Is school really a scam?

0 22
Avatar for Oluwa_damilare
2 years ago

Good evening everyone, it's great being here again after a long stressful day. I hope you all had a great day? Today was full of activities for me, my departmental freshers had a match I needed to supervise and I'm glad the boys did us really proud, their second win in two games. That's a very good form if you ask me.

To my future sponsors, I say Thank you...

Sponsors of Oluwa_damilare
empty
empty
empty

Is school really a scam?...

This is a question that comes to everybody's mind when our efforts are being frustrated just because we're trying to get educated. Have you ever wondered? Well, I have and that's the present state at which my mind is right now.

Asuu has been on strike for over two weeks now, all lectures are put on hold. There is infact no academic activity going on in the campus, everywhere is just clique of students making jest or heading to the football field. It now seems like no one really cares about our future anymore, the government isn't taking the strike as a threat, they're taking it with a hand of levity to know how much our education is meaningless to them.

I've come this far as a student and I have come to realize that in Africa or let me say Nigeria in particular, obtaining a certificate is just something you have to do because of the ways our system is. Our parents force us to go to school even when we do not feel like being a student. I can't really blame them, who would allow his or her child go into football in a country that doesn't have plans for their players?

In much more developed countries, they do not constrain their wards to only education because that is not the only way to succeed in life. Infact, most of our inventors were either dropouts or students that were just really involved in research and probably read some books to compliment their research. I have come to my conclusion that they reason behind the hype of education is totally uncalled for.

Education is not a certificate to making it in life, it's just a channel you can trace your path to whenever things do not seem right. I have asked a lot of my senior colleagues who graduated from my department about their career, and what I could notice was that 70% of them are not doing anything related to their course of study. Some of them even told me that their stay in the university was to meet the right people that can pave way for whatever career you have chosen.

My conclusion

Your GP is important to build in the university because that score paves way for you as a student even if what you're doing is not related to your course of study. School is not scam, it is a place you're meant to make the right connection and meet the necessary people that can pave way for you in life.

Do not forget to subscribe if you liked this, hit the like button too and make a comment...

Thanks 😊

5
$ 2.91
$ 2.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Carefree_youth
$ 0.02 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 1
Sponsors of Oluwa_damilare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oluwa_damilare
2 years ago

Comments