Experiences with Blogging Platforms

24 124
Avatar for Pantera
2 years ago

I decided to shuffle the cards a bit and stop using some platforms completely as they have only been a waste of time and energy for me. I didn't have any positive experience on these two I removed and I am already replacing them with more promising equivalents.

New Platforms I Joined

  • Hive

So, instead of Publish0x, I choose Hive. It is already looking a lot better writing and posting there, and I had a positive experience during. I signed up using Ecency two weeks ago. I made a few followers and I've found out that there is a need for cooperation and commenting on others to earn more. I don't have a problem with that because this platform needs time and patience, however, if successful the rewards will be much better than what was expected from Publish0x.

Image from Hive

And to put in other words, this is not about the rewards. I felt welcome on Hive from the first day, while I felt that I was shadow-banned and unwelcome on Publish0x. In any case, if you are to choose between these two I suggest Hive, which is a top-quality platform and more popular than Publish0x.

I have created two original posts on Hive and republished a few of my read.cash posts. The attention I received was a warm welcome, and frankly, I think this platform is promising. I remember Steemit, I was using it for a while during my beginnings in crypto, but I wasn't any good at blogging, had very little free time, and wasn't much attending. I think that Hive is a good one and I would put it just below read.cash and noise.cash.

  • Medium

This is a serious blogging experience that I was stalling for many years. Previously my English was kinda poor and while I could write something of value, my grammar and my vocabulary were very bad. I remember three to four years ago, when I started writing about cryptocurrencies how different I was and how much more difficult it has been for me.

In the previous year, I took English lessons again and managed to improved a lot. Not only I can now write better, but I also find it easier and take less time than previously. Tools like Grammarly also help a lot, mostly with grammar and some pronunciations I may have mistyped.

Medium is basically what Reddit claims to be. The front page of the internet. I think that right now I am ready to finally write in the blog I have been visiting for almost a decade. I was always astonished by the quality of writing of the authors there and I think that even if I don't make it as a quality author there, at least I will improve my writing abilities.

Platforms I'm quitting

  • Publish0x

One platform I will consider removing is Publish0x. It seems that no matter what, the visibility of my posts will be limited and payments will always be just a couple of cents. I even created a 6-minute article only to get less attention than 1-minute long posts.

I don't know, maybe BTC maxis are responsible for content control and just perform the usual censorship on BCH-related material.

I thought that Publish0x was about all cryptocurrencies and no matter if a fair analysis is given, no matter the quality of my articles, all are falling under the same restrictions.

I used Publish0x for more than two months and created a few unique posts exclusive for that platform, however, I've seen no appreciation at all there. It just feels that anything that goes against the line drawn by those in charge of Publish0x is shadow-banned.

Shadow banned on Publish0x

I've also noticed how my posts were instantly placed in the new posts feed lower than posts been posted half an hour earlier. Some algorithm promotes selected participants and just person in charge ranks each user according to personal interests, likes, and opinions. Yes, there is one guy that promotes users there as he sees fit.

I've studied the structure of this platform and found out who is in charge. There was even one staff member abusing his power and posting 3-4 one-minute crypto-news articles per day, for months, earning top rewards. Apparently, this abuse was discovered by other users in the platform and later this staff member had tips blocked from his posts. His productivity went down 95% since then, and now only posts one article every 5 days.

It is also obvious that Bitcoin Cash is not a cryptocurrency that Publish0x prefers. This platform just milks small projects that try to find some kind of acceptance and increase their user base. There are contests made, I tried taking part in one of those, however, I never received notification that my content entry was approved or not.

I'm not enjoying spending hours for a post, making it as perfect as possible, and still getting the same attention with a post that was made hastily in just 10 minutes. Thus, I'm seriously considering completely deleting Publish0x after such a terrible experience.

  • Reddit

The back page of the internet. I don't understand why this trash is considered important. It is just filled with pathetic losers that have nothing useful to do with their life. Most Reddit users are just spammers and mindless apes that have no other entertainment than spending all their day, writing lengthy debates and trying to make themselves win an argument, even if they are wrong, even if they already know they are wrong.

The most unproductive website I've ever used. I'm quitting Reddit, it didn't do anything to help me and I found negative value in it with all the time I spent there having to answer to trolls disguised as someone that wanted to add to the discussion.

I also found zero value in advertising my cryptocurrency posts there, and again probably negative value since all the BTC trolls that infest this pointless platform were jumping in my comments section, cursing, namecalling, and threatening me. Since comments of trolls and idiots stay in our posts even after we are blocking them, I have no reason to use this platform at all. I'm not going to become another useless troll and start visiting their posts just to irritate them as they do. These stalker trolls that infest Reddit are the worst kind I've seen anywhere.

I'm not going to recommend any of these two platforms to anyone again. If someone made it in Publish0x, this is just because of the personal opinions of the two or three people in charge. Even so, the top rewards are just lame. Top users are getting paid just two or three dollars for articles read by thousands of people. It is very sad to see this while the platform is receiving high ad revenue.

Top recent articles - Average tips $4

Image from: Publish0x

Publish0x is just censoring content while it claims it is "crypto agnostic". They don't like Bitcoin Cash and don't like the truth. They lower the visibility of anything they don't like and promote posts from projects that pay them for advertisement. There is no visible boost option, however one for mods exists.

I didn't ask for my posts to be boosted, but I suspected from the beginning I was put at a lower visibility level than anything else. Well, goodbye Publish0x, and those that disagree with me, can always read the post I link below and think about it again.(Three months In Read.Cash - $2658.27 in BCH Rewards!).

Still Undecided:

  • Den.Social

I joined this platform after watching a video by @scottcbusiness and have to admit it looked very promising. However, I wasn't able to become a regular poster there. It is a platform welcoming beginners, and everyone that has something beneficial to write gets attention from the Den community. In general, it was a good experience so far.

Den.Social is a platform dedicated to Dragonchain. I remember this project since late 2017 when it was trending, but I never did more research. All I know about it is that it was designed initially by Disney Corporation and later was open-sourced, or something like that. The name Disney alone was enough for many to jump on that ship, but it seems that during this bull run it remained below expectations.

My lack of knowledge on the Dragonchain topic kept me from using it more often and I've only posted a few unique posts there, most being about my view of the crypto market. I felt that my Bitcoin Cash knowledge wasn't going to interest anyone there and I've noticed some similar elements with Publish0x, but the upvotes and the rewards on Den are substantially better.

Rewards on Den.Social are handed out in abundance, however, if someone is following Dragonchain and posts occasionally about it on this platform, it would ensure better results.

I will keep using it, but I don't think my views on Bitcoin Cash will be accepted there, since there are too many BTC loyalists posting already. Overall, it is a great platform that I currently visit at least twice per week, but probably not going to post, for the time being, no matter the rewards.

Final Thoughts

I'm perfectly fine with read.cash and have found a match with my interest in Bitcoin Cash and this blog community. I know that I am not the most tech-savvy person and I have no developer skills, however, I keep seeking knowledge and expanding my horizons.

I'm not only in Bitcoin Cash, I use and hold many cryptocurrencies and invest in some that I think may have a future. Bitcoin Cash is the king in P2P transactions, and I perceive it as better than any other alternative (XRP, Dash, etc.). After long research and being disgusted with BTC, I decided BCH was the Bitcoin of my choice and read.cash is a community that thinks the same. Most importantly, the Bitcoin Cash community is against censorship. Spam is limited on read.cash and only something of value can be produced by this platform.

From my part, I am trying my best to make everyone recognize the merits of read.cash, and join. After read.cash I am using noise.cash most, which is a platform that is constantly evolving and becoming better. I think that noise.cash will soon become a top platform for cryptocurrency information, and maybe all projects should start thinking about creating an account and posting news and useful information.

If I was part of a Crypto project, I wouldn't want to miss a great opportunity advertising it to tens of thousands of user. Noise.Cash offers this opportunity for free and Crypto projects should discover it. Take Cardano as an example. It is spending too much on marketing and Cardano foundation has a marketing team, oriented towards expanding the Cardano user base.

Having a presence on noise.cash will have a positive expected value. I don't see why it wouldn't be adding value to ADA, or any other project, to create an official account on noise.cash. Maybe spammers will follow but rules will apply and the tips will not reach them. Also, the platform is growing in a spam-free environment as recently 99% of spammers have lost access to funding and quit.

I find noise.cash to be very important as a source for crypto-related information and maybe it should start being noticed. These platforms are not just about Bitcoin Cash. I love to explore the cryptocurrency field and in Bitcoin Cash, we have no maximalists. We are open to suggestions and constructive criticism and we have open minds to follow and encourage developments.

*There are some events and a big decision time ahead for me. Often situations beyond our control can affect us, however, I will try to weigh the pros and cons and make a decision that will be the best one. I will discuss this further in my next post. Stay put!

Lead Image from Unsplash (by Green Chameleon)

Gif from: Source

Currently active on:

Shout out to my top-3 sponsors:

30
$ 7.27
$ 5.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.60 from @wakeuplincs
$ 0.50 from @MicroReylatos
+ 8
Sponsors of Pantera
empty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pantera
2 years ago

Comments

I don't know why I only read this now. But better late than never.

