I Wish I Knew Him Earlier

2 14
Avatar for OkanlaDavid
2 years ago

💭💭💭💭💭💭💭💭

When I was growing up as a child, my dad something will deliberately order us not to go out to play with other children purposely because he want us to stay inside the room with him hearing Pastor Olukoya's messages on tape. My senior brother and I will use the pillow to block our ears from hearing the message till will fall asleep. Funny hehe?

Though dad did all he can to make us understand how much we should be spiritual which we feel we are too young for that and ignore not to be recognised as spirit koko. We use to feel ashamed when other friends sees us coming back from church with dad, do you want to know why? He is always preaching (evangelize) on the road every time, either when he is coming from work to the house or from church to the house or from market to the house. He will be preaching and singing on top of his voice so that everyone far and near will hear him loud and clear. There is this song he use to sing often, "Jesus the son of God is coming soon, He is coming soon, He is coming soon. Jesus the son of God is coming soon, are you ready to go with Him?" What an amazing song but then to me, it was disturbing to my ears.

Are you like me, who doesn't love the company of believers? Are you always ashamed carrying your Bible with you anywhere you go? Do you compromise your faith when you don't share the same belief with others? Let me tell you the truth, you don't need to be ashamed because it is one of the devil's gimmicks to kill your hunger to know God better than you use to.

Do you know that I will rather enjoy keeping company with friends who are disobedient to their parents, children who disrespect elderly ones, they abuse one another which I was one of the chiefs of abuse (yaabu) if I yaabu you eh? Hmmm. You go first laugh but when you reach your house remember the yaabu you go start to dey cry big time🤣😫🤣... None of us was neither ashamed nor see anything wrongdoing to one another.

I was nowhere near knowing who God is, all I know was that my parents pray a lot and they take us to church when necessary. As a teenager, I attended different churches just to see my school pals. We gist outside the teens' Church, talk about irrelevant matters and gossip about girls around... What a waste of time and season. How I wish I knew God then, I will have outgrown the spiritual state I am today.

The awful thing about my teenage stage was that my mind was already polluted and corrupt🤬. I was the king of immoral practices among my peers, they seek my counsel on illicit engagement and I motivate them to get it done. Above all, my parents were not aware of my misbehaviour.

However, I learnt my lesson in a way that I least expect. When my parents separated due to relative influence, I moved with my mother to a new environment where I began to see the need to get closer to God. It was hard for me to change from my old ways but God helped me by sending people that matter my way.

Though in senior secondary school I was the students boss😎 (you know what I mean💆🏼‍♂️) my teachers commented that I will be initiated into occultic group if I continue this way when I get into the higher institution🤷🏼‍♂️. My reply to them was, I will rather be the number one or stand-alone and even before I gain admission I will source for demonic powers to outshine occultic oppressions in the university. I meant it but my saving grace was I struggled for many years before gaining admission to the tertiary institution.

This is my advice for you, you should seek God now than get in trouble tomorrow and aftermath seeking God for mercy and intimacy. The advantage now is that you will become better than you will be tomorrow if you don't now. It was during the years I struggled with unified examinations that God began to wash me up and He is still in business till now. I wrote JAMB about 10 times and I still didn't get admitted to my choice of institution till God finally saw that I have become a transformed person in Christ. Thereafter, I was admitted to the polytechnic which I graduated as a distinction student, aftermath I graduated from Unilorin as a second class upper division student. Isn't God good to me? Yes, He is, I learnt from my shortcomings of not knowing God while growing as a teenager. It's better now than thinking you will tomorrow. Tomorrow may be too late, think this through... I wish I knew God earlier in life than now?

*#Peace*

*#OkanlaDavid*

Sponsors of OkanlaDavid
empty
empty
empty

2
$ 0.27
$ 0.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
+ 1
Sponsors of OkanlaDavid
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for OkanlaDavid
2 years ago

Comments

God is good to you. He didn't allow allow you to get admission in time so as to prevent future regrets. This shows God knows about all that happens to us in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The best moment to know God and enjoy Him is when we are young. It will be easy when we start to grow up knowing God. For me, I do not feel ashamed carrying my Bible because I know how God has helped me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago