Work

2 23
Avatar for Oatmeal-monster
3 years ago

I feel bad for having disappeared for a month but so is life.

[WP] "They take hearts, leaving the victim unfeeling and empty."


As a child, I always wondered what happened when people go to work, specially mommy and daddy and my uncles and aunts. Every adult, actually. I've met my cousins who were far older than me and I was sure that they were still fun by college but by the time they started working, they started acting the same as every adult I knew in my life.

I started to wonder if I'd end up like them too. I had hoped not. It terrified me to become someone who cared so little about the world. I didn't want to be an adult like that. I thought there xo7ld have been kinder adults like my neighbor's mom who always greeted us with a smile whenever I came to play over.

I was in highschool when I finally had the courage to ask my mom why she always looked so tired after work.

I could never forget the look in her eyes that made me feel as though I had asked such a sinful question.

"It's the monsters at work, honey. They take hearts, leaving the victim unfeeling and empty." After hearing that answer in a tone O had never heard from her, I thought it best never to ask about work ever again. The look was already enough to scare me to death. I could only imagine what I would be hearing or what would happen to me if I pressed further. I decided to just live my life not asking although her words from that day haunted me.

University passed by like a breeze and as soon as I had graduated, it didn't take long for me to get hired. Interviews, one after the other they came but this final interview.. it felt too odd. The adults seemed more ominous than the previous interviewers.

"Take a seat"

I nodded then sat across them from the table. Before I could open my mouth, a sharp pain permeated around my chest area. I gazed down and saw that it was a claw. Blood stained my otgwrwise white shirt and I was gasping for air

"H-help... me..." my voice grew weak the more the claws plunged into my chest.

They were prolonging this pain, even as they slowly ripped my chest open, I just watched and slupmed on my seat.

I looked at the beating red slab of meat in one of the interviewer's hand. It was later that i realized that it was my still beating heart.

"Congratulations, Sir. You're hired now"

And now I know why all the adults I know looked unfeeling and empty. They don't have hearts anymore

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Oatmeal-monster
3 years ago

Comments

When you are dissatisfied with the job you do, it is reflected in every aspect of your life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's true but i was going for a more supernatural depictiction here

$ 0.00
3 years ago