It's Not Rehearsed.

28 60
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Image Source.

No pain cuts so deep as the one where you lose a loved one. You have memories flowing in your head all at once. You feel overwhelmed with the emotions and you get lost in the moment.

I visited a family many years ago that lost the head of their family; the father. It was a dull gathering with everyone trying to deal with the pain in the best way possible. We all have ways in which we deal with pains; some will retreat into a corner, some will sit down openly and cry silently while some would wail, some would prefer to go into their closet and weep silently while some would wail, and some would love to be distracted, trying to suppress the pain by doing something else. There is no easy way to deal with pain anyway. A lot of people try to deny the pain sometimes, they act like it wasn't there so they bury it with activities.

I walked in and I could see eyes that have been soaked in tears, with no end to the pain in sight. Their eyes gave way to the pain and it was obvious for all to see. They tried so much to push it aside with all of their might but the pain was so obvious to see. I lost words to comfort them but I try to remind them what it means to smile again. Maybe seeing me gave them hope because one of the children saw me, and hugged me. I understand that kind of hug...it's a deep one that tells me "I need your strength" - the kind of hug that took me back in time, a reminder of the battles I fought and overcame too. She hugged me so tight as if she was telling me, "Wow, so this was what you went through too?" Like she understood better.

She tried to see the positive side to it because she could see how strong I came out after losing both parents. She tried to console herself that she still has a mother, at least. I love that kind of thinking and energy. It makes it easier to deal with and it's not about hiding it but focusing on the blessing you still have left.

I remembered mine so vividly and the memories came back. The pain and aches I felt when dad passed away. The uncontrollable tears and screams I gave and the efforts of 3 people trying to keep me still but they failed at it. The strength I showed in keeping 3 people away from pinning me down was surprising. You never know your true strength until something that will bring it out happens.

When mum left too, I thought I could handle things better based on how I must have been used to dad’s demise, but no, I kind of lost it. I tried running after a car that was taking her to the clinic with my barefoot. Most people held me back thinking I have gone crazy and the more I tried explaining that I am fine, the more they think I was living in denial, so I just kept quiet, went back to the house and started crying. It was hard to explain myself without shoes and I pulled them off to make me catch up with the car because I wanted to be there but no...everyone thought I was losing it. I went upstairs, I just knelt and started praying with tears in my eyes but my spirit already told me she was gone.

When I went for my Uncle’s burial too, I seemed to be the only one crying during the wake keep. I practically cried all through but when it got to the internment, I just stood there without crying but rather comforting the wife and the children. We deal with pain differently and we show grief differently too.

When we see people trying to deal with pain the way they think best, the best we can do is to show support to them. Many would cry for days, some would cry for just a few hours, and some might even act strong but revert to their closet living in denial. There is no easy way to deal with grief. Stop trying to invalidate how others feel even if you don't understand. It's when you don't understand you should keep quiet and support instead. You can never know how deep the pain runs for someone who lost a friend, a brother, a sister, a mother, a father or a close family member.

Often I have seen those who say they can’t run but in the face of potential danger, they didn’t only run, but they fled. There is a level we would get to that only some situations can provoke. We never really know our true strength until life happens.

Just a few hours after people left when dad died and we were all alone in the house with some friends, my second brother tried to distract himself by playing Grand Theft Auto and I just stood there watching him while I was "gone". I was asking myself how he could even be playing a game at such a time but I later got to know that was his way of dealing with it so he won't break down. He needed a distraction and it doesn't mean he loved dad less. As I said, there is no easy way in dealing with pains as the pain goes deeper into your system, with tons of memories you have shared with that person flooding in.

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. 🙈

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

17
$ 2.93
$ 2.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 6
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Comments

@olasquare may there soul continue to rest on in peace, It pains lose someone who is so dearing to you, I could remember when death took away friend, I was totally down, sometimes when I talk about her tears still drops down my eyes.You know sometimes I wish God could bring her back to life, anyway God knows the best.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I can relate to it. Yes, the closest we can be with them right now would be with the memories we have forged. Keep being strong.

$ 0.00
1 year ago
$ 0.00
1 year ago

[spam]

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sorry about what happened my friend olasquare. I'm really emotional while I'm reading this. Even they are not with you now I'm sure they are happy of what you are right now my friend olasquare. They still guide you in life.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you so much. Yes, I believe they are also with me and watching around too. I deeply appreciate this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're always welcome my friend. Yes my friend that's true.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you. Do have a wonderful day and stay safe, please.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome my friend. You too have a wonderful day and always take care. Thank you my friend olasquare. ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't help but to feel emotional while reading..I suddenly remember that my parents are getting old🥺🥺.

That is why I hate attending wakes and burials. I could not stand seeing people in pain..I am not in comforting in words, so I am thinking they might misinterpret me like I don't care.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Yeah, emotions are always heightened and those who lose someone would want to latch on to anything especially words of comfort. It's scary to think of losing our loved ones as they age. I wish your parents more strength to keep going strong.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Death is the highest inevitable fear...no matter how we think we are strong...it pulls one down...for me I can isolate my self...all folded up....lost in thoughts....wonder aside this what's the worst thin so far!...it's what we would face sometime in our life. The only thing I would love to keep aside my dam or friends who mourn is to see the beautiful side of me...

$ 0.03
1 year ago

We usually don't have control of that emotion when it hits us. Everyone would have to deal with it at some point. It's rarely easy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't know why but I'm always emotional when it comes to death. It's the pain of losing my loved ones still hurts. No matter how long it was. We remember them still. We still regret some things. And we love them forever. ❤❤❤

$ 0.03
1 year ago

That's so true, momma. It doesn't matter how long they stay or how old they are, we still want them close. The pain of losing them cannot be described.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The pain of losing a loved one is understood by those who have lost them. After the death of my father, I understood what is suffering. I still miss a lot

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Only those who have lost someone can understand and you really understand with your late dad. Sorry about your dad... Just keep pushing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True. We are unique and we can't expect others to grieve the same way as us. We don't have the same way of managing pain.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, we don't feel the same way or have the same experiences. We deal with things differently.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have always said that I can't be so emotional that I will be crying so much when such happen until recently when my dad fell sick of stroke. I cried blood looking him in that state that he was. I couldn't think of how I am seeing him in that state as a normal thing. Even til now, I still cry in my closest whenever I look at him deeply.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I can relate to that feeling. We never really know what we can do until the reality hits us. There is no right or wrong way to grieve at all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When we lost our beloved one. Exactly they lice in our good part memories. Hence I consider people's character didn't die, they alive in terms of good behavior and thinking.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I love how you said it...they live with us. Their character stays with us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Distractions are often made just to let tears not to fall.. I do that too a lot of time. But it doesn't mean I have no emotions at all.. I just don't want to look weak in the eyes of others..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I can relate to that, Janey especially when we lost our first child at birth. I was acting strong for her, I didn't want to look weak to others but the moment I went home to change, I sat at the kitchen door and WEPT! After 5 minutes or so, I was done, picked myself up, had my bath, picked up a few things she needed and went back to the hospital.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh sorry to know that uncle....it isn't easy for a parent to lose a child. I've seen that to my mother when my little brother died.but she can't hold her emotions.. It took a while before she accepted his death...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, Janey. It always take a while to accept the reality of things. I am deeply sorry about your little brother. It always hit us hard.

$ 0.00
1 year ago