Mom won't just let me sleep!

7 32
Avatar for Nanaado
1 year ago
Topics: Sleep, Overtime, Exhausted, Market, Family, ...

I kept late night yesterday and was up up to the middle of the night, 3:00am. I then slept off after setting my alarm with th intention of waking up at 10:00am, that plan went to the dogs when my mom woke me up with her shoe at exactly 6:00am, which was far from I intended. She went for the show option after yelling out my name several times without getting an answer, like anyone goes to bed at 3:00am and wake up the moment the name is being whispered! She woke me up for a purpose though, I wanted to help her go to the morning Market but of course it was still too early for that. Come on! Market women at 6:00am? What are they morning radio DJs? That's just my mom's way though, she's is a sucker for going to places early before time and wants us to do same, while that's a good thing, who gives an award for "the most punctual market-goer"?

Fast forward to when I got back from my market trip, I still had sleep in my eyes. Those three hours I slept prior weren't enough I had to get some more. I told mom I am going to get some sleep and why I had to get that sleep so that she wouldn't even think of waking me whenever she thinks the need arises, although I am the only child of hers who's in the house, the others will arrive in the afternoon. They had gone to my aunt's house to spend Friday night with the children so all I had to do is pray they come back before my mom needed something do for her.

I shifted the waking alarm to 2:00pm as I came jack from the market around 9am, laid on my bed, drew a blanket over my chin even though I wasn't so cold, and shut my eyes. After like 30 minutes of trying to fall asleep, I found out I had mistaken fatigue for sleepiness. I wasn't sleepy anymore, I was just tired from my trip to the market. Exasperated, I threw of my sheets and head to the bathroom to take a cold shower. I heard my mom call shortly after I got out of the shower to peel some potatoes, gosh African parents are something else! She didn't even ask why I wasn't sleep having told her I wanted to sleep, of course it wouldn't be hard to figure out why someone who told you they wanted to sleep are before you now, of course they clearly are no longer sleepy but you could at least ask!

We prepared porridge while talking about boring stuff. I had no vibe for proper conversations, even though my eyes refused to close my mind was still very sleepy. We finished quite on time as it was potato porridge instead of yam porridge which was the Saturday morning usual. I served mine, went to my room and sat on my bed, just then my phone rang and it turned out to be a caller who had the wrong number, thankfully he wasn't the annoying type who insist they have the right number despite you telling them it's wrong. I didn't know how it happened but after that call, I drifted into a long sleep, perhaps the heat I was exposed to in the kitchen evaporated my sweat making my body cooler to feel sleepy again. I am typing this article just after waking up, with my potato porridge still beside me, though now cold. I am going to eat it that way anyway!

6
$ 0.07
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
$ 0.02 from @DocLayla
$ 0.02 from @Sashaa
+ 1
Avatar for Nanaado
1 year ago
Topics: Sleep, Overtime, Exhausted, Market, Family, ...

Comments

Sleeping late is bad at times, but I guess I need to practice it t myself also, to have more sleep than I used to.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well that's one way of looking at it, a life hack😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Let me assume, it seems your mom knew that you kept late night and possibly chatting with boyfriend all night...she decided to teach you some lessons. Lol🤣.

It's good that you finally had time to sleep

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂😂 She knows I do it all the time, she's just like that sometimes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sleeping soooo late is unhealthy my friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is. It's a bad habit I am trying to stop.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good keep trying and it will work out

$ 0.00
1 year ago