Day 19: First Love

14 18
Avatar for Murakamii.7
1 year ago

June 2, 2022

Your first love isn't the first person you give your heart to-it's the first one who breaks it.

This is taken from Lang Leav's famous book Sad Girls. I won't talk about Lang Leav nor Sad Girls today. I will be sharing what I thought and learned about first love.

Prior to the days when I read Sad Girls, I used to define first love as the first person who makes your heart beat fast. It's the person who can give you butterflies in your stomach. It's the person whom you loved the most. It's the person you consider you've had a serious relationship with. It's the first person you give your heart to.

While reading that line from the said book, I found myself nodding at the reality of the definition that Lang Leav provided. I instantly agree with the idea. It's an 'aha' moment for me. It is hidden and she somehow unveiled the true meaning of first love.

I have a lot of crushes way back in elementary and high school and one of them is what I consider my first love. But it was in college when I found my first love. Oh, scratch that! It was in college when I had my first love.

Kevin is my classmate from my first year of high school. We weren't that close to that time and we rarely exchange conversations. My only memory of him was that he is the chubby, rich kid who constantly eats junk food and soft drinks while resting her right leg on the chair. Surrounding him are my classmates who serve as his allies.

Fast forward to the day when I'm already in my second year at the uni. We somehow connected via messenger. I can't remember how it happened. All I can remember is that we started communicating and we constantly take time to chat. We message each other day and night even when I'm having to attend my classes, I would reply to him. Even when it is dawn, I would be up early to message him as he is also up at that time because he plays basketball.

Until one day, we have somehow formed a bond together. It's like we were in a relationship. We only lack labels. We have endearment and we constantly update each other. You know, how naive teens are. I don't know how to guard my heart back then. We're like in a relationship. But we haven't seen each other since high school. We only communicate through messenger.

He wanted me to meet him at least once because he wanted to see me. But I was so afraid of what my parents would think. I was scared that my parents would be disappointed in me when they find out that I met someone whom I can be in a relationship with. So, I failed him but he was still fine.

Later on, he told me that he will be leaving for Canada. I didn't believe him at first so I didn't meet up with him still. After a few days, he sent me photos of him and his family boarding a plane and staying in their new home. That is when I realized why he badly want to meet me.

I regretted that I didn't meet him. I had so many what-ifs but at the same time, I also can't turn back time. We were fine even when he was there. He still updates me until one day, he got tired. He blamed me for not meeting him.

He stopped communicating with me. He blocked me as he said that he won't want to get in the way of my studies. I resort to a lot of desperate moves back then. From making dummy accounts just to reach out to him. I can't look back at how messy I was then. I lose self-respect and self-love.

I'm just glad that it is over now and that phase of my life has ended. That was my turning point. That experience was what made me believe that...

Your first love isn't the first person you give your heart to-it's the first one who breaks it.

  • Lead image is from Unsplash.com

Thanks for reading. Until the next read!

4
$ 3.64
$ 3.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @LykeLyca
+ 2
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Murakamii.7
1 year ago

Comments

Wahhh oiii pero iba takaga ang first love yun yung pinaka painful na heartbreak and unforgettable din talaga jusko same sis first love ko walang label din pero the way are action speaks louder than words pero ayun nga every beautiful things will come to an end if di para satin then ipilit charizz pero ayun nga ganto din naranasan ko pero nagkahiwalay kami ng school naghanap ng iba haha wala namn karapaatan ako kasi walang label.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ouch hahaha charge to experience na lang. And important may na learn charot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A new way to learn about first love in a different angle. Now, I understand that it is the person who breaks your heart that is called your first love.

Though your experience was a bit emotional especially when he needed you to see him but I wouldn't blame you because you were afraid then but it's all in the past.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah and I have moved on.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nagsakit akong heart.. nka relate ko gamay haha! dghan pud kog what ifs pero I think it was all for the best... and same goes to you maybe hehe!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, doc! Ma okay ra gihapon uyyy. Pero daghan na kong katangahan ato uy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The first person I gave my love to is the same person who broke my heart, so he's my first love lol. I was like you too before. Did desperate moves just to contact him.. But then again, it was a blessing in disguise.. When I finally moved on, I learned to love myself again. You are still young. Don't ever give all your love to a guy. Give more for yourself.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, sis. Noted. Charge to experience..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well he cannot completely blame you on not meeting him.. girls need to be more careful and you just did that and blocking you shows he's childish.. though I agree that you trying to talk to him again seemed so desperate but it also helped you grow... I believe you are way more mature right now than your previous version and that is the best thing about learning..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, sis. I'm thankful for that wonderful and painful learning experience.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good for you sis, keep growing emotionally financially

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Why he blame you for not meeting him that time?its not your fault it maybe your not meant to see each other and if theres lve between you and him even you didnt go to him that time there's always a way to communicate even his in canada.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kita naman jod sijag lain didto siguro sis. Or hasolan na sija kay lajo mi ja wapod mi nagkita

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mao pud lage sige lang sis dele jud mo meant to be,dele pa siya ang right person for you,by the way sis nahirapan jud kos kalisod sa akong english kasabot diay ha bisaya hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago