My Life My Journey

2 17
Avatar for Olanykie
3 years ago

Growing up was a bit awesome and difficult for me, I grew up with my grandmother in a rural area. No electricity,no pipe-borne water,no good road....all the children in the village usually go to the river immediately after the sun set......we had to trek from one village to the other to get a drinkable stream water. Grandma happens to be a devoted Christian who always pray for me to scale through in life. I started schooling very late when my mate in the city have collected their first school leaving certificate I was in primary 1 in a government school, but I was determined that age won't stop me from getting to the top. I was very bright always topping the class even though it's a local school. Immediately after school every day, all the children in my neighborhood always go to the farm before going to the river.

Life was sweet and difficult at the same time,sweet in a way that I always have plenty food to eat but difficult because I had to work and work in the farm in order to get the farm produce to eat. No time to go and greet my friends after school because i have to be with my grandma 24/7.

Combining school with farm work is a bit tedious, I don't usually read but God bless me with retentive memory always assimilate whatever our teachers taught us. Fast forward to writing my entrance exam into secondary school....I came out as the overall student in my village as a result of this I was given a scholarship by the king, everyone was happy for me, it was a day of joy.

The school is close to my grandma house, so I always have time to finish my chores even before the assembly time. Day 1 at school, everyone was new so we barely talk to each other. The principal addressed all the new student and directed us to our class. Being a student in that school was fun as I later made new friends and we all help ourselves to attain greater height.

I was so popular in the school because I was the senior prefect girl and everyone including the teacher like having me around them. Time to round up with our senior secondary class and write qualification exam to the university. I was a bit scared because the subjects are much and I don't usually have time to read. The principal urged us to do our best in order to pass all our exams at once.

On this faithful day, I was coming back from the farm when I met one of our teacher at home with grandma. She broke the news to me that I passedthe senior class and the university qualification exams and not only that I was the overall best student in our state. I was shocked a village girl becoming the overall best student.

This caught the interest of the state governor and I was given another scholarship to study any course of my choice in the university. Wao, I've always wanted to be an engineer but I gave up the dream because I have no one to sponsor my education. The governor requested for my presence with my grandma, we were given a lot of gifts..... Grandma was so proud of me, she keep praising and eulogizing me in my local dialect. I was happy and fulfilled.

Life in the university was great, I had to leave grandma in the village and go to the city to school, God's favor was all over me as I keep attracting great people to myself, I was still the best student in my class, all my lecturers like me a lot because I was the only female in my class.

I came out of the university as a first-class student and I was given a scholarship by my school to go and study abroad for my masters.

Conclusion, life is sweet when you make God the pioneer of your life.

2
$ 0.32
$ 0.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Olanykie
3 years ago

Comments

Lovely story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks sir

$ 0.00
3 years ago