My Not So Very Merry Christmas Story

24 49

Uncle Dondon is the husband of my Aunt Daka and father of my cousin Michael. As far as I could remember, he was a very approachable guy and always wear a smile on his face. That's why my grandma liked him so much. I remember one time, we had our dinner, my Lola told Aunt Daka to save some viand for Uncle Dondon because it was his favorite. I couldn't blame my Lola, Uncle Dondon was very kind to her and he never talks back every time she gave him an earful.

When my parents separated ways, it was Uncle Dondon who acted like my father. He always had something for us every time he came back from work. And when summer comes, they would go to his parents in Makilala in Davao and they would take me with them. His family is all so kind, from his sisters, Uncles, cousins, and parents. They lived in a compound where all their relatives lived together. It was like one big happy family.

When we transferred to Manila, Uncle Dondon worked as a mechanic together with my Uncle Bong, Aunt Daka's brother. Their work was to assemble jeepneys for Sarao and the other name of jeepney that I forgot but was popular those days.

It was December 16, 1989, the first night of "Simbang Gabi" and Aunt Daka's birthday as well. My other Aunts and Uncles together with Aunt Daka went to attend the Simbang Gabi". It was only me, my sisters and cousin Michael who was left at home. Then we were all startled when someone knocked with an urgency and so loud. When my Lola opened the door, we saw Tita Daka crying while saying, "Nay, Dondon is dead. "

Source

When My Lola heard that, she went hysterical and cried so loud that the dogs of our neighbors were barking like crazy. I cried the moment it sank into me what was happening. Then I saw my cousin cry and we were all crying. My Lola was shouting, "It's not true, where is Dondon?! And then she passed out. My Aunt helped Lola regain her consciousness. And then I saw Michael crying while saying "Papa, Papa ko."

I am in tears while writing this part. The memories were all so vivid as if it just happened yesterday. I am still affected up to now.

When all were calmed down, Tito Bong told us what had happened. He said that they were together in the house of one of the owners of the jeepneys they assembled. They were celebrating because they had assembled 2 jeepneys in a short period of time. The drinking session lasted until midnight and they were all wasted. Their boss told them to just stay for the night but they still decided to go home because it was Tita Daka's birthday.

According to Tito Bong, while they were about to cross the street, he told Tito Dondon to stay put and wait for him because he'll just have to pee. But Tito Dondon did not listen and a few minutes later, he heard a loud thud and when he looked at it, he saw Tito Dondon was hit by a passing car. He was rolling over the street and then was hit again by 2 more vehicles. It was a hit and run. No vehicles stopped and helped Tito Dondon. His body was unrecognizable according to them. Imagine being hit with 3 vehicles, what would your body look like?

The wake lasted for more than two weeks because we waited for Uncle Dondon's family who was in Davao to arrive. Almost every day, Tita Daka would cry in front of the coffin. She was so heartbroken and my heart also ached every time I saw her and I would end up crying too. It felt like I lose my father.

Source

On Christmas eve, Tito Dondon's family arrived and I saw how devastated they were. They could not believe what happened to their precious Dondon. The wailing continued for hours until they all calmed down. They were talking and talking and crying and crying. Days passed that our house was full of visitors paying their respect Uncle Dondon and condolences to our family.

New Year's eve just passed without us celebrating. But some of Uncle Dondon's friends went to our house and brought some food and some of our neighbors shared their food with us as well. I remember eating cake that time while asking Tita Mae who bought it. She said it was given to us by our neighbor.

The remains of Uncle Dondon were laid to rest in Holy Gardens in Angono Rizal. Tita Daka never remarried and Michael is now a seaman and had a family.

--

This is my entry to @gertu13 "Christmas Challenge". I know, this is the very opposite of what the Christmas story should be, but not all Christmas stories are merry. There were families mourning, families celebrating Christmas on the streets. Families without food on their table. And that's a fact. But don't get me wrong, I am not spreading negativity here.😇

I decided to write this in memory of our dearest Uncle Dondon who's been a good father figure to me. This coming December 16, it will be his 32nd death anniversary. May his soul rest in peace.

Date Published: December 14, 2021

12
$ 14.45
$ 12.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Jeaneth
+ 11
Sponsors of Pachuchay
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Thank you for participating and Merry Christmas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Likewise sis, and merry Christmas din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dugay na diay madam ba. Way konswnsya jud tong ng hit and run ba. How could they sleep at night knowing they have killed someone? 🤷‍♀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mau jud madam. La pud to natagaan justice kay wala may witness. Naluoy jud ko sa akung angkol ba kay buutan jud to kaayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy hala.. Ba't naman ganun.. Aguy! Ang lungkot nga nun Ma'am..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobrang nakakalungkot nga talaga sis. At ang sama pa nun eh di man lang nabigyan ng justice yun pagkamatay nya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Be my first receiver of my.$1.bch gift 🙂 advance Merry Christmas te..hope it would make you happy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my gosh! Thank you so much Jane! Ano ba yan, pinapapaiyak nyo ko ni @bmjc98 eh!

Thank you so much! 😭

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Pahirin mo nlng te 🤭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, salamat ulit..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bat naman ganon, ang lungkot madam. Tapos di manlang tinigilan nong mga halang ang kaluluwa na un. Di ba nahuli?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa pagkakaalam ko madam hindi kasi walang witness. Di din nakuha ng Tito Bong ko un mga plate number kasi lasing din sya. And wala din cctv sa lugar na un. Kawawa nga eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May disgrasya talaga nangyayare pag may inom e. Hays! Saan man ngayon si Uncle Dodon wala na siyang pain na mararamdaman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga beh eh. Grabe tuloy ang sisi ng Tito bong ko kasi sya nagyaya nun time na yun. Ayaw kasi nga sana umattend ni cle dondon kasi birthday ng asawa nya kinabukasan. Siguro time nya na din talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's was a sad Christmas indeed sis,but I know God,once a person is very good to us,their memory will always remain in our heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly sis, he will always be remembered and never forgotten

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a terrible experience,sorry about the loss not all Christmas are merry there are sad ones and memorable ones too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup totally agree with you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sorry for your loss, sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As tragic as your uncle's passing was, perhaps he was called back home because he had fulfilled his purpose in this life. He loved and served his family well. Grief never really goes away, we only learn to empower ourselves with the memories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe you're right. He have done his purpose but too soon. He could have lived a long life together with his family. But that's life and only God knows when and where He'll call you to come home.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hindi lahat talaga ang Christmas ay merry kasi tulad ko hindi masyadong masaya kasi me lang magpapasko, ngayong paparating na Pasko :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama ka jan, but don't worry sis, tambay ka lang sa noise at read. We're all family here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago