My Top 5 Songs That Left Me in Tears

18 142
Avatar for Nyctofiles
2 years ago

Music and songs are not just for our ears to listen and for our mouth to sing. But also for heart to feel thus making us elated, feel in love or heartbroken and even make our tears flow.

I'm not a person who cries easily. I don't even cry when bidding farewell to the people I'm close with and being not able to see them for years and even to serious things in life like family problems. But not gonna lie, there are songs that still made me cry.

In one heavy night and chest in difficult times, listening and crying to music made everything lighter.

Prepare some tissues and lend your ears because here are some of my favorite tear-jerker songs:


5. 'Daddy' by Coldplay

"Daddy, are you out there?

Daddy, won't you come and play? "

Daddy is single of British rock band Coldplay for their album Everyday Life.

The song has a slow beat with mellow vocals that can be viewed into three interpretations as explained by vocalist Chris Martin: the empathy of Chris as father for those people whose dads left; having kids and leaving them all the time; and lastly,the reason this song was written is learning about the prison industrial complex in America and outright racism is sketched in so many laws thus resulting to kids denying their own father.

As someone from a broken family and who has a father far away, this song have me out of sorts and sobbing.

The vocalist's calm and mellow voice and melody and the kinda relatable lyrics brought me into tears ,also special mention to the sad music video. Plus my life experiences made my eyes dry from sobbing.


4. 'One More Light' by Linkin Park

"Who cares if one more light goes out?

In a sky of million stars"

One More Light is the ninth track and title track from American band Linkin Park's seventh studio album with the same name. It is the third and last single from the album.

This later became a posthumous song for Chester Bennington.

This beautiful song is heart wrenching.

This song is different from most of Linkin Park's song, with no percussions and screams just a mellow and calming voice.

Aside from the lyrics and the song itself, what makes me more emotional is the fact that the singer of the song, Chester Bennington died because of suicide. I wish he knew that there are many that care if onw more light goes out in a night of million stars.


3. 'Fix You' by Coldplay

"When you try your best, but you don't succeed,

When you get what you want but not what you need"

Fix You is a song of Coldplay from their third studio album X&Y. This song was written by all of the four band members and released on September 5,2005 as a second single from the album .

The song was inspired by the vocalist, Chris Martin's wish to continue helping her then-wife Gwyneth Paltrow through the grief after her father's death.

Another Coldplay song in the list. The band is sure how to make their listeners cry.

Aside from the mellow and soothing vocals and melody , and calming instruments, the lyrics can also make you burst into tears. The song seems talking to me and I feel that this song is about me. The lyrics is what I really need to hear so may be that's why this song made me emotional.


2. 'this is me trying' by Taylor Swift

"I've been having hard time adjusting

I had the shiny wheels,now they're rusting"

This is me trying is the ninth track from American singer-songwriter Taylor Swift's eight studio album and surprise album folklore released in the midst of the pandemic.

The album is a "collection of songs and stories that flowed like a stream of consciousness "out of her imagination.

this is me trying is a dream pop and orchestral pop written based on different narratives like a person dealing with alcoholism and other struggles; and the writer's own mental health in 2016-2017 when she felt 'worth absolutely nothing'.

As a student who excels back then and now nowhere to be found, this song can be relatable. The song I can really relate to froms works of Taytay.

Despite listening to 'this is me trying'all the time because it is one of my favorite Taylor Swift songs, there's still a moment that I cried to this masterpiece.

I think, the sad and mellow melody of the song and the lyrics that hits hard made this song sad and worth crying for.

This is me crying to this is me trying.


1.'Truce' by Twenty One Pilots

"The sun will rise and we will try again

Stay alive, stay alive for me"

Truce is the twelfth and final song from American musical duo Twenty One Pilots' third studio album, Vessel (standard version).

This song can be interpreted as hopeful message that life is worth living for especially for those struggling ones like people with depression and those who have suicidal thoughts.

I think I'm okay yet listening to Truce makes me I'm not in a moment. Despite being not struggling, the song is still heartbreaking. Definitely, this song and band made me feel worthy.

Additionally, watching the music video made it more heartbreaking by seeing Tyler Joseph with teary eyes singing— the man who struggled and tried to kill himself when he was younger is now the reason why others stayed alive.

I know that most of the skeleton clique (fans) are emotionally connected to this song. A song that saved most of them.

The lyrics. The piano. The calm song. The vocalist. The message.

Everything about this song is tearjerker.


Music is indeed a powerful thing. It control our brain to dance and bang our heads, to smile and think of memories and to let our tears flow.

It all happened in one night, when I really want to cry but I can't. These songs came the key to release the heavy pressure in my chest.

How about you? What songs that made you cry? And what's your thoughts and opinions about this?


Other related articles about music from my 'My Top' series:

Sponsors of Nyctofiles
empty
empty
empty

12
$ 31.18
$ 30.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Eunoia
$ 0.05 from @dziefem
+ 4
Avatar for Nyctofiles
2 years ago

Comments

Music can soothe the soul, warm the heart and brings tears or so much emotions. Singing along to the tune is a way to vent out some pent up feelings. Also, we choose the songs we listen to depending on our mood. “Fix You” Coldplay ❤️

i try to fix you but i got broken in the end. :(

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I definitely agree with you. Yeah, i chose those songs because I'm in an empty and sad mood and i want to vent out my feelings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Music lover ako eh, yung iba dyan favorite ko lalo na yung "this is me trying" by Taylor Swift 🖤

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same. pinaka fave ko na ata yan kay taylor swift.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try ko tong pakinggan lahat. Thank you for sharing. I'm not a fan of twenty one pilots but I will listen on their songs. As well as Coldplay...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome, thank you! Try mo album na blurryface ng twenty one pilots, yun kasi maraming hits.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beautiful Song my Friend , very nice Music 🎧 I keep listening to it over and over again. Good post my friend you are Blessed

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! You're blessed too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung kay Taylor Swift lang alam koooo. I need to search the rest. I want to listen this kind of songs when I want to cry out all my problems.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

fave ko talaga yang this is me trying. Yeah, effective outlet din yang music especially kung bottled up na mga emotions just like in my case.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeaaah. Super effective. Mukhang may pinagdadaanan ka ngayon kaibigan?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala naman HAHAHA frustration lang lately

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy hahaha. Well, that's life parang buhay. HAHA.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I first read the title of number five I decided not to read the rest...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wonder, why?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hihi just to make it short, because I really love my Pap's 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree sa Fix You. Kahit ilang beses ko na yan napakinggan walang nagbabago 💔

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Damang dama talaga yang kanta yan

$ 0.00
2 years ago