Dangerous traditional practices in Africa

9 28
Avatar for Okeh
Written by
2 years ago

#10

Monday

24/01/2022

Good morning readers, I hope you had a great night? I actually did also and I was just thinking of what I could write today until I remembered some of the things I was thinking of before I slept yesterday. In Africa, we have a lot of funny beliefs and traditions that are meant to have gone with time but they still keep them and that's why it seems like we're in the dark because we cherish so many of these practices instead of accepting Technological advancements like other countries have. I am not against keeping historical artifacts and some of these things but letting it ruin us is what I don't see reasonable and I hope you understand my view with what I'm about to write.

Sponsors of Okeh
empty
empty
empty

Take a break and check these amazing sponsors of mine, they're simply the best. No doubt...

Dangerous traditional practices in Africa...

Before you start thinking that I am against some of the traditional beliefs of Africa, let me get that right. No one is against any historical beliefs or traditions that our forefathers believed in. This article has nothing to do with that, all I'm promoting here is the campaign against some evil practices that people still get involved in under the disguise of traditional beliefs. These practices bring about mental, social, physical and health damages. For example, underage begging for alms, female circumcision and so on...

  • Underage begging for alms

I am not against helping the needy or giving alms to those who deserve it but what I am against is the use of children to beg for alms, we see on our streets everyday little children begging for alms and they live on these alms. We have a lot of children that their parents were unsheltered due to the insurgence in North Africa in Nigeria, they are so many that they stay by road sides begging for alms. Some of them even take opportunity of traffic Jams to go from car to car for begging and I really find this sad because their parents don't even think about their future as they deny them from attending schools and getting educated.

  • Early marriage

A lot of uneducated parents still stay under the umbrella of ancient beliefs about early marriage. We have seen a lot of girls forced to marry at such tender ages of 11 to 18 when they are meant to be under the training of their parents, these children forced into early marriages get early pregnancies which they might not have the strength to carry and this leads to the death of most of them and the lucky ones that stay alive constitute to the overpopulation that we have in our country.

  • Tribal marks

I am totally against this. In the olden days, tribal marks were used for recognition, fashion (I don't understand that yet because most of the ones I see are ugly), for inscription for some powers. No matter the reason, I don't find it fascinating and I am bluntly against it because even the children they do it for later grow to hate themselves for having these marks and this has a great impact on the morale and self esteem of such a child.

  • Female circumcision

This is another evil act refered to as female genital mutilation now, it involves the cutting of the female external genitals at a very tender age. This act is very risky and any slight mistake could lead to bleeding which could cause excessive loss of blood and finally to the death of such a female child. This one has been addressed by the government times without number and I see campaigns everywhere I go about the evil behind female genital mutilation and I think there's already a jail time attached to these act which is a good move by the government.

All these practices and other evil practices need to stop because they cause real damages on their victims and they go through a last longing trauma that they might never get over in their lifetime.

Thanks for reading ❤️

6
$ 0.04
$ 0.02 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
$ 0.01 from @Kiingsley
$ 0.01 from @SilverBack
Avatar for Okeh
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Early marriage is something I detest most, most of those kids they marry off don't even know anything yet. It's bad.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're right.... Early marriage especially should be kicked against

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tribal mark? I'm not harsh but I find it hard to fall in love with a lady with a tribal mark. Not that I'm against it but it's just something that's not cool with my system. They should stop all those acts plss

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tribal marks have a later effect on such children, especially emotionally because they could be made as a jesting stock

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I had a friend then in secondary school that they used tribal marks to disfigure his face. Sorry🤦🤦🤦but we made jest of him then

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It isn't good to make jest of them because of emotional damage but I'm sure he looked funny 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I strongly kick against it abeg, what running 🤧 They should let them put it themselves when they are matured and they like it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some traditional associations we don't like but people not ready to leave it . Like face tribal marks , I didn't like too but people stuck with .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're right, we need to kick against this act

$ 0.00
2 years ago