married couples.

My financial independence is part of who I am and my husband is never threatened with it yet when it comes to a personal and isolated decision, we always have something to argue on.

For example, this flight that I booked ALONE attending Expo in Dubai for 12 days and taking it as my mini-holiday away from the family is indeed "EMPOWERING" for me.

Momshies and all those first-time moms, please know we need a time-out for ourselves. It is very crucial to our self-growth and mental health above all else.

Now I would like to leave this question I asked @forbescover via Noisecash

  • Images (Lead) used in this post are mine edited on Canva

Let's connect via cointree

#SHOUTOUT to my sponsors for their generosity and quality post as always

If we can print our own money, the better for the economy!





13
$ 0.38
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
$ 0.02 from @MD_Tibro
Sponsors of PatsKy8135
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for PatsKy8135
2 years ago

Comments

I really agree with sharing expenses on dates. Personally, I always prefer taking my part on paying for dates especially if it's still getting to know. I really don't want that the man only oay cause I feel indebted and I really want to live an image that I can take care of my bills. Although, some egoistic and misogynistic men can't handle some independent women, but it's their problem and it's good that we will be away from these kinds 😆

$ 0.04
2 years ago

right girl, we got this! I mean if we can share the expenses, it shouldn't be a problem after all. See you more on NOisecash too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a woman, I must be or we should be an empowered woman 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a lady, I groom my self to grow and become an independent empowered woman, who would be of influence in the entire community and world at large.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Dear woman! I wish you happiness and a lot of money.Know for sure, all women are stronger than men, including you!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

thanks Elnur! I am for equality as always. This is the least I can do, speaking from my perspective of Empowerment and Independence not after of outside validation. Great day ahead.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Women empowerment is teally an interesting topic but how you explained it...this was mind blowing really amazing article...

$ 0.05
2 years ago

a lot of things are going on around the world but at times this issue still unresolved! despite the fact that we tried to speak up, we are always labelled as feminist.

Speaking for freedom is empowering for women.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't which region you belongs ..but in some parts of world spekaing for human rights is just like invitation to your death.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

there's no guarantee in life so might as well do our part by voicing up our basic right of being able to pay our bills when it comes to first time dating...just sayin... I am currently in Seychelles but an advocate of #women empowerment

$ 0.00
2 years ago

at some point, my husband and I are like this when we were still dating... but we don't split the bill , we take turns... hehe anyway, when we got married, he had always asked me to stop working but I didn't want to and said no, I want to work but then I got pregnant and my world revolved around my baby I decided to stop working but still I find ways of earning... he didn't feel any threat to that...he just mentioned that the priority is the baby and of course I will always have the baby as my priority...

$ 0.05
2 years ago

as a first time mom, this is like a guilt trip for being able to work and let our baby be under the care of a nanny but what is so empowering for us mommies are able to monetize despite our limited time.

Hubby did just the same like yours but I insisted on accepting the job offer at school due to the fact that I love teaching and on top of everything, my baby is able to socialize at the Childminding.

Kudos to us all first time momshies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago