Being a "panganay" is so hard.

9 174

We always have the biggest and heaviest role in the family. We are expected to be the "breadwinner". We should be the "perfect" example to our younger siblings. We need to be "cautious" of our words and actions. We should be "polite" all the time. As if it's a sin for us to be seen as a weak person. We should never let our emotions out. We should not disappoint anyone.

But, not all the times we have the strength to go every single day. We do have our own share of struggles. We cry at night in our own room unable to share to anyone our feelings. We reprimanded our own selves when things get out of hand (especially when it comes to our siblings and parents). We always keep in our selves the things that hurt and pain us. We do not speak of our struggle.

Why am I saying these things? Because I want to be the voice of those "panganay" who are struggling right now for their family; to those people who are working hard day and night.

A simple "hello, kumusta?" Or "okay ka lang?" can make our day. Because those simple words will remind us that we have a reason to keep going and they are always in our back to support us. It reminds us that we are not alone in our fight.

We always say this to our selves "Kapag may kailangan ako, kanino ako pwedeng tumakbo?" And it hurts that nothing in our mind can we found comfort while struggling. A simple "thank you" can lift up a part of the burden we are carrying. So, please let your "panganay" be reminded that you are there for a support. They needed it badly.

I am not the panganay or eldest but I somehow I just reminded that they are struggling to, they need someone to talk. Not all the eldest do the responsibility but I am just amazed and inspired to those panganay that they did their best for there family, especially to their siblings.

I have a cousin and he is the panganay of their family. Indeed, he sacrifice his studies and work as a call center agent to help the needs of his siblings. They are 9 siblings and the 2 of his siblings are in college right now. I am so inspired of his courage and he did his responsibility. Cheers to all panganay out there who are still fighting and working!

Thank You For Reading!

-===-

10
$ 1.54
$ 1.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Jijisaur
$ 0.02 from @porsche
+ 3
Sponsors of MoonTrader
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I feel you! But I am so lucky that my family is not that hard on me being a panganay. yeah, panganays have a lot of responsibilities.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung expectations din kasi talaga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not a "panganay" but I'm carrying all the burden of the family. It's tiring and depressing but there's nothing else you can do but to keep on going because everyone is leaning on you. When you become weak, everybody gets weak. As much as possible, I wanted to stay stronger for the family and provide everything they need.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not a panganay though but when I'm asked with those questions, I would tear up easily.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just like you, I am also a panganay or the eldest in the family MoonT. I admit that it is not really very easy most especially when you are not lying on a bed of roses. But still I am conquering all the struggles with my ever supportive family. Thanks for sharing your inspiring life experiences.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lisod jud ng mahimong panganay Mjay, daghang responsibilities nga kinahanglan gampanan. Nakita na nako sa uban na mga breadwinners...Good thing si Kuya, bisan panganay sya pero Dili niya na na feel kay kaming mga managsoon, independent na bisan bata pa. Dili mi magsalig sa iyaha kay sa giingon pa sa akong nanay, dapat tanan mulihok ug maningkamot, kay kami man tanan mangaon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mom was the panganay and so am I, ang hirap talaga na iyong nakasanayan niya na practices for being such is dapat ganoon rin ang gawin ko, medyo ako na ang naaawa kay mama kasi nga sa kaniya pa rin nakashoulder ang family niya kahit malalaki na sila. Tho i admire her selflessness and unconditional love

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aigooo I feel yu tho pangalawa naman ako. Dama kita kasi nararamdaman ko ganito din ung burden ng sis ko. 😢

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang hirap pag panganay Mjay kasi ikaw yung breadwinner. Yung lahat nasa isip mo. Ang dami mong iisipin. Minsan may mga pressure pa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago