Surrounded (Part 1 of the Haunted series)

1 21
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

'Abby?' I called out hesitantly into the shadows cast by the trees above me. The cold fall air whipped around me making me pull my jacket closer to my frame. She was beside me just a second ago, where could she have gone?

'Boo!' she shouted popping out from behind a tree a few feet ahead of me.

'Seriously?' I threw my hat at her but she dodged it with a laugh.

'Got you!' she yelled in victory as she came dancing up to walk beside me once again.

I shook my head and gave her my best annoyed look. Not that she even noticed. Abby was basically immune to my annoyance now.

'So...any plans tonight?' she gave me a sidelong glance.

'Nah. Mom says Cali is old enough to go trick or treating with her friends this year so I'll probably just stay home and watch a movie or something. '

I knew some of our classmates were throwing a party but truth be told I had never been much for parties. Being around a bunch of drunken idiots had no appeal to me. Abby and I had always been outsiders and that was one of the things we bonded over.

She nodded. 'You could do that. or you could come with me and have some fun.'

I seriously doubted Abbys idea of fun matched mine but I have to admit I was a little curious. Besides, it's not like I had anything better to do. Before I even answered, she grabbed my hand and started pulling me away from our usual route.

'Where are we going?'

She laughed, but didn't let go. 'Jeeze Mike, lighten up a bit would you?'

Ten minutes later we were in front of the old Norbert estate. The setting sun cast an eerie glow on the house and it did not make it look any more inviting than usual. The house had been abandoned longer than I'd been alive and it screamed haunted.

Even the city had given up trying to unload it on some poor sucker. No matter how cheap, nobody wanted to buy it.

'You want to go in there?' I asked incredulously.

The old wooden porch groaned in protest as Abby made her way to the door. She looked at me impatiently.

'Come on Mike. You're not scared, are you?'

I stepped onto the porch cautiously and prayed the whole place wouldn't collapse, killing us both in the process I felt a moment of relief as the knob refused to turn in my hand but it was short lived as a second later the door creaked open with little resistance.

I quickly pulled out my cellphone to help us see in the inky blackness.

'Gotta love technology.' I muttered more to break the silence than anything else.

The air felt heavy and I wasn't all that sure it was only because of the years of dust we disturbed with each step. I couldn't shake the feeling that we weren't wanted here.

My heart pounded as I took in the dark humanoid shapes all around the room.

We were surrounded.

Part 2: https://read.cash/@Paganprincess/gone-part-2-of-the-haunted-series-79065dce

4
$ 0.16
$ 0.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Comments

Good one

$ 0.00
3 years ago