Gone (Part 2 of the Haunted Series)

2 19
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

'We need to leave. Now.' I told Abby in a low whisper, hoping she could hear the urgency in my voice. My brain screamed at me to move but I was frozen to the spot in fear, my phone pointing uselessly at the floor.

'Take a look scaredy cat.' she told me with a laugh as she grabbed it from me, waving it around the room.

I let out a breath I hadn't even realized I was holding as I studied the scene around us, my heart rate slowly calming as I processed what I was seeing.

'That's just creepy. Why would someone have a living room full of mannequins?' I asked as I stared at the eerie tableau.

'How should I know?' She shrugged.

'How can you not be weirded out by this?' I asked.

She reached out and poked one of their still faces, not even bothering to answer me. She looked over her shoulder and moved to the next room.

The kitchen was a nightmare with old food still rotting away on the counter.

'Gross.' I commented quietly to myself giving the pile a wide berth. 'Can we get out of here now?'

There was a staircase just off to one side of the room and Abby was already heading up it. I wasn't even sure if it would hold our weight but she got up without a problem and against my better judgement, I followed her.

Everything about this house screamed at me that we needed to leave. Who would leave all this furniture anyway? I don't know much about antiques, but I think some of this stuff must be worth something.

I heard a loud thud from one of the rooms and made my way up the rest of the stairs.

'Abbs?' She wasn't in the hallway. A door about halfway down the hall stood open.

The flashlight on the phone went out leaving me in darkness. I pushed the power button. Low battery. Great.

'Abby! Where are you?' Yelling in the dark probably wasn't the best idea but I was getting seriously creeped out. 'I'm going to leave you here Abby!' It was a hollow threat and she knew it too. That's probably why she didn't answer me.

Or maybe she can't... Maybe something's wrong...

No. This is Abby. She's probably just trying to scare me again.

Any second now she's going to jump out and grab me. Once she's had her fun, we can leave.

I swear I could feel her staring at me. I felt something touch my back, like a light caress. I spun around and tried to look through the darkness to find her.

How did she sneak up like that? I can't take one step without the floor making noise.

'Very funny. You got me. Can we go now?'

The door to my left slammed shut and I jumped, taking an involuntary step back towards the stairs.

Just find her and get out Mike. It's just an old house.

I steeled myself and opened the door half expecting some horrible creature to be waiting for me. My mind conjured up images of half rotten corpses and giant spiders. But, there was nothing. A streetlight filtered in through the half boarded window and I could see that the room was empty. No horrible monsters.

Thank God

But, no Abby either....

Part 3: https://read.cash/@Paganprincess/the-revelation-part-3-of-the-haunted-series-457aacb8

*Please note this is a work in progress and I may end up changing it at some point. This is only a first draft.*

3
$ 0.07
$ 0.05 from @Ozzyy
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Comments

Good one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Alright! Are you going to be updating this regularly?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope to. Some parts tend to be harder than others.

$ 0.00
3 years ago