Learn to Forgive!

14 38
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Date: Monday, October 18th, 2021

Thirteen days till the end of October, and the market seems to be furious for some reason. I don't know if I sell it or keep on holding it because the red bars on my app are scary; it is like everything went wrong today, lol! Should I buy more now or hold it till it goes up? What do you think?

Today, we will be talking about something we all know, but some of us never seem to do it. 

As you have seen in the topic, today we will be talking about "Forgiveness." I am sure we all know what I mean when I say this word, but let me dive deeper into the meaning.

Forgiveness is the letting go of past grudges or lingering anger against a person or persons, or in more simple terms, the act of forgiving or being forgiven.

All of us reading this, or should I say everyone in the world, has been wronged by someone, sometimes the people around us even hurt us more than others, and this is sad. It could be someone from work, a friend, or even a family member. 

No matter what others have done to you, please never hang on to all the negative feelings because that will never do you good; it will only harm your physical performance and mental health.

Forgiving someone who has hurt you may not be the most straightforward task; I know from experience that it can be tough to let go of all the hurt others have done to you.

But I have come to understand that dwelling on the past and reliving them in your mind would only fill it with negative emotions and suppressed anger.

When you learn to forgive others, you are no longer trapped by their past actions, and you are finally free from every hurt that has been done to you.

It may not be easy to let go, but it is a decision you should take; you can choose to replace ill will with goodwill; this means you no longer wish bad things to happen to that individual, which is called decisional forgiveness. 

This course of action is often the best choice.

Emotional forgiveness is the act of moving away from negative feelings and no longer dwelling on the wrongdoing, and it is tough to do because those feelings can come back and haunt you again. Just seeing the person may bring the feelings back, and if you see them regularly, then even worse.

Exercising forgiveness can have fantastic health benefits, and it is shown to lower levels of depression, bitterness, higher self-esteem, and greater life satisfaction. Even with all these benefits, it is not easy to forgive.

We can forgive, but we always find it hard; it is not clear why but maybe that is because we are human, and that is why it is so difficult for humans to admit that there was a great offense that still hurts them.

There are some steps you can follow, so you practice how to forgive others, let us take a look.

The first step is to :

Recall: Even if it hurts, you learn to relive the wrongdoing that bothers you; the goal here is not to hurt your mind, but so you learn to understand the wrong that has been done to you, don't push anything aside, especially if that memory makes you angry or upset.

Commit: Dedicate yourself to forgiving the person; you can write a journal or letter on forgiveness but not send it to anyone. Please keep it to yourself and read it over and over again until it becomes part of you.

Hold: Finally, learn to hold on to your forgiveness; this may be the toughest one because the memories would indeed recur. Forgiveness doesn't mean erasing the memory, and it is changing your reactions to those memories that hurt you.

Even when these bad feelings come back to you, remind yourself that you have already forgiven and let go of all the hurt, and you only wish good for the offender. 

If you still think you can't forgive or let go, you can talk to someone close or a professional, remember that negative emotions won't help you; they only hurt you. 

Most times, the offender doesn't even care, and you are only hurting yourself, don't give them the pleasure of bringing you down, instead forgive them and move on; this is a way better path. Don't you think so?

I hope you have understood what I said in this article. Thank you for reading; leave a comment, stay safe, and I will see you in the next one. Bye

13
$ 5.90
$ 5.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 3
Sponsors of Oikawa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Forgiving someone is to forgive yourself too. You maybe mad or in pain of the person coz your principle and policy you set in life do not coincide with the other person. Everything we do, we do it for a reason. Maybe we could just learn what had happened and accept its outcome. It allows our heart to be happy. Anyways, thanks for writing this article. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this reminder. I have kept this for a long time a grudge I'm feeling towards the people who wronged me. I'm still finding signs or ways to forgive them. I think this is it now. I want to free myself from anger and hatred. Hopefully, I can do it for the sake of my seek for peace of mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You should let go of all the hurt friend, it wont do you any good❤ free yourself it is the best decision

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Forgiving is ain't an easy task but we must do, as it only brings negative impact in our lives. We have to forgive for our own happiness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You got it right friend, those are my thoughts exactly 😄 Goodnight friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Forgiveness is the best way to have a peace of mind. To have freedom from the thoughts lingering always in our mind. To have a peace in our hearts.

It should be step by step, there's a perfect time for forgiveness. If you'll say you forgive that one but deep inside it's not that's what we called a lie to ourselves so it's better to forgive with a truly peace from a heart and mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you, Ramona☺️; if you choose to forgive, then make sure it is from your heart and mind because that is what truly matters. Forgiving someone should not be done half-heartedly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, you made me want to check my account, I just bought BCH yesterday so I'm hoping for some profit. It's been a long time since I made a profit I'm always at a loss. 🤣

Dear, learning to forgive takes courage. Learning to accept. I, myself don't like keeping a burden or grudges. I love to let go of all the negative energy/feeling. It's too heavy. I feel so heavy carrying it.

Before it was tough to forgive especially myself. It was a process, a continuous process that I'm happy I was able to win. I win myself back. And I win peace in my heart. Forgiving makes your life a better one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mind has not been at rest since morning. I looked at the market, and everything was just bearish. I thought I was dreaming at first, but it was real, lol! Forgiving is not easy, especially when you can't forgive yourself; most of us can't even forgive ourselves then; how do we forgive others? I am glad you were able to find enlightenment☺️☺️. Thank you for a fantastic comment☺️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Since I was busy with family once I buy I forget about it and am just shocked if I see it on the dip. 🤣 So I'm hoping since Christmas is coming that the crypto market will be in the same spirit. Would love green. Never mind red lol.

And thank you for a great article. Cheers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Forgiveness is a virtue, if we don't have it, we prolly be cheating ourselves because that's the only way we can have rest of mind

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, Exactly, friend, it is better we forgive!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah you are right it's even mentioned in the Lord's prayer that God should forgive us our sins the way we forgive those that sin against us. We should always try to forgive and forget all transgressions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, if God can forgive us, then we should also learn from him and forgive others!

$ 0.00
2 years ago