Poetry.

33 69
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago
Topics: Poetry, Life, Poem, Blogging, Nigeria, ...

Image Source.

I love my poems in simple form as most would have noticed and that's what I want people to relate to the most. I want people to understand in simple terms and then explain it the way they can in their heads and on their terms. I like making it relatable and with rhymes too. It doesn't have to be complicated and with big words. Most people run away from reading poems because they feel they are confusing but I always make mine simple, fun and enjoyable too.

Here are some of the poems I've shared before now:

Narrow.

Slightly comfortable or rather uncomfortable,

with memories of pain and travail, unforgettable,

A rough ride on the tough path,

just to be a diamond in the rough,

Are there no shortcuts to these things?

Shortcuts do exist but

with the power to also cut the glory short.

Shortcuts do exist but

why waste time on fleeting pleasures?

To take the medal before anyone

and also lay the baton before everyone

Not even swiftness and speed can aid on this road,

but steadiness and readiness shall prevail

with focus, no man shall fail,

doggedness is required for this journey,

weakness and tiredness are never options

The road is narrow but then,

the burden is light,

never say you weren't considered on this path,

If the road is narrow and you still have a heavy burden,

then we can judge it as inconsiderate,

but with the level of consideration put in place,

finishing the race should be your goal

Watch Out For You Too.

You've lived your life trying to make others like you

You modelled your life hoping you can be like them since you can't beat them

You crave acceptance so much that you altered yourself

You altered yourself so much you forgot who you are

You are a shadow of yourself and felt unnoticed

Unnoticed like a book left on the shelf for too long

You altered yourself just so you can fit in

A round peg in a square hole and you wondered why you were not enough

You can't be enough because you left who you are for who you are not

You wanted the approval of others over your sense of worth

It's not selfishness to watch out for yourself too, everyone does that

They picked themselves over you, so why pick them over yourself?

Wondered who others look out for in a group picture?

Of course, each one for himself or herself

You are important and you matter too, never forget that

Everyone else is taken so why not stay true to yourself too?

Know the value of yourself and your opinion too, give no discount

When you sell yourself short, don't feel bad when they undervalue you

We accept the love and value we think we deserve

You get treated just the way you treat yourself and that's life

Have I?

Have I told you how impressed I am with you?

How despite all the things thrown at you, you came out better

You were not defined by the things you went through

You rather turned it around and brought lessons out of them

Have I told you how much I love you?

You don't have to be perfect for me to love you

I just need to tilt the scale and watch how it swings

But the good parts swing better than the bad parts

Have I told you how impressed I am with you?

How everything you heard didn't change how you feel

You choose to walk by sight and not what others say

You choose to judge based on what you know and see which is smart

Have I told you how beautiful you look always?

It's not just about your appearance but the state of your heart

Your heart speaks of kindness and they match your words

Your words match your actions and what else can I say?

It's okay to make people feel appreciated when we noticed the things they do

We are too quick to drag people down then they err

Why not keep the same energy and praise them when they do well?

Life is about focus and what we focus on is what gets magnified

Couldn't Expect Better.

Efforts but with little energy,

at some point, no effort could be seen in the line

and energy went down the drain.

Enthusiastic was I when it all started

but then, what could have gone wrong?

Procrastination on a daily basis

was what I fed my new passion with,

I will do it later and later

until it finally became too late,

too late that even the passion I had, vanished.

It all vanished into the thin air

till deadlines couldn't be met

assignments became dead on the line

and buried into the grave of failure

and decayed and rotted till it became nothing.

I couldn't have expected better,

since I took back the effort that was

supposed to be invested in my passion,

I couldn't have expected better,

since the energy went to the drain

since the inception of my passion.

I was served with what I deserved,

a certified lazy human, I became,

disapproved of the certificate,

I could have earned,

I move on to the next, hoping I will be better

and someday, be the best.

I am not my poem. I don't write based on what I go through mostly but what I have observed. I am a strategic thinker, so I mostly think outside the box. I am stating this so no one would think what I share always relates to what I am going through.

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. 🙈

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

22
$ 3.11
$ 2.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @Pantera
$ 0.06 from @Princessbusayo
+ 10
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago
Topics: Poetry, Life, Poem, Blogging, Nigeria, ...

Comments

Wow, you are very good with your pen Mr. Square, I had fun reading all.. Though I had more fun reading, watch out for you too, couldn't expect better, and have I.

And I do agree, that poems are meant to be written In simple languages which can easily be understood by the readers instead of big grammar.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you so much, Balikis. I am happy you enjoyed them. I love making it simple so nothing would be lost in translation and I enjoy doing that with the rhymes too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, nothing is lost here for I found them enthralling.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, baby.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are welcome love😘.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😘😘😘😘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤤🤤🤤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really enjoy the poetry. Watch out for you too is where I pick out some important tips.

You are important and you matter too, never forget that. - Yes most people would always forget this fact in a haste.

Know the value of yourself and your opinion too, give no discount. -When the value of a thing is unknown abuse is inevitable. When a person doesn't do his or her value people will always abuse them so is better we know what we worth.

When you sell yourself short, don't feel bad when they undervalue you

We accept the love and value we think we deserve Thanks for coming with this friend.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I'm glad you enjoyed all these bits from it. Poems are expressive, relatable and in few words, a lot can be said. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is what I love about writing. We can confuse people and make them think that we are going through something based on our outputs. Wonderful poems Ola!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

She said confuse people 😂😂🤣😂😂😂. Yes, a poet can assume want character as long as it is felt deeply.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very inspiring in deed the poems are. Lots of positivity in your poem.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much. I am grateful for that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You write very good poems. Every poem has motivational words and many motivational words are in your poems. How many can express themselves through poetry like this.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I'm glad you enjoyed it. I always love expressing myself in poems...few words with not too much explanation. I love it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love that narrow poem. The shortcut will surely cut the glory short. Many don't know this, I wish those people after the pleasure of life can read this and they will learn that the cut short is surely a way to destruction.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

My brother, that's so true. Short cuts would always have repercussions. It might look fast but it won't last.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes many could relate to the poems especially me who have been through a lot lately

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Whatever you are going through, I need you to know it won't always rain...there will be sunshine soon. 🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much 💓

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Anytime. You will be fine. Keep pushing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha it's funny coz people mostly think what you are writing is the reflection of yourself but there are things we write but not necessarily mean we live on it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly, Eby... That's the power of a poet...we can assume different characters and what we write doesn't have to be about us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am stating this so no one would think what I share always relates to what I am going through.

Thank God you quickly voice out because I don think my KP is going through something I don't know of 🤣🤣🤣🏃🏃🏃🏃🏃

I love your poems. So simple and the message is passed across.

Those poems already explains it all, and we can see it everywhere. People are going through different things and we need to remember we are who we are. Let's appreciate ourselves more and never seek approval from anyone.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Exactly what I was gonna say.. But thank God he made it known on time

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha you people should be calming down o

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Don't mind him 😂😂

Thank God it's not only me that thinks it that way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You always think nonsense before but I forgive you 🤣🤣😂😂.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha I get it a lot when people think it's about me. Sometimes I write about love poems and they think I am having eyes for someone or it's about wifey. I like putting myself in people's shoes to feel what they feel which makes it easier for me to express what I feel through them.

Thank you so much, KP for that. You are always awesome.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😎😎😎😍😍😍

It's good. You are just too good, always.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yaaaaaay. Thanks sweet KP.

$ 0.00
1 year ago