My Crossover to the New Year

11 39
Avatar for Okeh
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Making memories

I'm still getting used to the fact that we are in a new year. That means we're going to refresh some traditions that we do every year like Valentine's day, birthdays, anniversaries, easter day, thanks giving, Christmas etc. This year is literally booked, we have another 365 days to start what we wanted to do for a very long time like getting a job, starting a new business or even find love.

******

Before I write about my new year's day, I have to write about my new year's eve. If you live in Nigeria and you live under your parents roof, you'll know that it's a normal thing for you to be in church on new year's eve.

In the afternoon around 12 noon, my mum told my sister and I so early to get dressed and go to our uncle's place to collect New Year's cow(yeah, it's a thing in my family to share cow among ourselves). When we got there, the butchers we not around so we had to wait for a very long time before the cow was killed and shared. This took about seven hours before the cow was ready to be distributed. My sis and I had to leave our uncle's place very late, this means we're already late for church, So we rushed home, quickly took our baths and did the needful and we rushed to church. The good thing was that we got to church on time.

In my church, our natural ceremony to the new year was to listen to testimonies, sing praises and listen to prophecy from our pastor, and like I do every year even though some of you might not believe in it, is to write what I want to achieve before this year runs out because trust me, “time isn't on our side anymore”.

I wrote alot of things, but my main point was to improve on my academics and become closer to God. Writing that you want to improve on your academics sounds lame and stressful right?, but let me tell you, once you believe in yourself and have faith in God, you can achieve it. I also wrote that I want to improve on my writing skills because of read.cash. Read.cash has helped me leave my comfort zone because I didn't like to write and now I'm doing it and also loving it.

So back to my story, before I knew it , it was 12 am. The first person that wished me happy new year was @Semaj2k21, the funny thing is that he wasn't even beside me. After the wishing of happy new year to everybody, My family and I went home.

New year's day was surprisingly more interesting that Christmas day to me, some of our extended family members came and we all chatted alot. My mum made curry rice(I was actually surprised that she didn't wake me up to cook it), we all ate till we could not stand up again and it was a memorable experience. I mean what a day to start the year.

so I'll like to ask a question, what was the main thing you did on New Year's Day?

5
$ 0.16
$ 0.10 from @Semaj2k21
$ 0.02 from @Mofif
$ 0.02 from @James2k21
+ 1
Avatar for Okeh
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Making memories

Comments

I actually wished I could start somethings afresh like getting a new girlfriend but my girlfriend will call me "Dee I just got a new knife"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Got a new knife? Don't worry, I'm sure girls are drooling over you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting ..what makes special in celebration of any event is you've making memories on it, enjoy and have fun...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your welcome....have a prosperous day😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy New Year! Sharing cow meet among family is a a common thing in the rural setting and it's very fun. Yeah, I traced you and just like I assumed, you're Nigerian. Welcome!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not in the rural setting 😂 and yes, I'm a Nigerian

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It doesn't matter what races your ...you have the right to celebrate and enjoy your life ..so be grateful and think positive..😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy new year to you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same to you😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago