Is this my happy ending?

22 25
Avatar for Oatmeal-monster
3 years ago

[Prompt] Once a year on your birthday, you are permitted a 30 second peak through the eyes of your true love as they go through their daily routine. Your hope is to glean enough to recognize them when the time comes

I remember when I was 5, the very first vision I received had me blacked out for a good minute. 30 seconds of those, I saw something like a park and some other kids yet I didn't recognize any of those people. Later that day my parents explained to me what happened. It was a vision about my soul mate or that someone I was to spend my entire life with. I didn't like that thought at first, I mean, I was still 5. I had the world ahead of me.

The year passed by with the same turn of events, I black out, I get this vision from my supposed soulmate then I go about my day, that was until it was my 15th birthday. The vision of that day broke my heart. I saw she was with this guy. A guy I've never seen in most of her visions. Perhaps it was someone she was dating. Was this woman already dating? Come to think of it, I never really too interest on her until then. She was supposed to be my soul mate after all.

In that entire year, I went on a hunt for that guy. I needed to know what he was to her unfortunately going by just a face with no name proved an impossible a task, specially with just a 30 second glance. I had no choice. I needed to wait for my next birthday and every other birthday. I wanted to know who she was.

On my hunt for this soul mate of mine, I became more aware of things. I saw how married couples were, especially my parents. I kept asking them stories of how they met, how my father was on a mad hunt for mom. How he made sure he checked the mirror regularly just so my mother would know his face. And the same with my mother. When they finally met by their university days, it was as if they were glued together with how much they clung to each other. I could only sigh and wait. Can't say I didn't try the mirror thing every day though. It seemed like a good way to find my soul mate if I can't find her myself plus I didn't know when her birthday was.

My birthdays from 16 until I was 20. There definitely was no luck in getting a glance of her face. She probably didn't like looking in the mirror but that didn't stop me. I kept note of the things she saw, where she was and surprisingly on my birthdays, since I was 14, she somehow was always in a coffee shop. So I took note that maybe she liked coffee that much. That's why my hunt went mostly for coffee shops but still no luck. I continued this until I was 25. I was near giving up and had accepted a job overseas, somewhere in London.

After a few hours flight from the U.S. to London, I boarded off the plane then went on my way to the apartment I had leased out. It was near a coffee shop and really nice park that I had to pass through to get to my work place. I had some time to kill before I was told to start work. It was also my birthday that day. At around 3pm, I blacked out and the strangest thing ever was that I was seeing myself... for a good 30 seconds I could see myself. The moment I came to my senses, there was this girl, smiling at me. I was surprised at first but then she softly whispered "mate" and that was when I knew this was the girl I had been looking for

6
$ 0.06
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.01 from @Velimirveki97
Avatar for Oatmeal-monster
3 years ago

Comments

great article dear I have subcribe you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really nicely written article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is nice! You're off to a great start really, keep it up!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you ^-^ I'm becoming a fan of your writings too. They're pretty intense

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seriously, you wrote this in 30 minutes? Huhu it will take me 30 years to make one like this or I might not even. That's very nice. Xxx

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have some time these days because of the upcoming holidays and i am bored. This is a product of my boredom

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is good. You just created it for how many hours? I can't create something like this, wish I can, and I still don't get the use of prompt 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahh i just wrote for 30 minutes. I wasn't satisfied with the 10 minute timee i used so i ran it until i was satisfied with what i wrote

$ 0.00
3 years ago

30 minutes seriously? I write for like hours because I'm not that good in english so I need to refer in dictionary and google translate.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm an english native so that's probably why? I think fast too so prompts like these are fun for me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh that is why, good for you. I wish I can write english too in straight without looking in dictionary

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You'll just need to read more, maybe? They do say getting accustomed to reading in that language helps a lot in learning the language?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I read too yes, but not english. I tried reading before, pocketbook english book, I can't even finish the first page because I can't understand it 🤦

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You just need to practice! Keep a dictionary beside you. That's what I do when I tried learning hangeul

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, practice and practice. Wow, Hangeul, so you can watch now a Kdrama without looking in the subtitle? 🤩

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh no, i don't watch kdrama but i like listening to kpop so i learned hangeul for that but I'm still not good at it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ehhh, so for kpop songs. Hangeul is so complicated for me, I just know few words even if I've been watching it for almost 5 years I think haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's easier to learn it from slow songs like in those ost then work your way up to hiphop 😂😂😂 memorize the alphabet first then you try to read some lyrics

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ehhh, sounds complicated 😫

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not at all, it's a shortcut because you learn diction too when u start rrom songs

$ 0.00
3 years ago