More Questions than Answers (Dr. Silva Part 3)

1 15
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

It wasn't until a few days later that I could finally look at anyone who entered my room. I still felt a mixture of horror, sadness, confusion and anger but mostly I just felt hollow.

I got taken off my IV and, to my relief had my catheter removed. On top of everything else I was feeling I was also sick and tired of being stuck in this one room. I was tired of feeling like a caged animal. The other thing that was bothering me was that I couldn't figure out why everyone; even Dr. Silva seemed jumpy around me all of a sudden.

I decided it was finally time to confront her.

'Good morning Lilly.' She gave me her usual bright smile but it didn't put me at ease today.

'I want to get out of this room. Today.'

'I'm sure this can't be easy.'

I wasn't in the mood to hear any placating crap and at this point I didn't care about being polite.

'I thought I was supposed to be a patient. Not a prisoner.'

She shook her head and opened her mouth to speak but I never gave her the chance. My anger had reached a boiling point.

'I don't want to hear it! All I get is excuses and more questions than what I had before! You won't tell me how I managed to survive with so few injuries. It makes no sense! You won't even tell me what happened to my sister!'

She may have told me my sister had died in the explosion but she never told me anything else. Her reluctance to talk about it made me think there was something she was hiding and I didn't like it. Bailey was the only family I had left. Our parents had died and we had no one but each other.

A sense of both anger and hopelessness washed over me and I clenched my hands to try and steady the tremors coursing through my body.

Dr. Silva reached out hesitantly towards me but I raised my hand to swat her away. One second she was in front of me and the next she was across the room on the floor.

She winced and watched me carefully as she slowly lifted herself off the floor.

'I'm sorry I,' I trailed off unsure of what to say. I could swear I never touched her but if I didn't how did she get across the room?

'Lilly, maybe we should continue this discussion on-' The rest of her sentence was cut off by a frantic knock on the door which she quickly opened.

The man at the door didn't even wait until it was fully open before he started speaking.

'Code Yellow.' West wing hall.'

Dr. Silva nodded and hurried off with the man trailing behind her. I seized my opportunity and grabbed the door before it had the chance to close and followed them. Sure, I could have run, found a door or maybe even a window but I was too curious for my own good.

What exactly is a Code Yellow?

A couple of turns later I spotted Dr. Silva and the man standing in the hallway in front of a figure crouched over, crying and fighting with the two nurses trying to hold them back. Dr. Silva gently placed her hand on the figure and they immediately stopped struggling and looked up at her.

The mans face was a mask of pain and I wondered if that's what I had looked like after finding out about Bailey. Maybe I still looked like that.

'You'll be okay Alex. Let's get you back to your room. Shall we?' She offered him her arm.

The man leaned on Dr. Silva as she led him down the hall. Had she given him something? A tranquillizer to calm him down maybe. I hadn't seen anything in her hands but it was the only explanation.

What was that all about?

Dr. Silva turned around, her eyes met mine and I froze.

Part 4 https://read.cash/@Paganprincess/the-calming-touch-part-4-01782be1

2
$ 0.56
$ 0.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Comments

Do they all have some sort of power or special ability in that hospital :""

$ 0.00
3 years ago