Is it better to be feared than to be loved?

2 28
Avatar for Novch
Written by
2 years ago

Is it better to be feared than to be loved? I first heard this statement when I’m in Senior High School. Our professor asked our class if we are in favor of that statement. Most of my classmates answered no and there is a minimal number who answered yes. Our instructor kept his smile as my classmates debated with each other.

On the other hand, I’m there, sitting on my chair thinking about my answer to the said question. I was thinking, If I’m that kind of person who is lovable, generous, and kind in general, people will surely love my attitude. However, too much kindness does not assure a kind response. Other people will take advantage of kindness, others may be insecure/envious if one is loved by everyone and may cause a lot worse problems.

So I concluded, maybe the opposite of the statement is not correct. I think again. What if I’m feared? Yes, people may stay away from me(which I kind of like), be mindful when they are near me but, I realized that too much fear with someone might also cause worse problems.

How did I conclude that too much kindness and trepidation can cause problems? It is because I watched documentaries. Documentaries are real, true to life, and they may happen to everyone.

So, neither of the two statements is correct, so I asked myself. What is the next choice? But there are no more other choices. I suddenly remember the tagalog phrase “ang anumang sobra o kulang ay masama” which literally mean “anything too much or too little is bad. This means balance. Too much love and fear are bad. I, therefore, conclude to myself that balancing love and fear is best.

I raised my hand and shared my answers. Some of my classmates cheered, and my instructor nodded his head. I think he got my point.

2
$ 0.07
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.02 from @QueenRaay

Comments

That is a perfect answer. I appreciate it. Well said. And yes, welcome to the family. The Devil welcomes you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the welcome! I hope to have a great stay here at readcash.

$ 0.00
2 years ago