Football Recap - English Premier League.

18 58
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

I think I am cutting off some football lovers which is unfair hahaha. So, I guess once in a week, I will be doing a football recap which would come up on Sundays. I am a big fan of football and it's good to see @George_Dee dedicate so much time to football over the weekend too, to the extent he forgot to make a post and do his laundry haha. As you can see, I am making this post late too because I watched football all day too. What a busy day of enterprise 😂😂🤣😂.

When you wake me up and ask me to do football analysis, I would do it with my eyes closed. It's something I am passionate about and for those who have read my posts before now, you would know I said I wanted to be a footballer but no thanks to my dad.

Liverpool v Burnley:

The weekend of football started with Liverpool v Burnley. No doubt, Burnley are always tough but Liverpool showed class and resilience in pulling through on this day. My admiration for Diogo Jota knows no limit because, despite his size, he causes havoc for any defence. With his small frame, he still managed to head the ball into the back of the net after creating space for himself in the box and Mane's half volley did the damage for a stubborn Burnley who tried to cause Liverpool a lot of problems but lacked the finishing touches.

Liverpool started the season well and would want to forget their struggles last season and they are showing more grit, determination and precision. They have added a few young guys to their ranks and they are showing promising signs too. With Virgil Van Dijk back into contention, they can hope to concede less.

Leeds v Everton:

I thoroughly enjoyed this match. I watched this instead of Manchester City v Norwich because I knew that would be a one-directional game. Leeds succumbed to a 5-1 thrashing at the hands of Manchester United on the opening game of the season and desperately needed a win but with Rafa Benitez's men determined to impress their new boss, I knew it would be a cracker.

Everton got the lead from the penalty spot when Calvert-Lewin won a penalty and also converted it. Leeds responded and Klich dragged his side back into contention. Everton went ahead again through Gray after he brilliantly worked the ball inside the box before Rafinha produced a stunner and possibly a contention for the goal of the week with an exquisitely executed goal. The game ended 2-2 as they settled for a shared point.

Manchester City v Norwich:

After losing to Tottenham on the opening game of the season, City were determined to get back to winning ways and they put Norwich to the sword with their clinical goal. Norwich were given no chance at all as City dominated the game on all fronts. It's a harsh introduction into the Premier League for Norwich who lost their first game to Liverpool and now losing again to City. They would need more effort if they are to stay in the Premier League but it's a long season, so let's hope they can do just enough to stay in there.

City didn't hold back and thrashed Norwich 5-0 with a Tim Krul own goal, Jack Grealish getting a lucky goal too as the ball came off him, Laporte firing home inside the box too and two substitutes registering their marks too; Sterling and Mahrez.

Southampton v Manchester United:

This was probably the most disappointing one for me being a Manchester United fan. We lacked urgency and we were sloppy as well as being slow with our game pattern. It was frustrating to watch but Southampton showed they wanted the game more than United.

After losing their first game of the season, Southampton came determined to get at least a point on their home soil and they did. Fred's own goal gave them the lead before Mason Greenwood dragged United back into the game but United couldn't build on it and they played in sharp contrast to their opening game performance against Leeds. Southampton looked more threatening despite United controlling the game earlier. Southampton snapped out of it and almost got the winning goal with threatening situations.

United have no excuse this time around and with how good they were on the road last season, I would expect them to build on it but they have so many contenders this season for the title so they cannot afford to slack off.

Arsenal v Chelsea:

As expected, I didn't expect this Arsenal side to mount any problem for Chelsea. Even though they surprised me in the second half but it was obvious that it was because Chelsea had already done their job in the first half with goals from their new boy; Romelu Lukaku and Reece James.

Lukaku in his second stint with Chelsea showed how improved his game had gotten as he was not only taking on chances but was also creating for his teammates. He should have gotten a brace if not for the brilliance of Leno in goal.

I feel Arsenal got their priorities wrong by splashing that amount of money on a goalkeeper that would probably be a second choice when there are areas of concern to address with the players at their disposal. They could have gotten a proper center forward with a few more addition to the money but it is understandable, they have lost that attraction to get any serious-minded player who is hungry for trophies.

Chelsea are doing incredibly well under Thomas Tuchel because they have only lost thrice in 21 games and this is the first time Arsenal would lose two of their opening games without also scoring. It's a long road ahead for Arsenal and moments of excitement to come for Chelsea with their star-studded team.

In other news, Nuno Espirito Santo won against his former side; Wolves with his new side; Tottenham Hotspur after Dele Alli's penalty was enough to get them the 3 points. Alli won and then converted the penalty. Harry Kane was on the substitute bench too and came on later on. He should have scored too but he was denied by the goalkeeper. It remains to be seen whether he would stay or go since the transfer market is still actively open.

Which team do you support and which game was your pick of the weekend? West Ham would be taking on Leicester City tomorrow and both teams won their opening game of the season. A draw might be a fair result for both but I know they would both want to win.

Thank you for your time.

11
$ 6.80
$ 6.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @Princessbusayo
+ 6
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

The match of last weekend was hectic. I truly appreciate their courage on winning arsenal. Over the years, arsenal has been defeating Chelsea but that Gene has been broken.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Chelsea played so well...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to watch football games years ago and had been rooting for RM back then. Haven't watched any game for over 10 years I guess, so everything seems foreign to me now, lol!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha Real Madrid got a soft spot in my heart too due to the prestige of their jersey and their history.

Farm Boy is the only football you watch now hahaha and your favourite football club too; Farm Lovers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, you cracked me up! 2 people can't be a football team, lol! But yes, I don't remember when was the last time I enjoyed watching football. I did root for MU too :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha with your team with Farm Boy, you are more than a football team hahaha.

Yaaaaay! I hope I can bring the passion back for you hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! I hope so :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😍😍😍🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have done a great work man thanks so much for the update, it's really nice and we look up to seeing more this every Sunday.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks a lot for this. Deeply appreciated and more to come.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

After the stunt Manchester United pulled last weekend, I was expecting something spectacular from them against Southampton but it looked like they scored the goals for two matches in one. I hope their coach knows what he is doing this season.

Congratulations to Lukaku for getting his first goal on his debut, it means a lot. Arsenal's loss wasn't surprising because they would end up in relegation someday if they continue like this.

Tottenham has been spectacular for me despite the difficulty they face in both matches, they have shown the zeal to win. Adams Traore really gave them a tough time today but the 3 point is all that matters at the end of 90 minutes.

For Liverpool, I wish them the best this season.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Your comment about Arsenal made me burst into laughter hahaha. That team enh...with their starting 11...trust me, they are not going anywhere. Relegation straight 🤣😂🤣😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks to you because I only scrolled to the end. I no understand anything. 😄😄😄 We will see on other posts I have interest in 🤣🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣😂😂🤣🤣😂 Busayo oooooo. Thanks for being here at least.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really enjoyed your write up bro. I'm a die hard Manchester United fan and I really don't understand why ole didn't start Sancho and Varane...the match was really disappointing to me because I expected Manchester United to beat Southampton at least 5 goals as we did to them last season but this is really bad.. it too early to start getting draws .this is a crucial moment of the league where teams want to perform thier best to get maximum points. But we still have better days ahead.

As for Arsenal I don't tell understand the club..but I hope they don't relagate this season..the early goal from Reece really brought the moral down. I think the Gunners need to put I'm more work , get new fast and strong midfeilders

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I understand that Varane cannot go straight into the line up and Sancho, as much as I like him, he is not giving the needed movement. Just see how he was static when he came on. The whole team lacked urgency and I was disappointed. Let's hope this draw would make them not relax if they felt winning against Leeds made them good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Southampton Vs Manchester United match was also a disappointment for me. The spoiled my ticket today. Chelsea made my day nevertheless

$ 0.02
2 years ago

So sorry about that. Yes, anytime and any day, Chelsea would thrash Arsenal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago