The life of a freshman( roomies edition)

4 36
Avatar for Okeh
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: University

Hey guys, what's up? I know I haven't been consistent lately but I'll try my best to get right on track. I have been given some free time and this is the best way to use it.

So in my last two post, I talked about “ My experience as a fresher". Well I was too serious that time and I made it look like I didn't have other activities and memories, well I had alot. As I am typing, I don't know where to begin.

Let me talk about when I moved into the hall of residence (hostel). I was so excited to leave my parents house that I even packed things that I didn't need, I almost took all my mum's kitchen utensils thinking that I'll practice my inner talent as a chef😏.

When I got to the hostel, I stood Infront of my room like a confused girl, that was when I met Jane. Jane was an art student so she was very lively and social unlike me that doesn't talk to alot of people. She offered to show me around so we went round the hostel together ( I didn't even realize she was a freshman like me with the way she was very bold and knew everything about the hostel). So we started talking and we bonded, I realized that, that would be my best hostel mate in the hostel.

We went back to my room that was when I met my bunk mate. Her name was Tomi, she was very quiet and so extra( by extra, I mean, she brought excess luggages like cupboard, curtain,mat, table, chair, 3 pillows, a shoe rack, she even brought a mini tv etc) I thought she wanted to live in the room forever.

Evening came, that was went I met my other room mate, Vicky, Vicky was like an“every guy type of girl". When she entered, she asked me immediately if I wanted to meet her boyfriend. I was really shocked because I was wondering how she had a boyfriend in less than a week. I just said politely “ I want to read my book". They all bursted into laughter. I was so confused on why they were laughing, tomi then said “school hasn't started fully, what do you want to be reading, do you even know your course materials?". I answered like a nerd newbie“ it's good to read everytime so that you will not fail". They all bursted into laughter again . I felt so shy, so I decided to sleep.

Before I continue, I would like to thank my sponsor for all the support and I'll like to ask that you guys should sponsor me. Help your girl out🥺🥺

Sponsors of Okeh
empty
empty
empty

So weeks passed and we all started bonding, we cooked together, we shared some of our things, we even argued on alot of occasion. Then one night, Vicky came back and was crying. Tomi and I was very concerned, we asked what was wrong and she said“ Danny broke up with me”. Tomi and I weren't surprised because Danny was like her third boyfriend in less than twelve weeks.

So we advised her to stay clear of boys for the rest of the session, we thought she would comply but before we knew it, she had a new boyfriend. His name was tunde. She said tunde was her soulmate. From that moment, Tomi and I gave up on her matter.

So it was towards the end of the session, we all decided to have a memorable experience. We decided to have a picnic, Jane joined even though she wasn't our room mate but she was like a family already. Our plan was to contribute money to at least 20k for all the expenses and outing we'll do. To be honest, I don't even know how we managed to brings out some money because we were all broke.( In university, it's normal to not have any money at the end of the session, in Nigeria, we say SAPA has come).

We managed to get at least 15k and we all went out to watch a movie, we also went to the zoo. I was so happy because that was my first time in a zoo and we played truth or dare. I don't want to tell you guys what we talked about🙈, so I'll have to end here for today.

As you're reading it, tell me the most memorable experience you has while you were in the university as a freshman.

Have a lovely day 💕

7
$ 0.20
$ 0.15 from @James2k21
$ 0.02 from @Mofif
$ 0.02 from @Preshdan
+ 1
Avatar for Okeh
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: University

Comments

It feels so good to meet people that despite of having different personilities, you get to vibe with each other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember when I was fresh man also, yeah it's difficult like no one knows you but the most difficult is that I'm the only fresh in a room and I can't even imagine my roommate was ahead of me for four years but I still getting to know them and good thing they are cheerful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This was really interesting to read, I kept blushing and could imagine myself in that scenario... My most memorable experience as a freshman was the first day I ran out of foodstuffs You don't want to know how bitter that was

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember those times when I used to run out of money

$ 0.00
2 years ago