Give Me Character, Please.

54 79
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Image Source.

There was a time a lady walked past me and a guy while we were discussing and the guy beside me muttered, "This lady is beautiful". I heard him and I smiled slightly. I knew he would bring it up again because he is the type that would always go over stuff in excitement. He looked at me and said, "Can’t you see how beautiful that lady is?". I said, yes, I can see she is beautiful but I know too much to get excited over beauty on the outside. He must have been expecting that response anyway because he knows me and as usual, he heaved a sigh. He looked at me nonetheless and he said again, "But she is beautiful".

I told him I wasn’t disputing that fact but often many people; both men and women have gotten themselves into trouble because they were focusing on the outside rather than on the inside. The outward is addition and should never be the major thing to look out for. Of course, who wouldn’t love to date someone whose beauty can put nature to shame or a guy that is tall, muscular and handsome? The truth is, it is important but should never be the only condition to decide that someone is beautiful.

A lot of people have endured things they shouldn't all because of "Oh, he is handsome" or "She's such a beauty". When the reality of life hits you, you will know better than to go for someone with good character that would support you rather than JUST a pretty/handsome face.

Beauty should both be on the inside and the outside. We all want to be better but tell me, is it not a misplaced priority when as a lady, all you are focused on is your outward looks and yet your state of mind is shallow? Is it not disappointing for a guy who keeps working on his muscles and yet his character is questionable? It is not beauty that keeps people in a relationship but how you treat them and how you treat them is a function of your character.

A lot of people look so flawless but their character is full of flaws. I'm not saying we should all be perfect but what I am saying is you will know a lot about someone with what they choose to invest in. Your beauty will draw people to you but your character would determine those who will stay with you.

I have seen a lot of guys move closer to a lady, and come back to me to tell me that the lady has no manners. I have seen a lot of ladies with beauty but yet they are full of pride. The more they draw people close, the faster they chase them away with their attitude. You are not expected to be perfect, but you are expected to at least try to be better than you were.

Beauty is important but your character is equally important. The greatest compliment you can receive from anyone isn’t about how handsome or beautiful you look, but how kind you are. Everyone loves a kind person because your kindness will always shine through and everyone would see your beauty in kindness.

Your attitude is another important thing to watch out for. You can admire people from the outside but that doesn’t mean they are wonderful in character. Fame doesn’t equal relevance, age doesn’t equal maturity, beauty is not equivalent to being wonderful, you speak Latin doesn't mean you know how to speak, because you took a vow doesn't mean you know how to love and because two lips met doesn't mean two hearts joined. We need to be able to tell the difference.

We always place more emphasis on beauty rather than character. We are moved by the things we see. Flashy and catchy things always get our attention. We have excused a lot of people from their shortfalls because they are pretty. Being beautiful or handsome gives you this confidence and draws people to you, yes, but never forget that it is your attitude that will determine who will stay after they have gotten to know you.

I will always pick character over beauty. I see beauty as a plus but please be a wonderful person first. Don't just be a container without content. As much as I will appreciate you being fine and classy (everyone knows I always post about beautiful people too, so yes, I have eyes for finer things and people) but I will respect you more when I notice what a wonderful character you have. Seek to be better and kind, see to see the best in others and be of help when and where necessary. The world could use more kind people...kind and full of values.

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. 🙈

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

20
$ 4.00
$ 3.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 12
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Comments

To me, if I refer to someone physically attractive I say pretty or gorgeous. I use beautiful to describe someone who is both beautiful inside and out. It is good that you are not a shallow person and you know what matters most.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I love that...when we say beautiful, it should be to describe the beauty in and out. Thank you for this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Most of the time I prefer people with beautiful hearts than just the skin deep definition. Beautiful should really be a package. Sometimes a beautiful heart can even overpower a beautiful look. The heart lasts longer than the face.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The heart lasts longer than the face. That's absolute truth there. Beauty should go beyond the skin. I absolutely agree too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We can often see that a good character builds beauty. A lack of good qualities surely damages the physical appearance.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I love this. Yes, a good character builds beauty and beauty is mostly from within. The outward is only a bonus.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would go for character and great attitude as well not so much with the outside beauty.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's the smartest thing to do. Beauty is a bonus.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I no longer pay attention to beautiful women because firstly; I have come across a lot of them over the years and secondly; some of them have very bad character. They think their beauty gives them a free-pass to be rude, and the worst thing is that most men will accept their rubbish and that in turn fuels their ego. Beauty without good character is wasted, anybody who is beautiful but has questionable character and attitude will suddenly become ugly in my eyes. You can't be beautiful and have bad character, they don't mix

$ 0.03
1 year ago

They don't mix at all and that's the truth. You are also right, it gets into their heads and make them think it's a free pass for them to be rude. It's quite sad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Inner beauty is constant while outer beauty changes as and when you get old.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I love how you put it...simple and nice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks brother.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤗🤗🤗 thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! What a coincidence, I just published an article titled "You got what you wanted but lost what you needed" that resonate with this article.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I must definitely read this. That's absolutely spot on.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And that is killing so many ladies and guys too oh I can't date ugly girl meanwhile the beautiful girl is so full of shit that you can't even explain, shit that you can't share with your friends all they see is the beautiful girl you are going out with not knowing you are facing a lot because of her

Someone once told me that she can date a guy who is ugly and yet she's complaining of them been too rude anytime she finds one they always end up fighting because all she wanted is the handsomeness forgetting the beauty inside of them

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Beauty is of the inside. We have messed up the world so much that we shifted the standard from what matters to what doesn't matter. It's okay to be beautiful but what's beauty without a corresponding good behaviour?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wonder o 🤷

$ 0.00
1 year ago

E choke 🤣🤣😂. They will be alright.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will always pick character over beauty.

This is the same comment that I had in torum. In my part, I do the same. I'll pick character over beauty because for me physical appearance is just useless if what's inside is exactly the opposite. So I'm always looking in someone is his/her beautiful character. Having a beautiful heart or character is what makes a person truly beautiful.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Having a wonderful heart is what makes people truly beautiful...I absolutely agree with that. It's pointless to be beautiful on the outside only to be ugly on the inside.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here! I would always go for the character rather thay beauty! I sometimes dislikes those who are boastful just they are that "look" but deep inside they are too shallow

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Shallow... That's the word... So many people are beautiful without any substance on the inside.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In today's age, people judge more by looking at the external aspect. People should not be judged by their external appearance. People are beautiful on the outside but many are bad on the inside .

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's the world we live in...we place more emphasis on how people look than the value they possess.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have shattered so many beautiful people attitude with my no reaction to them, lmao. I can glance at a beauty once but a wonderful person will get more glances from me, it's just kind of natural for me. Even once I encountered a female celebrity on a random trip, my friends decided to meet her as she was doing a sudden fan meetup and while my friends were taking shots with her she was looking at me like do you also need a selfie. I said no, lol the look on her face was hilarious.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

😂😂😂😂🤣🤣🤣 you humbled the celebrity. I encountered one during the election period at the polling booth too. I looked at her but I didn't even move close to her as others were doing.

I love how you said it, beautiful or wonderful person on the inside would always get more glances from us than just a pretty face.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A good is example are the ladies going to the popular Reality TV show- BBN. Some are beautiful physically but have an awful character.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ah. Those ones? They are terrible. Terrible and desperate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Instead of focusing on beautifying oneself, better focus on how to get a prettier character..beauty fades over time, but a good character lasts for a lifetime 😊.. Something that will be remembered by the people around us..

$ 0.03
1 year ago

It's the character that matters and you are so right, Janey. That's what we should be remembered for; our character...the help we offer not just only the pretty face.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Beauty will always take the princess to the palace but it is her character that would determine her staying. Though beauty and handsome will attract everyone at first place but it is the character that will determine if the person will stay long in the place. My mother once advice me to go for a good character rather than beauty. The so call beauty will fade away one day and it is only the character that will remain. So I am in the same page with you friend. I also need character.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I am glad we share the same sentiment, my friend. We should always go for the character because that's what means a lot in the long run.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A lot of people look appealing and attractive until you got access to how they think. Sometimes the attitude ruins our first impressions.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Attitude has ruined a lot of first impressions so much that we have zero regards for their cuteness.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No one is perfect,but most important is we respect and care for each other.dont matter the beauty on the outside look or an appearance of a person because this will fade when gets old.the true beauty is you know how to humble yourself and live with a good pride at all.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Humility is a beauty from within and that's what I look forward to seeing in people first. I don't appreciate those who are prideful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are not expected to be perfect, but you are expected to at least try to be better than you were.

I love that phrase and that should be our work in progress.

I asked a friend what his taste is in a lady and he said “a lady who is understanding, has trust, a supporter, and a home maker. What is beauty without brain?”

Looking at physical look is good, but not to the extent of losing focus on the inner nature of a person.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Your friend is smart. He knows there is more to life than pretty face. For you to ask that question, is he a potential suitor, KP? 😉😉😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂😂 Strategic thinker

Still watching him. Though, he is kinda shooting his shot to me. 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha that shot enh... We will deliberate on that later o...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What we fail to know is that the beauty will fade away one day and once the beauty is no longer there, what gain do we stand to have? We should always know about ones character before we can go deep into them about their beauty and all.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly. The beauty will fade and it's the character we have built over time that would determine our journey going forward.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True my friend. The real beauty is seen inside. The behavior, the attitude, it's the true beauty not on the physical.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

The real beauty is within but it's scary how most people focus on the outwards alone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes that's true my friend olasquare. Mostly people focus only what they seen from outside.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes and it's totally wrong. We are judging based on the wrong standard.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my friend olasquare. That's why me I'm chosing a guy that has a plan in our future.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a smart thing to do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you my friend. ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Attitude over physique 💚 Character will last but physical beauty fades. 💞

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes dear, the physical beauty will fade away eventually. It's attitude over beauty.

$ 0.00
1 year ago