Be Effective, II.

18 47
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

I shared the first part of this title yesterday and for those who missed it, kindly read it here: Be Effective.

It's a continuation and it's easier to understand based on the title. I am explaining the importance of setting goals - the kind of goals to set and how to go about making an effective one that would keep us motivated rather than discouraged.

Image Source.

3 Many Don’t Follow The Principles Of Goal Setting:

There is a ‘how’ to do things. There is a ‘how’ to talk, ‘how’ to address situations, and there is a ‘how’ to set goals. Everything in life has its own principle that governs it, so you need to understand the principle that involves goal setting. Your goals must be Specific (Be clear about what you want to do), Measurable (State when and for how long you want to do it), Achievable (Must be something you know is not vague and it is achievable), Realistic (You don’t have to go too high, you need to be realistic about it) and of course, Timely (It has to be time bound). You need to take advantage of situations when setting goals. Your goals must be Situational, Motivational; (enough for you to go through with it every day you wake up), Attainable, Relevant (To your life and to other people’s lives) and it must be trackable. If you can’t track it, what’s the whole point?

4 Many Don’t Relate With It The Way They Ought To:

Many people just set goals for setting sake and they don’t show the grit, the determination and the seriousness in getting through with it. Imagine setting an alarm for 5am and when it rings, you keep hitting the snooze button. Many relate with their goals in like manner; they keep pressing the snooze button on what they can do and should do but time keeps going. We can't pause it. They usually say that motivation doesn't last just like bathing which is why it's recommended daily.

You need to show more seriousness to the goals you have set, only then can you get the best out of those goals enough to attain them. Many fail in their goal setting because they don’t have that favourable disposition towards it. If you don’t relate with your goals the way you ought to, you can’t get maximum result from your goals.

Why Should I Set Goals?

Image Source.

You might ask yourself, why do I need to set goals? What do I stand to gain in setting goals? I am someone that doesn’t like stress, so why do I need to set one? If these are the questions on your mind, then I will share with you 8 benefits of setting goals in life.

If you keep doing the things the way you are doing them, you can’t expect a different result.

1 Goals Help In Making Changes:

There is no denying the fact that we sometimes fall behind; life’s pressure sometimes and eventualities. We often lag behind but with setting of goals, we can make successive changes in areas of our lives where we have not achieved it yet. It pushes us to be better and enough to have things change from the normal norms.

You can think of an area in your life that you are not satisfied with and then make the desired change towards it. Many people feel they don’t read enough and information is power. The quality of information at your disposal will help you stay ahead in life. Set a goal to read a book once in a month and it has to be a relevant book that will add value to your life.

2 It Protects Us Against Procrastination:

Setting goals allows us to put important things first and cut unnecessary distractions. We have at one point or the other been guilty of procrastination, but with goals to attain, you tend to put important things first and deal with things with a bit more urgency. You can weigh your options better and it helps with making the right decisions by letting go of time wasting activities.

Procrastination is not only the thief of time; it is the assassination of idealism and talent destroyer as someone once said. I think Leke Alder or someone of worth too.

3 Moving In The Direction We Ought To Move:

We need to have direction in life. Once we have identified the direction we want our lives to go, we need to be intentional about it. With proper goal setting, we are already pointing the direction we want our lives to go. Goal setting is important as you push yourself, sell your dreams to others and everyone can see the direction you are going in life.

...to be continued...

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why  I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. 🙈

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash and Noise.App. I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with the accounts. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well.

Kindly click here:

Noise.Cash.

Noise.App.

12
$ 2.49
$ 2.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.06 from @Unity
+ 6
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Comments

I tried to set a realistic goal, but I often failed to achieve even a part of the goal. Now, I think of going into action impromptu.

Since yesterday, I have started to go Live and say something I think is worth discussing. Yesterday, it was hardly a minute. Yesterday, I attended a physical event in a faraway city. I returned around 10 PM. But I went on Live simultaneously on LinkedIn and Facebook. I was far from perfect. Have a look at my LinkedIn page if you have time!

Will you call it goal setting?

$ 0.03
1 year ago

What's the end goal of these webinar or live sessions? What are you trying to achieve and that's what would let us know if it's a goal or just a mere desire which you don't have intention of following through.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

The objective is to improve online and live communication with a professional.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's a goal...and you have to stick with it. There would be challenges with low turn out but keep at it. You need to break it down if it's a short term goal or a long term goal too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is a long-term goal.

I am getting many challenges. First is very LOW live attendance—secondly, the technological challenge of having a decent Internet connection. Thirdly, I have to overcome my incidental fear of speech disability.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tackle them one at a time. Don't try to solve them all at once...get another goal on how and when to tackle them...it's a goal within a goal.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks a lot for the interaction and the advice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No worries. Thank you too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha poor me I'm so guilty of setting a goal for the sake of having one 🤣 And lol and yes I keep putting an alarm and keep snoozing it. I think the goal is wake up the husband not me 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂😂🤣🤣😂🤣 wake up the husband hahahaha. Momma...you cracked me up on that one. Hahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That alarm clock analogy really hits hard because I'm very much guilty of such a behavior 😆.. whenever it rings at 5am, I wake up almost immediately, pick the phone up from the next pillow, snooze the alarm for another 30mins to 1hr( It depends), then I slid the phone under my bed and turn to the other side to continue sleep.... especially on weekends and public holidays 🤭🤭

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahahaha we are all guilty of that but the thing is, once we have a goal to achieve, naturally we would be fueled to get up and do the necessary. Imagine having an interview for 8 am... You will jump up without being told 🤣😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol. That's true. Infct I will wake up two hours before time. But since na weekend, make man daughter rest some more 🤭

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣😂🤣🤣😂. I don't bother with alarms over the weekend when I have nothing tangible to do other than football. One alarm shouldn't give me headache hahaha except I have things to do and achieve.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is really a great article, wen we are effective it makes us to stop procrastination

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Once we can take procrastination, we can achieve quite a lot more than we should.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The one most necessary thing which people dont have is direction once they have it right then they can achieve anything

$ 0.02
1 year ago

A lot of people are lacking in direction and without direction setting goals would be absolutely difficult.

$ 0.00
1 year ago