Loved ones will always watch over you!

24 58
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

"Being a family is being part of something amazing, you will love and be loved as long as you live, and that may never change."

Sometimes we take the time we spend with our parents or siblings for granted, and even when they are essential to us, we tend to stay away from them. 

I am not talking to everyone, but I am sure some of us always prayed to grow up fast, so we could run away from home and never see our parents again.

But the truth here is, we start regretting our actions sooner or later, and we wish we could go back to our parents, but it may be too late to tell them how we feel about them.

Never be too proud or shy to tell your parents how much you love them because, in this world, no one loves you more than your parents; they brought you into this world and sacrificed so much for you.

No matter what you do to them, even if they may seem angry with you at first, deep down, they still love you so much, and nothing would ever change that.

I wanted to share a story about a little girl and her mother; it is purely fictional, so don't worry about the characters; I hope you enjoy it.

Source: Unsplash

Ann wakes up, for she had been knocked unconscious from the battle that happened the previous night; it was WWI, and nobody was safe no matter where they stayed.

Ann isn't able to stand, and she starts crying for help.

"Ann" "Ann", she hears a voice in the distance, and it is her mothers' voice, buried under the rubble; her mother starts digging to save her, she immediately pulls her from the rubble and hugs her.

"Ann, are you alright, are you hurt anywhere? Let me see your body.

The woman in front of me was my mother, and I wondered why she cared for me so much;

She seemed to be doing worst than me, her leg had an injury, and she had a scar on her shoulder, but there she was crying while hugging me tight; she was happy that I was safe at least.

I had never seen anything like last night; it was like hell on earth, with the sounds of bullets, babies crying, and people running away from the attack that had happened to our town.

My mother hid me in the basement; she distracted the soldiers, so they wouldn't know where I was and tried her best to make sure I was safe; even when she was the one in danger, she only thought of me.

Father had gone out to check what happened, and he never returned, so we assumed he was dead.

My once beautiful and lively town is nothing more than rubbles filled with bodies and bullets.

"We have to leave now, Ann, we don't know if they will come back, so let us get going." - Mother.

Ann stands up and helps her mother walk; they leave town without knowing where they are going.

We walked for days, and since we didn't have money, we had to sleep in weird places; sometimes, we slept on the ground or in stables.

Mother always tried to warm me up when the weather was cold, even removing her clothes and covering me with them.

She didn't even sleep when the weather was hot because she would be up all night making sure I was not sweating or getting a fever.

Why did these women keep doing all these things for me? my little mind couldn't comprehend why she loved me so much, but I loved her for everything she did for me.

Every night, I watched my mother write several letters to someone, but when I asked who she wrote it to, she always responded with a smile and stroked my head till I slept.

Days later, we finally found a town where we could rest. But there was one major problem, it was a white town, and we were black people.

As we entered the town, all eyes were on us, and I could see the disgust in their eyes as they looked at both of us; we had done nothing to them, but they hated us.

At night we slept in the stables, and mother continued writing her letters; I was bored, so I left the stables without telling mother.

It was my first town in a white town, and I wanted to explore, but I didn't know where to go. I heard a voice in the distance, someone was crying, and it was a woman's voice.

I investigate, and I am horrified to see so many black women and men tied up being loaded into a cage.

I try to run away, but I am grabbed from behind, and my mouth is covered. I thought this was the end for me, but my mother came to save me like a hero.

I am dropped and released, and my mother talks with the man; he smiles while my mother begs him. 

I called my mother; she told me not to follow them, and they went out of sight. I don't know what they had agreed upon, but once again, my mother had saved me from death.

As the days passed, the man had given us a house, and we didn't have to stay in the stables anymore. 

But for some reason, he kept visiting my mother every night, and when I asked why, my mother gave me her usual smile.

One day, my curiosity took over me, and I peaked into the room to see what they were doing; I was horrified.

I stepped back and fell to the ground.

They saw me, and immediately the man rushed towards me and asked if I was stealing from him.

He throws me to the ground and tries hitting me. 

My mother hits his head with a vase, and he is knocked out.

We immediately run, leaving the house and city behind without looking back.

Mother had been stealing from him, and we finally got enough money to get to an ordinary town that had black people in it.

I was filled with joy as we finally saw people with the same skin color as us, and they weren't in cages. 

But my happiness is cut short, as my mother falls to the ground and starts coughing aggressively, and blood comes out. I was scared and didn't know what to do; I went to the church and asked for help.

Mother is carried to the church, and it takes a few hours before I can see her again. 

I visited her at night, and I could see something was wrong because she was pale and looked sick, but she still gave me her usual smile.

I go over to rest by her side, and she strokes my hair. Tears flow down my face, and I sleep.

The following day, I went over to see mom, but she wasn't in her room. I knew she was not feeling well, but I didn't think it was that bad.

I found out my mother had died, and I didn't get to talk with her once. 

Tears flowed down my eyes, and I couldn't control them. It was all my fault because my mother had been protecting me without caring for herself.

I kept on crying until the nuns calmed me down and took me into the church.

Later on, I found out that my mother had left money for me, and it was for my education and upkeep. Even in death, my mother kept on protecting and thinking of me.

A year later, I had started school, but I still felt the scars from the previous year, and my mother's sacrifice never left my mind.

The nuns had been great to me, but I was still sad.

One day, as I was doing my chores in the church, I received a letter from someone, it had no name on it, but it was for me.

I opened it, and tears flowed down my face.

It was my mother's handwriting, and I finally understood why she wrote those letters.

She tells me how much she loved me and hoped I would live a happy life; I later found out that she wrote a different letter for every birthday I had for the next 50 years.

Every year, I waited for her letters, and every time I read them, I cried.

She may have passed away, but my mother was always with me.

No matter how far apart they may be---

"Loved ones will always watch over us."

I apologize for the story being long; I hope you enjoy it. Thank you for reading.

18
$ 7.63
$ 6.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 15
Sponsors of Oikawa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Mothers are so loving. At times they love us more than they love themselves. We should try our best to make them proud of us

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Whatever happens to our life, our family will always be the one who help us no matter what happen.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That is why we should always reciprocate their love for us. Welcome to readcash friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, thank you my friend.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Very true...our loved ones will always watch over us, fight for us provide for us and do everything to keep us happy together. Is it THE BLOOD that is responsible for that or something else?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Well, I guess it is because we didn't choose our family, maybe that is why we are so close to them. Blood is thicker than water I guess.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hhhmmmnn I agree with you Dear... Blood is thicker than water.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

What a beautiful story 🥲…if you have seen my status for a while now I always put family is everything.. and yeah that is the truth.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Without family, where would we be? When we are down in the dumps, they come to save us. I think there is no other relationship better than the one we have with them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes I agree because blood is certainly thicker than water and we find that out when we have a problem. We can choose friends but we can’t choose family we are stuck with them for life that is why our parents do their best to protect us it almost like they become super humans when it has something to do with us

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha, I get that superhuman part a lot; parents are amazing😊, especially when protecting their children. Sometimes they don't even ask anything back, but I think we should give them even though they don't ask.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah we should

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our loved ones are placed on our path for their good and ours! It's a divine connection!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I believe so too, a divine connection; I like that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's nothing to apologize for, it's an extremely beautiful writing. At the end of the day, when push comes to shove, it's family that stays with us

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Family is always there for us, and that is why we should treasure our family more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We try to keep the one we love all the time. And in that case we try to keep an eye on our loved ones all the time. It can be called a sign of love. I love it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe, our loved ones are essential! Thank you for dropping by Mazekin😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think this is an excellent post. When it's lively writing it steals the reader's attention and is never boring. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am glad you liked it, dear! Thank you😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beautiful !! Infact i would have loved the story longer than this. Mother's are God's to their children, since i lost mine, i eventually became make and lonely. Nice story

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am glad you enjoyed the story, Frank, and I am sorry you had to go through that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know about others, family is everything to me. All I've been doing and will continue to do is to make my family happy. My love for them and their love for me keep me grinding hard every day.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Exactly, to me, family is an essential part of anyone's life; they are the reason we keep doing our best, even when things don't seem to be working out, and they are always there for me when it matters.

$ 0.00
2 years ago