Because of this, I will close my Publish0x too. I can't find anything worth my time there. I just started recently (maybe less than a week), but I don't know why I can't just he drawn into it like read.cash nd noise.cash. I don't know. The system and the limitation of the contents maybe, are some of the factors.

Anyway, I will try Hive, too. Thanks for the recommendation. I also want to add more sources of income, while training myself to write and write.

To be honest, I would not know English isn't your first language, unless you say it. You are a great writer, in my opinion. :)

I don't know if it's too much to ask, if maybe you can make a mini-tutorial on the basics of Hive? If not, it's okay, I will just explore it on my own. I can see it is a promising site. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm still a beginner at Hive. I haven't figured what to do exactly. Some users told me to use leofinance, which I tried but it was very slow. I signed up via Ecency which is a system that rewards your actions with Ecency points and helps you boost your articles. You certainly need to be boosting your work there at least for the beginning, otherwise you get low visibility.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh okay. Thanks lot, I will really give it time. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think Steemit had already shut down. I love read.cash the most, though. I'll be be forever loyal here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're improvement then is amazing! That is, if your claim is true that you wrote like that before. I can't help but have my doubts whether you were really bad before or not. Because you write amazingly today. You have conviction. Keep writing!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks a lot, friend! I was very bad a few years ago. I managed to improve my English and it paid off eventually. I always advise others to continue with higher English education as this will always be a great investment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just focus on readcash and noisecash. You'll earn more 😁 Btw in Medium, what is the mode of payment? Crypto as well?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm also on P0x but I'm not that active. In P0x, if you have little audience the chance of getting a huge tip is 10%. I' m a user since august but haha nevermind. I also have an account in Hive, also in LeoFinance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really interesting stuff. I just discovered read.cash after using noise.cash. That said, I got approved to be an author on Publish0x but I haven't published anything yet. I have a fun story about how I made a few thousand dollars mining Dogecoin back in 2014 that I want to publish, but after I just read your assessment here, I'm wondering if my time would be better spent here on read.cash!

Thanks for your insight and experience!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great review Pantera! I recently opened PublishOx account, but haven’t started publishing yet. After reading this, I think I will better redirect my attention to Hive. Thank you 💙

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hey, thanks, it is what I experienced and how I felt exactly. I have no reason to keep posting there, or even republishing any of my posts. But this is a personal view. Others will have a different one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I’m sure of that and it’s very nice of you to state this, but as I look through the comments they pretty much align with what you said. If the top earners there earn $3 per article, that’s not really worth the time you need to create a good quality article. That’s enough for me to redirect my attention to other places, which have more potential 💙

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hello, my friend.

Excellent article about your experience on the Blogging platform. As a member of the Hive community, I warmly welcome you.

The Hive ecosystem is very complete and you will surely find a niche for your posts. For the content of your articles, I suggest you explore the Leofinance community, and if you want to get their tokens, use their Dapp. You will be rewarded in Leo and Hive, simultaneously.

As for your review of the other platforms, I think they are very appropriate.

I recently read Scott Cunningham's update on evaluating social platforms on the blockchain, if you didn't read it you should take a look.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh, thanks man! I may have missed the recent review of Scott. I watch his vids and like this guy.
Thanks for the information too, it will come in hand. I had to unpublish as it was accidentally published with a title I didn't like too much, and had very little to do with the topic! Thanks, overall @Jnavedan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I experienced the same. So I use read.cash and hive now a days. No doubt read.cash is a king in terms of quality content and earning. Then noise.cash and then Hive. ☺️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

About Hive, I was expecting more, but it is still a great one, I will keep using it, but only when I have free time. Read.Cash and Noise are certainly the top and I'm trying to advertise them as much as possible.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great. One thing I have doubt about: can we post our old read.cash article to Hive ? Although I write once a week original post for hive but what if we post same on both ? Do it gets plagiarized ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I have reposted several articles from read.cash to Hive. But you have to explain that you republished the post and give the link to the original one. Also, better to have your accounts under the same name, to avoid confusion.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great. Although I have same name but from now on I will post the link too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm going to follow you in Hive, I have a lot of time there, right now I'm giving you some support.

It is a good platform, but like any site it has its pros and cons.

I do not like publisx0 I find it very complicated and difficult to obtain dividends, I recommend Torum.com it is worth using it.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Gotcha, thanks man. I will try Torum too, I remember reading about this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I say it was good decision.Same happen to me but I am limited to read cash and noise cash only.No time for other platform.I Al's has account on Publish0x and Reddit.Both proved to be useless for me.And I give up there.Now Den.Social is also non-functional for me.And I tried to Join Hive network.I also have account there I shall provide you link here you will like it😍

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Great! I will try to relax for a couple of hours and visit later. However, I'm only focused on read.cash and noise and the rest will always be secondary.

$ 0.00
2 years ago