Addiction or Want? Which leads you to success.

5 47
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Article, Addiction, Wants, Success, Money, ...

Date: 5th March 2022

Happy Saturday, Readers! How are you all doing today? I pray you all are having an amazing Saturday, and I hope you have a relaxing weekend.

It is the end of the week, which means it is time to rest our bodies and minds for the events of the new week, and we all have to return to our various jobs and activities.

Most of us have things that we are addicted to, whether Fashion, Accessories, or Money, and I know I am addicted to sleeping, even though lately I haven’t been able to get it.

“We all have something we are addicted towards, whether it be drugs, work, food, sex, validation, everyone has that one thing that helps them up, and no matter how much you deny it, you will always come back to it. 

As I wrote previously, we all have that one thing that we can’t live without, whether our phones, internet, or people, there would always be something in your life that you value more than anything, but that doesn’t mean that is bad.

By definition, addiction is being addicted to a particular substance or activity.

I won’t stay here and write that all addictions have benefits or are good to the user, but addiction may help you achieve things in life.

This example might not be a good one, but some people work hard in their various jobs so they can be able to accommodate their addictions.

I once read an article on how certain individuals got wealthy. 

While I was reading, I was shocked to read a particular story about a certain individual that worked hard at their job so they could be able to afford drugs, such as heroin and cocaine.

They stated that the easiest way to make wealth is to have a certain goal/addiction because this will help your mind focus and keep on grinding no matter how bad things get.

I was confused at first. After all, the reason for making money seemed kind of weird and dumb because it was making money only to spend it on addictions that didn’t even benefit them.

Even though I couldn’t agree with their reason for gaining wealth, I had to admit that their theory, in a way, is correct because that is mostly the reason why people gain wealth, which is to satisfy their addictions/goals.

I tried proving this theory by asking some people why they decided to make money, and I was quite surprised when I proved the theory because most people tend to make money for their addictions.

One person said they make their money so they can buy/afford makeup because, according to them, they can’t imagine themselves living without putting makeup on. If they can’t make enough money, they won’t be able to buy the best cosmetic products.

I asked another person why they make money. Like the previous person, they responded that they couldn’t afford expensive accessories such as watches, chains, and diamonds without money.

Their answers made me think about why people make money and if that “individuals” theory about addiction is true.

I asked myself why I wanted to make money, and even though it took a lot of rejection on my part, I finally told myself the truth, which is so I could afford good things.

But the question is that an Addiction? Can you say wanting “Good things” is an addiction?

I would say Yes & No to that question because I could live without having good things, which means it is not an addiction, instead it is a want, but this is where my yes answer comes to play, because when you have good things, then you become addicted to them, which means you will want to work harder to sustain it.

Something becomes an addiction only when you know how good it is, so I would say that wanting good things may not be an addiction, but it is when you have good things that you will become addicted to them.

If I could fix that “Individuals” quote, I would write it like this.

“Want is what drives us to become wealthy, but what keeps us wealthy is our addiction to our want.”

I don’t know if it is the correct way to put it, but that is the only way I can put it now because not all addictions lead you to wealth.

Conclusion

It looks like the article is becoming a bit lengthy, and I don’t want that so I will end it here for today, but I want to hear your response/comments on it.

What do you think drives us to wealth, our addictions, or our wants?

What is your addiction?

Thank you for reading my article! OIKAWA 2022

25
$ 5.72
$ 5.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 22
Sponsors of Oikawa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Article, Addiction, Wants, Success, Money, ...

Comments

you know what, I have just watched an interview about a woman's addiction. And u know what her addiction is? She's addicted to sex. Kinda weird right? But if u know her past on why she became like that, you sure will be saddened about her. You can watch her interview on youtube if you want.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If we are addicted to our want, that would become a fuel to our successm Same goes with, if we are addicted on our goals, we will surely achieve them no matter how hard the road gets.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think they are intertwined.. because first you want something so bad then you beginning to work at it everyday and before you know it you become obsessed or addicted

$ 0.02
2 years ago

i think most people are driven by their addiction to sth. they do everything to afford it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I agree with that, sometimes addiction can be the driving force to success.

$ 0.00
2 years ago