14 Years Without You...

6 64
Avatar for Olasquare
10 months ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Blog, Poetry, Family, ...

Another year without you mama...no touch, no hold

Every night seem to be colder without you, I am cold

It's 14 years now and counting since you left, leaving your clothes in fold

There is no denying how warm you can be...a human of treasure and gold

Time heals all wounds I've been told but how come this doesn't get healed with 14 years apart?

It gets better with time, every time I have been told

But this hasn't been easier because everything reminds me of you

What's Mother's Day without you to wish

I can't escape it even if I want to because everything points to you

There is no day that your presence isn't missed, - every single day

But there you are, six feets under... on the ground where you lay

Just as the last full month you spent 14 years ago was in May

You lived your life focused on God and what you can do, regardless of what others say

You decided to work for God and joined the choir in your old age

You sang your heart out to free yourself out of the cage

You knew...you felt anew and you definitely turned the new page

Your life is simple and you kept to yourself not wanting anyone to invade your space

I have that bit about you - me to myself and guiding my place

14 years ma...whooping 14 years, exactly today ma...exactly today. I don't get tired of writing and talking about you and dad. I wrote something similar to this some years back and I always find a way to tweak it and it still makes sense because I don't want to lose that bit part of the feelings I had when I wrote this poem. It's like I don't want to be out of touch with that feeling... guarding and guiding it with every ounce of blood in me.

Sleep on, dearest mama. I loved you then, I love you now even with the distance between us and always will...

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. 🙈

Kindly follow me on Noise.App.

10
$ 0.24
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @JLoberiza
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
10 months ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Blog, Poetry, Family, ...

Comments

Mine 8 years without my mom! No touch, no hold! I can feel you and the emptiness is for lifetime, unrepeatable!

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Mothers remain in our minds for years. My mother passed away nine years ago. I still remember when she went with me to drop me to the elementary school.

[ I tipped, but it didn't display! Maybe, due to BCH nodes taking rest :) ]

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Your really a loving son to your mom, God bless you. Hope thay my kids will do the same.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Losing a loved one is hard, especially a parent. They may be gone physically but they remain in our hearts and minds forever.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Hm... Mother's gentle touch is never forgetable. May God console your heart.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

I can feel how much you miss your Mother.

$ 0.00
10 months ago