How do YOU relax?

12 35
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

One of the best ways to motivate yourself for subsequent efforts and days ahead is to find a good day to relax.

Deviating from popular opinion, my leisure time usually happens on Monday Nights. There's no dispute that Monday is one of the most annoying and stressful days in the week, so I figured I'd make the evenings an escape from the crushing strain put on my body by the lecture and activities of that day.

As soon as I get to my apartment, I leave my shoes in a haphazard manner on the little veranda as I rush to my bed, seeking its warm embrace after such a long day. I'm not one to indulge in daily siestas (honestly, cut the crap with all that health and wellness, some of us have a lot of things to do), but it is mandatory for me to have at least an hour of sleep on A Monday evening, especially since I return from school at 3:00pm.

I'm usually awake by 4:30 to 5:00, and then I'm hungry. Unfortunately, cooking isn't my forte, as I'm more or less considered a threat in the kitchen. So as usual, I end up eating out. Most times it's usually Jollof Rice, a popular food in West Africa. It's Rice cooked in tomato stew and ingredients.

Don't ask me how I know this, knowing how to cook and actually doing it right are two different things.

I've actually thought of posting one of my cooking disasters in one of the recipe groups on Read.Cash, but they're looking for good food, not effective poison. :D

Most times, I usually have what I want to eat in mind: a craving. It can be roasted plantains and fish, noodles, or just bread and a cola. Other times, I like to surprise myself, going for the first thing I see that appeal to my eyes, taste buds, and doesn't look like it'll wage a war in my stomach. I guess that's where cooking by yourself one-ups eating out.

The rest of my Monday Evenings are spent at my friends' apartment. Chiagor and Dozie (Never bothered to know their English names; why are boys like this?) roommates and are in the same department at me. While I'm thee, we usually do a few things:

  1. Bet on football matches. It's common among boys. We do it for fun, and just to ry our luck (which considering our luck, is terrible).

  2. Devise strategies to talk to girls (that we never use) so as to see who gets a girlfriend first (a bet no one's likely to win).

  3. Tease ourselves. Three of us are legends in banter in some respects, so this is mainly about one of our failed effort to talk to girls.

  4. Have discussion group sessions with some of our other colleagues. You really can't expect us to while away all that time (but if you did, you really wouldn't miss the mark.)

  5. Argue about football, girls (I know, we talk way too much about girls, but we're young adults, what did you expect?), music tastes, and basically every topic there is.

In their company, I find myself taking more of a Creative Problem Solver (CPS) role. I always have to look for damage-minimizing. clever ways to end their arguments which happen, well, all the time.

Chiagor and Dozie are both cool, but they mostly have a mild cat-and-dog relationship. Their arguments are never serious, but they're always arguing because they have directly opposite habits. Chiagor is more conservative: Catholic to the bones, Knight in shining armor and an all-round Mr. Nice Guy, with a slight touch of liberal. Dozie is fully liberal, and is a free spirit with his thoughts and beliefs.

In a nutshell, there's very little these two can agree on. I am just there to balance the rift as someone who cares about everything and about nothing at the same time.

The day ends more or less the same way it began: We all head into the school campus for a night-time experience, and either go to the study halls to read, or to the game halls to watch the football matches and watch our bets all work out, or end in an epic fail, laughing out loud at each other.

______________________________________

It took 17 minutes ;)

I'm sorry but I had to finish this freewrite, although I'm not sure what category to put it in. I guess it is a freewrite using the prompts, and doubles as a diary.

If you think this is great, you'll be thrilled to read the story I'm working on:

Taken

Taken 2

This series are good too, if you're interested in a good laugh:

Streets of Africa

8
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @marblely
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Sure it is necessary

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am relaxing in the kitchen when I cook. Actually I released my first cooking article at read.cash I am a proud potato

$ 0.00
3 years ago

LOL Good for you then !

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks, me William Shakespeare wanna be, just from cooking side!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are One of the many good writers I've seen here in ReadCash.. I cannot finish this but you know what.. I think I really need a day to relax.. My baking business is killing me again 😅..

I'm looking forward to read your articles as soon as I'm able to get back to normal

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks a lot for the compliment. I really think you should relax, it does tons of good for you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I suppose your way of relaxing is similar to a majority of guys. I reax by messing with my sisters or by building figures

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Messing with my sister is a suicide mission.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very true

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah really? She's that scary??? My sisters fear me 😂 so it makes my life fun

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, it is a rewrite and if your time is up you can write"time is up continued after 10 minutes". If it comes to free writing you can write for 5 minutes, 10 or 15 too. We just do it for 10 here because 5 is not much for most mobile phone users and I like to read more than two sentences. Ten minutes is good for at least 200+ words.

👍🍀💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks! Glad to know this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago