Is the new reward system just for OGs? The Splinterlands Trial of Valor

11 111

The new reward system has already few weeks since implementation, while the Modern/Wild battle options are still new-ish! I had time to explore before I could make my mind if this changes are good or bad! 

Let's talk about the seasonal focus and the daily focus that replaced the daily missions. The seasonal focus will accumulate throughout the season for chests, while the daily focus will maintain the mission type system. You will earn daily focus only if you use cards/splinters according to the requirements. 

My first days where poor, until the Earth daily focus, until I realized the best strategy. I earned 8 chest in 24 hours, almost the same as a season reward in the past, by ignoring the daily focus! How is that possible? Let me explain it in details!

It's hard to earn both Seasonal and Daily Focus before Silver III, and I decided to sacrifice the daily rewards for the long term bonus. I totally ignored the daily focus in the first days of the season, trying to win as many battles as possible until I reached Silver III! Once reached, I have 0.8% Legendary chance, 2% gold foil chance, 2x DEC boost and above all ... even 10 times higher focus rewards.

Winning battles for daily focus at Bronze II gave me an average 75 focus points (74, 64, 92, 89, 72, 69, 72, 73, etc), while winning battles at Bronze I doubled the rewards to an average 140 focus points (198, 122, 128, 133, 147, 132, 143, etc! 

The real beauty comes once you reach at least Silver III, where my first 3 wins gave me 275, 322 and 644 focus points. Once I achieved the winning streak, the RP was mind-blowing... above 1000 and even an record-breaking 2645 focus points!

Took me a while to understand the mechanics and in the first season with the new reward system I earned only 12 chests. The reward for daily focus was above 12 chests as well, which made me think that this new system can be even more profitable.

Started the second season with a single goal, to progress to Silver III as quick as possible. I was lucky to have Fire Focus in day one, one of my strongest splinters, and gained four chests while climbing through the ranks. Earth focus on day two, and another four chest added to the season tally!

The daily chests are linked to the previous season ranking, with higher chances for better cards if you finished the last season on a higher place. Got good cards as daily rewards and I was looking forward to the end of the season.

The new approach was both efficient and rewarding, reaching 27 reward chests with few hours before the end of the season. With the old system, I was usually getting 9 or 12 seasonal reward chests.

Pushed a bit in the last hours for another chest, and got 9 cards and a pack from 28 unwrapped gifts. The DEC rewards where low but at least I got a fresh batch of Legendary Potions.

My May reward was as good as March and April together, with 49 chests and 17 cards. The season didn't overlapped the month perfectly so some of the chests will show in the June summary.

Along the new changes, I noticed a diversification in daily focus missions, with a choice of abilities as well. The first focus that used abilities was Defend, with the use of Shield or Repair as the battle criteria.

The newest change was the dual-battle type, users being able to use between Modern and Wild. The Wild Ranked System allows players to play with any cards from any collection.

This is much similar to the Hearthstones battle system, as the Modern Ranked limits the players choice to the newest sets. The battle-masters can use only core, reward, promo cards from Chaos Legion and Untamed. 

I am nearly half way from my goal ... unwrapping 100 Chaos Legion packs. I am in a journey to boost my Splinterlands deck and I am slowly getting more packs to open. Sometimes I get top cards like Hunter JARX ... badasss Gold Foil Epic Hunter JARX! The card brings heat, costing only 6 mana for 7 health points and 3 ranged damage. Check out Splinterlands Boost - 40 Chaos Legion packs opened until today

Residual Income:

Join Biswap

Join Binance

Join Crypto.com

Hive Blogging - LeoFinance, Peakd, etc

Join Splinterlands!

Join the CakeDeFi revolution and get $30 worth of DeFiChain (DFI)

Amazon author page: PV Mihalache

Quality Faucets: Free-Litecoin , FreeBitcoin & Stakecube

Tier 4 referral system: Horizen (ZEN) & ZCash from PipeFlare GlobalHive

FreeCryptos GangDASH, TRX, ETH, ADABNBLINKNEOBTC LTC

I earn crypto for reading and writing on Publish0x and ReadCash, watching videos on Lbry.tv and surfing online on Brave Browser and PresearchIs the new reward system just for OGs? The Splinterlands Trial of Valor

14
$ 6.15
$ 5.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Crackers
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 6
Sponsors of PVMihalache
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Get in early, always the best case - but not the only way to earn.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't know bout this stuff..only know Valor (Happyboy) 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I mean, for what it's worth I do believe the OGs should earn the bulk of it, they invested way more than the newbies. Those who take the brunt of the risk and do the brunt of the investment should reap additional rewards. It becomes even more true in this model because not only are people investing their money (tokens) they are investing their time as well. Cheers

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes but .... the price of cards were 10 times lower before the SPS airdrop and the bloom of Splinterlands. Summoners were about $0.50 and now some are even few hundreds

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, but the game was just local to the steem blockchain in the beginning and had a shoddy player base, early adopters should be rewarded.

I see it kinda like the whitelist process of some tokens. You buy tokens ultra-cheap, the problem is you don't know if the project picks up... but then when it does you bought it for so low you 10x your money no problem.

Early always beats anything else in crypto.

Well, thought-provoking piece mate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I started one year ago (only) and I know when I am playing an OG because I am getting smashed :))

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, true, that takes the fun away.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for renewing your sponsorship PVM!!! 😊🍻

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just paying back the initial support!

$ 0.05
1 year ago

As I've always said, Splinterlands writers earn more than Splinterlands gamers!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To be honest that's 90% true. Those that joined early earned a lot, later joiners not so much

$ 0.00
1 year ago