One Catastrophe Never Comes Alone

9 83

First of all, let me state that this article won't be educational - and it may not even be worth your time to read it, but I absolutely have to write it. It is one of these therapeutic articles I have to write to cope with the shit that is happening in my life.

So here we go.

It started with SmartBCH.

The start of SmartBCH was a turnaround point for my life. I knew it. I was sure of it. I invested bit by bit my entire crypto portfolio into SmartBCH - provided liquidity and put the liquidity pairs into the farm. Life was great, finally. It was going to be absolutely brilliant. I knew it. All the pain and suffering, all the hard work would finally pay a dividend which would turn around my life.

I made around $50 or even more each day in crypto gains and farming rewards. In crypto it really pays to be early - and it pays to take risks. I would be wealthy soon if things continued like that - and I would finally be able to afford to move out of the shitty shared apartment I live in together with two young women - who clearly wish I didn't live there.

How did we end up in that situation?

My ex-girlfriend and I lived together in this apartment with a room mate who only lived three days per week with us. The rest of the time he lived with his wife several hundred kilometres away. My ex-girlfriend and I had been together for about two years at the time she moved into the shared apartment I lived in - when a previous roommate moved out. It was a lucky coincidence - and living with a roommate was just temporary. My ex and I planned to move out together when she finished her studies.

But then Covid hit.

Most of the world shut down, my stocks crashed, I lost most of my income from my several employments and my crypto crashed, too. The financial worries ended with a broken relationship - which I only found out months later after the roommate announced we had to find a replacement for him - as he wouldn't come to live with us anymore. During that time it wasn't easy to find a new roommate as most new students were not looking for a place to live when they can study online from the comfort of their parents house. Therefore, we didn't have a lot of applications for the empty room - and we settled for the first applicant who didn't seem to be completely crazy. It would be for a couple of weeks or months anyway until we move out - I thought.

However, when the time to move out approached, my ex-girlfriend made it clear that she would be the only one who would move out and that we would go our separate ways. And so it came. She moved out by herself - and we are no longer in contact.

Before that happened, my ex and I advertised the apartment as being available in its entirety after we move out, but as you already know, I ended up being left there - stuck with the new roommate and the promise that her friend can move in with her. I was skeptical how well that would work out - as living with the first roommate wasn't exactly fun - and the second roommate moved 5 times in the past 5 years. It's safe to say there were more red flags than in a communist parade...

But damn, what was I supposed to do? Break my promise?

Looking back at it: Yes, most definitely. That is exactly what I was supposed to do - but I didn't have the balls - and I thought "one man, one word", but had I known how much trouble keeping this promise despite the change in circumstances would have saved me... I definitely shouldn't have thought twice about it.

I will continue this story in the next article. Even if writing about it won't change anything - it will not magically turn my life around - it will help me to cope with it and help me to accept everything that happened. I have been going through a shitty time recently and I definitely need that.

Thank you for your understanding.

14
$ 17.03
$ 16.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
+ 5
Sponsors of MoreGainStrategies
empty
empty
empty

Comments

everything happens for a reason, mate. For sure everything will be went back to normal. Fighting!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You didn't write whether your SmartBCH investments are profitable. I hope that it is at least partly the case. But it is always very dangerous to invest everything in just one thing or even just one coin. I hope you have diversified your investments. But most importantly, stay healthy. Everything else will fall into place when you are healthy. I wish you the best.

$ 0.15
2 years ago

Thank you so much. I lost a bit of enthusiasm while writing the article and decided to split it up into several parts after all.

I believe that most of my BCH investments are more or less profitable, but I did a few things that were quite stupid and lost quite a bit due to impermanent loss - and then there was the BeachSwap rug pull. 🙈

I haven't had the heart to calculate how much I lost exactly, but I will probably do it to leave the thing behind me.

Unfortunately, my stock broker made me lose quite a nice sum of money as well recently - which was the actual reason for writing this (but I didn't even get to that part). And my bank screwed me. And my roommates. Quite a lot came all at once. That was the article I planned to write - I might still finish it to let it all out. 😅🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't lose hope. Everything will change for the better at some point.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You'll be alright soon! Hoping everything will turn around the soonest for you. 🤗 It's okay to let it all out here. this platform does not discriminate.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hi, friend! How are you handling everything that happened? I hope you are much better already. The times we get up are valued more than the irregularities when we fall.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is good to vent out your frustrations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just remember you are never alone and you have friends to talk with!

$ 0.15
2 years ago

Thank you so much Paul. I really appreciate it! And don't worry, I'm definitely alright. I just need to let out some frustration, but I'm fine. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago