A Little Pain For A Lot Of Gain

21 42
Avatar for Pachuchay
2 years ago
Topics: Vaccine

Good day my dear readers! Today is a special day for me because I got vaccinated! Yey! But did you know that I am so against the vaccine before? Okay, so let me tell you why.

The first Covid19 vaccine was developed only a year after the Covid19 outbreak. I am not a scientist or a doctor but how did they able to develop a vaccine in just a short period? And then there is much news circulating on social media about people who died after they got vaccinated. So the whole family was so against it. We swore that we will never have or never will get vaccinated.

But it all changed when I got infected with the virus. It was October 14, 2021, when I was diagnosed with Covid19. It hits its toll on me because, at that time, I was under medication for a different disease. So my body was so weak. I can't even eat and drink properly and I had to have oxygen for me to be able to breathe properly. My family also suffered and not just me. I saw how they were so affected by my condition.

So when I was cured, I told my husband that I want to be vaccinated. I don't want to suffer again, to go through what I've been through again. My husband was okay about it but as long as it is not Sinovac because that is the vaccine that has been full of controversy.

So my daughter got vaccinated first. Her school required every student to be fully vaccinated in preparation for the face-to-face classes next year. Then when there's a vaccination here in our brgy, I convinced my husband to get vaccinated. And today is his 2nd dose.

My friend sent me a message last night, asking if I already had clearance from my doctor for the vaccine and I told her yes. She said if I wanted to be vaccinated, she will put my name on the list and the vaccine is Janssen. But this morning, I hesitated because some said that the Janssen vaccine has strong side effects because it is a 1 dose vaccine only. But then my friend told me that there are other vaccines available and not just the Janssen vaccine. So after we had lunch, I took a bath and went with my husband because it was his 2nd dose today.

The Brgy. Hall is just a 5 minutes walk from our house so I just wore sleeveless and shorts, hehe. We arrived at the venue and only a few people were there. The first step was pre-registration, then next was the blood pressure monitoring. My blood pressure was normal, thank God. I thought I had high blood pressure because I was so nervous at that time.

The next step was the screening. The doctor asked me about any allergies and maintenance. I told her that I have a disease called Myasthenia gravis and may maintenance is "Mestinon". I also informed her that I was once a Covid patient 2 months ago. Then I asked her if it is okay for me to have the Janssen vaccine because I have heard that it has strong side effects and my body might not bear it. Then she explained to me that each person has a different reaction to the vaccine. so I shouldn't be afraid and just make sure that I eat healthy food so that my body can bear the side effects.

And the next step was the vaccine itself. I was so nervous. My husband was in the other aisle but already done with his 2nd dose so I told him to sit beside me. Then he took my phone and told me that he will take a picture of me while being vaccinated so that I can use it in my article, hehe. Very supportive eh.

When it was my turn, my heart beat was so fast and I was so nervous. The lady told me to relax and said "parang kagat lang ng langgam". But believe me it was not just a "kagat ng langgam".

After that she told me to take a rest first and someone took my blood pressure again. Then a few minutes later, we went home.

I am glad that my family and I are now fully vaccinated. But being vaccinated doesn't mean that we are already immune to the Covid19 virus. It will only lessen the symptoms if ever we will get infected with it. So we should still follow the health protocols and be mindful every time we go outside.

Date Published: December 23, 2021

All photos are mine unless stated otherwise

13
$ 6.98
$ 6.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 6
Sponsors of Pachuchay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pachuchay
2 years ago
Topics: Vaccine

Comments

I just recently got my first dose. And while my reason for finally doing so is nothing like yours (I am so humbled that we have been spared from the disease) I was asking for signs if I would go ahead and get jabbed. When I found a location that was just nearby, I decided to go ahead with it. Funny thing is, up until that morning, I was okay and ready. For some reason though, my BP rose and I could feel anxiety kick in. That had me worried and was thinking whether to proceed or not. I took medication, prayed a lot, and went about getting ready. When I was actually at the high school premises, I was so calm. I have never been afraid of injections, probably because I've had a lot in my lifetime... so I just sat there and it was done. When I had to get my BP measured after, it was normal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my case, I was so nervous talaga. So I keep telling nyself to relax or else you'll never have another chance, lol! And I guessed it helps..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tbh you're late to taken Covid-19 vaccine. Or is it Booster?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I know, it's kinda late coz I didn't want to be vaccinated before.

It's not a booster..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats po, marami po talaga tayo na takot sa vaccine oh magpabakuna hahah, pero congrats po sa atin na nalampasan ang takot hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korek, hehe..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hirap nga daw tlga ma covid momsh, yung tita kong nurse sa UAE halos maiyak gabi2. Buti now kahit papano, parang mas titibay tyo with the help ng vaccine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku momshie sobrang hirap talaga. Hinang hina ako noon at kailangan alalayan kapag tatayo. Apektado buong katawan ko eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mabilis din tibok ng puso ko nong nagpavaccinr ako madams umabot nga 140 dugo ko ahahaha mataas pa akin kesa kay mama ahahaha. Dati against na against din ako rr but it's not that bad naman pala. And mas malala pa naman ang kagat ng langgam madams kesa sa turok base lang sakin ha hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku madams un sa akin eh parang di karayon ang tinirok eh at parang sagad sa buto, ang sakit eh, hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really cool, I'm afraid of the vaccine so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was also have my first done for vaccination last December 1, but I hesitate for my second dose because I feel nervous hehe. Congratulations to you po. You're family are fully vaccinated. Stay safe and Godbless po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But you need to take rhe 2nd dose sis or else eh mawawalan ng bisa un bakuna..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga po kaso grabe ang Kaba ko pag karayom na pag-uusapan hehe. Takot po kasi ako pero pipilitin Kong magpa second dose hehe 💉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay nacovid ka pala ate? Yung ate ko sa ireland pangakawang beses nya macovid ngayon. Ako rin nung una ayaw ko aa vaccine kaso naging mandatory oara sa school sa f2f 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo beh at ang hirap nun pinagdaanan ko nun nacovid ako. 4 days akong nakaoxegyn 24 hrs. At ang gastos kasi ang mahal ng oxygen tapos konte lang ang supply..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung facial reaction tlga eh. Haha. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sakit kasi eh, hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats, sis! Stay healthy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sissy! 😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago