No One Ever Listens

12 21
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Everyone said to stay away from the old cemetery. There were plenty of stories about it. About kids and even an adult or two who had disappeared over the years.

None of it meant much to me. They were just stories after all, something adults told their children to keep them from stomping around on historical graves.

Of course over the years the kids had started telling stories too. The most recent one about a girl named Anna.

I knew Anna. I went to school with her. Even talked to her a few times. She mostly kept to herself and nobody seemed to know her very well.

When the missing posters started showing up around town, it got people talking but nobody knew where she was. A classmate swore they saw her near the old cemetery with someone just before she disappeared but no one thought to take it seriously.

With no answers it's normal for people to speculate. Imaginations run wild, especially with children. Some said she ran away, others that something worse had happened. The creepiest story was the one that said she had been lured into the old cemetery and buried alive, or killed.

I couldn't stop thinking about the cemetery. Maybe it was because it was the last place someone said they saw her. I decided to check it out but knew I couldn't go alone.

There was one girl in class I knew would be brave enough to go but I didn't look forward to asking. She had been at the school for three months and made it clear she didn't like me.

Surprisingly, I didn't have a problem getting her to agree to come with me. I guess her curiosity outweighed her hatred of me. Or maybe she was hoping to see me meet some horrible fate like people thought Anna did. We agreed to meet the next night after dinner and see what we could find.

When I got there, she was already waiting impatiently by the gates and she was not happy.

'You kept me waiting long enough.'

I muttered an apology and examined the rusty lock that barred the entrance.

'I think I saw a hole in the fence over there.' I said pointing to my left.

Without a word she climbed through the hole half hidden by the bushes not waiting to see if I would follow. I let her lead as we walked around the graves looking for anything that didn't belong.

'You know, they say Annas' bracelet was found inside the old Kramer crypt. Maybe we should check it out.' she said with a challenging smile.

'I don't think that's such a good idea.' I told her quietly.

There were a lot of creepy stories about that place. If she heard my protest she didn't let on and before I knew it we were standing outside the mausoleum in question. The door was cracked open.

'Shouldn't that be closed?' I asked her nervously.

She ignored me again and walked up to it before finally turning to look at me.

'You coming, or not?'

A shiver ran through me as she put her hand on the cold stone and watched me impatiently.

'This is a really bad idea. You shouldn't go in there.'

She snorted.

'Right. The ghost will get me. You're just scared.

She turned her back to me and stepped forward into the darkness. The door to the crypt slammed shut with a loud bang and she let out a bloodcurdling scream.

'No one ever listens.' I said with a smile as I walked away.

*I did post this on Reddit awhile back. This one just has a few changes.*

11
$ 0.14
$ 0.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Comments

Oh uh... This could be a good entry to a suspense story only it had to be elaborated.. any continuation? 😅. 🎃 thanks @wakeupkitty for the tag.. I almost miss to read this❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I might do a continuation if it comes to me. I don't want to force it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I understand.. You can do the continuation if you wish to. If not,no worries.. Tag me if ever you made up your mind😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No one can refuse a challenge I guess and this time, the challenge leads to disaster. She should listen.

This story made me smile. Thank you for the good write up.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your plot twists are top notch! Thanks @wakeupkitty, this was a great read.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! Most times I start writing a piece and it just comes to me as I go. I can't always plan it out in advance.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

OnO so was she responsible for the disappearances of the other peolle and anna too?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's exactly what I was going for.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

;;-;; such an evil kid-- heck why would she do that??

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for sharing this great story and giving me a good laugh. I recognize the feeling. No one ever listens to me either.

The OC didn't find it out you posted it on Reddit. As you can see it's EXC.

I loved the story and you should have joined the contest stories in series @Ozzyy hosted.

@charmingcherry08, @Clarissa_KG, @esciisc, @gerl, @Hanzell, @heartbeat1515, @Jane, @lioness777, @marblely, @Mehedi01, @psychie, @Urmeelaurmee122, @Xzeon

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome. I wonder why it didn't notice that. In all the chaos I kind of forgot about the contest to be honest.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for tagging me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago