Five Years In Crypto (2017 to 2022) - From BTC and ERC20 Tokens To BCH

24 133
Avatar for Pantera
2 years ago

It was at the beginning of March 2017 I joined the crypto race with Bitcoin, Dogecoin, and Litecoin, in the beginning, being my favorites.

Just a few months after I joined the cryptocurrency field in 2017, the Bitcoin fork took place. Bitcoin was upgrading, becoming Bitcoin Cash, and the maximalists and the media were onto it right from the beginning.

It didn't take me four years to recognize the whitepaper in Bitcoin Cash. Back in 2017, it was noticeable by everyone beginner or not, that BCH wasn't a fork of Bitcoin but the Bitcoin that proceeded with scaling.

My initial Bitcoin enthusiasm was based on the revolutionary technology and features of Bitcoin acting as a decentralized currency offering individual economic freedom and reaching the masses.

Bitcoin seemed like it was stuck not innovating further, but stagnating instead. As a beginner, I was told this was all propaganda and Bitcoin was working without any need for the code change.

The proof though didn't take long to appear right before our eyes.

2017 to 2022: The Quest For Answers

In short, this is BTC (and Ethereum to an extent):

This YouTuber (Touzoumoune) warned everyone with this funny approach, close to the top in December 2017, BTC was practically not working anymore. A broken network with failed promises and a shift of narratives into vague store of value features.

This is how I didn't envision Bitcoin when I first heard about it in 2013, but how it probably resulted after the corporate takeover of developments by Blockstream.

I had to visit the past and live it on my own to understand what happened, it is not easy but needs to have unlimited time at your disposal.

My skepticism was stemming from the approach of BTC advocates, especially those supposedly closer to the developers side.

I was expecting to find highly intelligent and skilled advocates for BTC, just like those early Bitcoiners (before 2013) in bitcointalk.

Yet, all of these intelligent people had long ago abandoned that forum, and only aggressive trolls were left.

Bitcointalk had absolutely nothing to offer when I joined besides a glorious past that was stained by the mistakes of its administration.

During my research in BTC, I tried to find reason within this BTC community and understand what exactly happened to drive this much adoption of Bitcoin in the past years.

I was expecting an outcry on the $50 fees in December 2017, but only found excuses.

It seemed something was very wrong with bitcointalk as half of the forum was attacking and blacklisting as scammers users that were simply expressing their point of view.

Bitcoin is an example where the fools won the argument. In the grand scheme of things, mistakes can survive for too long, but not forever.

BTC is now under the control of a private company that decides developments. It is not autonomous, there is no voting, and consensus is not working, as blockstream controls developments and one person alone controls almost all the communication channels, censoring constructive discussions.

It didn’t take me long to realize the censorship of BCH. It seemed dangerous to even express an opinion on scalability of BTC in bitcointalk.

My goals were incompatible with BTC and the $50 fees by the end of 2017 made me sell my BTC position.

I didn’t move immediately to Bitcoin Cash, though, and for several reasons, I didn’t support it until 2021.

All these years, I explored networks like EOS, Tron and Ethereum among others, yet always unfulfilled promises and lack of decentralization or scalability forced me to abandon them.

The Fiat Price Matters

I have hopes that in the next few years, Bitcoin Cash and smartBCH will find overwhelming support from investors. Nobody can ignore a robust network of payments for too long.

Although, I also feel there should be a change of mentality concerning marketing.

The early Bitcoiners made millions in fiat, but the rest of us weren’t that lucky all this time. I care about the BCH (fiat) price since I invest and will keep increasing this investment.

I would love to have a million in the bank and perhaps hold a thousand BCH as then I could overlook the market cap.

It's not about making a million dollars, though, I don't expect to suddenly acquire overwhelming wealth. It is mostly about the purchasing power of BCH and the sound money features.

The question everyone asks when investing in BCH is concerning the terms that will bring Bitcoin Cash to its previous ATH and even higher. Developments and utility are fundamentals, but newcomers don't encounter the Bitcoin Cash brand often. And when they do, it is probably with a negative approach presented by the side of the maxis.

There are strategies that can counter the rising anti-BCH sentiment and also send BCH into the top-5 in market cap terms: Cardano Can Set An Example For Bitcoin Cash Marketing. This is an example that can have a large scale effect for Bitcoin Cash adoption by new users and invstors. If this marketing strategy is not possible with BCH, then perhaps it could be utilized with smartBCH instead.

I accumulate BCH and spend some too by tipping other users on read.cash, or noise.cash, scanning QR codes of onboarded users and merchants, donate in flipstarters, and sent a few BCH sats around just to help in any meaningful way possible. I talk to people about Bitcoin Cash and ask them to accept BCH for donation purposes.

Investing in Bitcoin Cash today means investing in the future of sound money.

BCH is the cryptocurrency we can use for a small fee (usually less than a penny), with a fast network that allows scaling on a global scale.

Cover Photo: by Zoltan Tasi on Unsplash (modified)


Copyright Disclaimer:
Material published in this content, is used for entertainment and educational purposes and falls within the guidelines of fair use. No copyright infringement intended. If you are, or represent, the copyright owner of images used in this article, and have an issue with the use of said material, please notify me.


Follow me:

● ReadCash ● NoiseCash  ● Medium ● Hive ● Steemit   ●Vocal ● Minds ● Twitter ● LinkedIn Reddit ● email

Don't forget to Subscribe and Like if you enjoyed this article!

 

34
$ 21.06
$ 19.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.16 from @Ellehcim
+ 15
Sponsors of Pantera
empty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pantera
2 years ago

Comments

You did a great job! Thank you for sharing your experience. You didn't realised how far you are by making articles for five years.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why I am here in read.cash? Because you are of my reason why I am still grinding here the motivation of your work reminds me to work more to be like you someday. Congrats bro I hope you're still counting your journey in crypto.

Btw hi I am your new supporter here I hope we gonna be friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is still too early. Less than 1% of the population holds any significant amount of crypto, and way less have ever used for payments. With Bitcoin Cash you find out why it is significant the moment you first use it out of exchanges.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks for info. Buddy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time flies faster in crypto.... but at least we were into nice and early. Who knows how 2022 will be. Hopefully BCH will get closer to the real value and smartBCH will help it bloom

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations friend for five years in crypto. Maybe friend for such a long time you are very happy and it has also helped a lot with your needs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a long journey in crypto, i'm amaze by you Po☺️❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, Po!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome Po❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Five years, wow! In 2017 I remember I was sat at my desk in one of the engineering companies I was working at and getting my toes dipped in trading by using a practice app. I wonder what would my portfolio look like had I stayed and took more time learning crypto. Ehh, no point wondering. I’m happy to be back last year and happy to have knowledgeable people like you here to learn from 💙

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Diving into crypto for me was for the same of survival, I had zero knowledge but along the line - I got to know there is more but my knowledge was restricted to the platform I was.

I eventually stepped out and discovered a lot. Embracing BCH for me has nothing to do with noise and read, I foresee future early adopters of Bitcoin saw when they discovered Bitcoin. The only difference is that BCH belongs to everyone, and not just for the rich.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time flies faster in crypto.... but at least we were into nice and early. Who knows how 2022 will be. Hopefully BCH will get closer to the real value and smartBCH will help it bloom

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Indeed. One year in crypto seems like five or ten years outside of it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looking at my pictures from 2020 and I don't know who that young guy was!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have had a very long and evolving journey in the crypto sphere and I must say that you are doing a great job in the ways you spread the words of BCH and its general adoption. Thank you for all you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is a difficult journey though. Holding on some investments and watching prices bleed is annoying and depressive. Meanwhile holding cash is equally bad losing 10% of the purchasing power every year from inflation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, I will choose the part of hold my investments and watching it bleed than leaving cash in the bank. Its already a known fact that my local fiat has no future.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes certainly, it all depends especially when inflation is higher depending on the region or country you live. There is the fact that the fiat money is doomed to keep bleeding. Money is not removed from circulation buy more is added always. With crypto, at least we can expect statistically that prices will recover at least for those crypto that have a community and developments.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is why believe BCH has a greater chance of going parabolic due to the community behind it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It funny what can happen within few years at first it as no value and was called a failed project but now it know as one of the world's digital success so I do believe bch,smart bch have the same future so I am part of it now and in the future I don't get to regret

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a long time. I also joined the crypto world about 6 or 7 years ago, I don't remember exactly, but I remember when bitcoin costed about $300. I was a student in that time. For me that was very big money, and I couldn't invest in it, so I was claiming satoshies from faucets and just earning so little of it, even that little now is about 500 satoshies per claim. Now it's $0.2. I wasn't claiming that often because in that time that was much less, I liked the idea of bitcoin but wasn't sure that will be huge. Anyway, then I started to earn it from games, then from investment projects, most of them went scams, I gained, lost, gained again, and when I joined steem in 2017 I had then 0.17 BTC, still remember that. I was already married, but still didn't have a work, so I had to sell it all to live. Then I worked fully in steem, I was earning enough to live from that. Then I worked as a curator in d.tube, and I was doing always well. Till the hard fork, I moved to hive, I post very rarely in steem, and thanks to hive I get to know blurt.blog , I'm doing well there as well. By the way if you need an account in blurt, I will help you and create for you one for free. Look at my page there : https://blurt.blog/@clixmoney , then I joined read and noise and here I am. ☺

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Doing great clix. And I think we are still at the beginning, the next wave of crypto adoption will be the decisive one. It is also a reason I though Hive was important to be active. It can become a hub for millions of users as read.cash and noise.cash too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Blurt is doing well right now as well. It's $0.03 now, while the previous year was like $0.003 or less. They have an awesome community there and what differs it from steem and hive is that they have no downvotes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago