Smoking on the Balcony

21 70

I live above a smoker's bar.

Not really, but most of the time that's exactly what it feels like...

I rent a single room in a shared apartment. An apartment I share with two other people. I didn't choose to live with them. And they didn't choose to live with me. Sometimes that becomes apparent...

Our apartment has a big balcony. And the apartment below us has one of the same dimensions. Apparently, women love balconies. Both my two female roommates, their numerous female friends and my female downstairs neighbours love spending time on these balconies. They absolutely love it.

How do I know?

I hear them all the time.

No, really. All the fvcking time. And they never finish talking. Never...

I had a free choice which room I wanted to rent in the shared apartment. I went for the biggest one. The one which faces the patio. Because it would be more quiet than the other side which is facing a street.

And I was right. For the first months. Then a neighbour across the patio got a dog. And apparently, he likes to share his blessings with everyone. Because this dog barks so loud and so often that I might consider it to be my own.

That was the loudest source of annoyance before our downstairs neighbours moved in. We had the nicest, quietest neighbours ever. I never heard them. They never annoyed me. And I hope I didn't annoy them, either. Because the thing about me is that I don't want to be a nuisance to other people. I think everybody should live a mostly undisturbed life. I thought that was normal. I thought that's how everybody thinks. And then I met my new neighbours...

If their parties end at 2 AM, then I am super happy. If they don't use the speakers which make the bass shake the walls, then I might even be able to sleep with my wax earplugs in my ears and my headphones over my ears playing some relaxing sleep music. And in addition to that I use progressive muscle relaxation.

I might be able to sleep... I might sleep... Sleep... Until my overweight neighbour tries to get up off her chair to go to the toilet or onto the balcony to smoke. She tries to lift her body off her chair, but her weight is too much for her muscles in her legs. That's why she has to push her chair back. The wooden stool legs vibrate on the kitchen floor in a volume that is discernible as normal household volume -- if you're living in the house across the street from ours...

If I manage to fall asleep using all my tricks in my arsenal, she trying and failing to get up from her chair is a sure fire way to wake me up. And if it wasn't for her chair, her mouth would do it all by itself...

On the balcony, she is never alone. She is accompanied by the woman who rents the apartment next door to hers. And they talk. No matter the hour of the day or the night, they talk in the same volume. Sometimes even quieter during the day as partying until 5 AM usually takes a toll and they aren't fully awake until the next late afternoon.

Our balconies are facing the patio which contains a couple of garages. When they talk the sound waves are thrown back into the direction of our house by the garages. Sometimes I believe that the setup acts as an analogue non-electronic amplifier. Someone should research this phenomenon. Maybe there are other use cases than robbing my sleep and driving me insane...

Of course, I tried talking to them. They are actually quite nice. Of course, I asked them if they could try to talk more quiet when they are on the balcony in the middle of the night. Of course, I asked them if they could turn down the music -- or at least the bass. Of course, I offered to stick these little cushions under the legs of their chairs so that the rubbing against the floor would be a little more quiet when the stool legs are dragged across the floor. And of course they said, they would be quiet... And of course, they said they would turn the music down... They usually are a bit more quiet for a couple of minutes and then they go back to their original volume.

However, the worst part is the cigarette smoke. I absolutely hate the smell of cigarettes. When I was 18 years old, I shared an office with a chain smoker and it was the worst time of my life. The cold smoke stinks the worst. When that guy was on holidays for two weeks, I aired out the office. I had the windows open all day long. In the middle of winter... Windows open, heating full blast. I didn't care. I wanted to get rid off these awful smell...

After those two weeks, the smell was bearable. And within the first minute of returning from his holidays, the chain smoker lit the first cigarette. The first of around 30 per workday -- which is about 3 per hour, in case you're wondering...

Another 18 years later, I have to endure cigarettes 50% less often -- only once or twice per hour -- but at least two cigarettes at a time. So, what has changed? Not much. Not much...

This will be enough for this article... Good night!

What's this?

I mostly write this as a remedy to deal with my frustrations. It's okay if no one likes these articles. I try to write them in an entertaining way, but the main purpose is to let out my frustrations. So if you're not a fan of reading these articles, I can definitely understand. Please just skip these "therapy articles". I will write more interesting articles in the future about more important topics, I promise.

18
$ 23.40
$ 22.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Idksamad7869
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 8
Sponsors of MoreGainStrategies
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Oh really interesting buddy. No you wrote your feelings so it's okay I care for other feeling. Actually we are same buffy. I love cigarette when used to puff when I feel sad this is best friend in bad time. Keep writing really your enjoyable thought and life. Stay happy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why I want to live in a secluded place where neighbors are 100 meter apart, just kidding haha. I also hate noises, I easily get irritated. If it's me, I will also do what they are doing. If they have a loud music then I will also play mine, I'll play it even more louder. I sometimes feel irritated when Moms was talking even at night, if only I can say it to them, tsk. So I feel you 🤧😵.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I laugh at your sarcastic rants. I am also a sensible person regarding that things. I like quiet places the most. I like it better when no one disturbs me when I'm alone. However, some people are indeed insensible and shameless just like our neighbors in front of our house here. When there is an occasion at their house, they would party till dawn and laugh so hard as if they are the only household living in the residence. What an uncultured fools, right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, exactly. 👍

I wonder how some people can just ignore the fact that they are extremely annoying to others. I could not ignore that. I would feel bad to know that I disturb someone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those people are inconsiderate and selfish that's why. We're somehow thankful that there is an ordinance here saying no parties allowed beyond 10 pm and they also implemented a curfew from 10 pm to 4 am but these people are just ignorant even though we have a complaint about them in the Village President's office. I hope karma will come to them one day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope so, too. 👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like your non interesting article, hahaha I even read it till the end 😂

Well cigarettes smells is really terrible 🤦 I also had the experience before when I live in boarding house, dealing with noisy roommates.. it's really hard to deal with that because they will never considered lowering their voices just so the others can have peaceful rest.

I am a woman but I despise very talkative woman.. it's too irritating sometimes hearing their nonsense topics. I am just talkative virtually 😂

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Haha, I love your take on that. I absolutely agree. If they talked about some interesting topic, I wouldn't mind as much. I might even try to join the conversation. But it is so much nonsense. 🙈🙈🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Women will always be women when it comes to talking. I had a roommate who does that while in school too. She brings in various friends and they'd chat till daybreak in the name of reading. I likewise have a church close to my place and its hard to sleep whenever they have vigils.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish my neighbors would also go out and visit their friends sometimes. It seems that they are extreme couch potatoes and always sit at home. 🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your story made me imagine things vividly, and the overweight woman made me remember someone I know, who does the same thing :)

Your living environment is quite challenging to say the least. I wouldn't last a week in such a place. I hope you can find a better one, soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Noise and cigarette smoke... I detest them with a passion! When I used to live in an apartment building, I had to contend with inconsiderate neighbors as well. After years of living in a quiet neighborhood, I had culture shock. I learned that street sounds where much better than neighbor sounds. Now, cigarette smoke? To this day, I can tell when someone is smoking even when I don't see anyone or even puffs of smoke. And it boggles my mind how in this time of wearing face masks people can still afford to smoke cigarettes... hayayay!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought this is a fiction one.. Good boy, you don't smoke.. I hate thr smell of the smoke as well.. It gives me nausea

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Me too! Nausea and sometimes also the worst headaches. 🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I even want to vomit especially when a taxi smells like cigarettes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yeah, that's terrible! 🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes in the journey of life, we are left with no choice on who to live with it, you did the best thing by approaching them in a nice and calm way. I hate the smell of a cigarette too, they even go as far as smoking weed here. Everything is time, you are going to outgrow that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for your kind words. Usually, I just try to convert the frustration into drive to work, but sometimes I have to address it in a more direct way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is not your normal article and I like it lol! 😂

"No, really. All the fvcking time. And they never finish talking. Never..."

Oh well we're women. Men is only Bla. And we are bla bla blah blah blah blah blah bla bla blah blah blah blah blah... 😂😂😂

I can relate because I used to live in a house wherein their wall is my wall and I'm telling you the noise of them while having s*x will not let you sleep. 🤣🤣🤣 I hate them so much. And I live where the band always practice at night and when it's almost every night I look like a zombie when going to work. Imagine all those drums and brass instrument. 🙈 It's a nightmare.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Oh no, poor you. Sleep is so important. I am considering moving no matter the cost. 🙈 But maybe I should try noise canceling headphones first. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago