Surigao Travel Lessons

19 38
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Scanning through my old hard drive brings back a lot of travel memories. It was 2015 when my husband and I started traveling and in 2017, we went to Surigao together with my high school friend who came from the United States together with her boyfriend and brother as well as my brother and sister in law. We were a group of seven.

This blog isn't just a travel memoir recollection but I am going to share with you the lessons I have learned during that specific travel because we went through so many obstacles and challenges.

1. Travel is not all about happy trips.

While we always look forward to happy memories whenever we travel, there are things that we can't control. We may be planning things, we go check the upcoming weather and make necessary itineraries that would suit up with our goals for such a journey but when nature gets in the way, we have no option but to be agile and adjust.

We can't also control other people's opinions and reactions. There's a reason why traveling as a group is not my thing. While, it is true that the more the merrier, traveling in a group requires a lot of work to make it merry.

Even if you go with someone close to you, there are always opinions that go out of their minds and mouths that might offend you as the one who created the itinerary and all.

So, know that it is not all about happy things when we travel, we have to accept the fact that we can't control certain things and expect these things will happen then adjust accordingly.

2. Travel Requires Resourcefulness.

When we went to Surigao, a typhoon hit the province. Our flight back to Cebu was supposed to be at Tandag Airport but because of the storm, our trip was canceled. My husband and I were fine spending a day or two in Tandag but our companions were not on the same page so we have to find means and be resourceful in finding the best solution.

While they were complaining about how inefficient the customer service of our airline of choice, I went on looking for a solution myself, thank God for His divine wisdom and for showing me the right actions, else, we will be left in Tandag for another week as we found out the airport only flies once a week to Cebu!

Part of what I thought was instead of depending on the customer service in Tandag, I called up the hotline, request for our tickets to be transferred to the next flight in Butuan which is a bigger airport. While the customer service from Tandag said we have no choice but to wait for the next flight, the person on the phone told me of my options, and rebooking and rerouting to another airport were possible, all of those for free.

If I had only relied on that customer service in the airport, we might have been stuck in Tandag.

3. Don't Always Depend on Others.

When traveling, it can't be avoided that certain problems arise. It is expected for everyone to help especially when in a group. Being a part of a group allows you to be part of the solution.

Do not allow yourself to become a burden, think of a solution, share your thoughts, and do not always depend on others.

I found several groups of friends ended up not talking to each other after a certain tour because they had arguments on their last voyage together. Do remember that your relationship is far more important than that specific issue.

4. The Internet is a Friend.

It is true that the internet made traveling easier today and I assure you that with the internet, you can do multitudes of ways to enjoy your journey. Some people had even ventured traveling solo with the use of the world wide web.

As someone who has not traveled alone yet in my life, I prefer traveling with my husband, always as it gives me a feeling of security and peace because we won't know what's on the road when we go on solo travel but then, I am saying that with the use of the internet, one can have a successful trip.

There are so many blogs, vlogs, reviews, online pictures, and videos that one can curate before you specifically tag this area as part of your itinerary.

Note that each travel we do with my husband, we always do DIY tours. It is better this way because we have control over our time and we can manage and adjust accordingly. We have the option to stay longer in an interesting place or move forward to the next destination if the area doesn't require much time anymore.

These itineraries we do, we all depend on the things that we found on the internet. Thus, when traveling, make sure to have your own internet devices, pocket wifi, or your phone internet.

Conclusion

When everything goes back to normal, we will resume traveling and I am quite certain that this list will stay the same, we have to acknowledge that we can't control everything, that we have to be resourceful while on the road, not always depend on others but be part of the solution, make use of yourself and make sure to have a means of accessing the web.

What other trip tips and lessons have you learned during your travels? Have you faced any issues before when you traveled with your loved one or your friends? I'd love to know them in the comments!


xoxo,

mommy jean of momentswithmatti

Love harder than any pain you've ever felt.

9
$ 18.84
$ 18.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @MizLhaine
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 4
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Napaisip ako if meron bang problem na nangyari sa travel. Pero I agree with travelling with a lot of family and friends. May nabasahan pa nga ako na you will also know the true personality of a person if you have travelled with them lalo if joiner kayo sa tours. Kasi di ba kailangan doon on time kasi may iba kayong kasama. Pero ako talaga napipilitan ako kumilos ng mabilis lalo kapag yung tita ko ang kasama ko whether travel or pasyal lang dito sa Metro Manila. Kasi di ba fast paced life sa America? Eh ako napakabagal ko kumilos. Hahaha. Tapos yung susuotin ko nakadepende pa sa mood ko for the day. Kaya lagi ako sinasabihan a night before pa lang kapag may lakad kami para ibig sabihin bilisan ko kumilos πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

on bang problem na nangyari sa travel. Pero I agree with travelling with a lot of family and friends. May nabasahan pa nga ako na you will also know the true personality of a person if you have travelled with them lalo if joiner kayo sa tours. Kasi di ba kailangan doon on time kasi may iba kayong kasama. Pero ako talaga napipilitan ako kumilos ng mabilis lalo kapag yung tita ko ang kasama ko whether travel or pasyal lang dito sa Metro Manila. Kasi di ba fast paced life sa America? Eh ako napakabagal ko kumilos. Hahaha. Tapos yung susuotin ko nakadepende pa sa mood ko for the day. Kaya lagi ako sinasabihan a night before pa lang kapag may lakad kami para ibig sabihin bilisan ko kumilos πŸ˜…

hahaha dapat talaga a night before ready ka na..hahhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel so happy knowing there are lots of travel bloggers here in read.cash . I will keep these in mind, if I would be able to go on trips.. In God's time. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True. Ang dami na nga nila na nagppublish about their travels. Sa dami di ko na alam saan ko gusto pumunta. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This lists of yours? I will surely keep this in mind. Actually, most of time, I had a hard thinking about the risks in travels. hihi πŸ˜… Probably, preparations were just not yet totally ready.

hmmm..

Happy next travel!☺️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thanks! yes, do visit surigao soon when things are better

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This story made me remember of my travel in Palawan for research presentation. There was a difficulty in landing in Palawan that time kasi mahangin sya. I tried to avail chance passenger para makauwi ako agad kasi nga birthday ng anak ko kinabukasan.But what happened was, yong eroplano na supposedly sasakyan namin, hindi nakapaglanding. Yong mga sunod2 na mga airplanes di na din nakapag landing. As in I was really thinking kung paano na to, hindi ako makakauwi and I have a flight from Manila to Davao sa dawn kasi nga gusto kung maka abot sa celeb nang eldest ko. Yong kasama ko was texting me kung kukunan ba dw nya ako ng room, uuwi nlng ba dw ako sa hotel, but hindi yon ang ginawa ko. As in I stayed in the airport and hours later, nakapag landing yong huling airplane na yon talaga yong original flight ko. Mangiyak ngiyak na ako approaching the crew and telling her na please let me ride that plane kasi yan naman and original flight ko talaga. And thanks God, nakasakay ako in that flight. God is indeed good, may mga bagay na sya lang talaga ang may control. I was able to be present sa birtday ng anak ko.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yay praise God naman sa story mo sis... it felt hopeless but because of your faith and perseverance you made it...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

as in sis, parang may nagsasabi talaga sa akin, wait and see,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those are true indeed. And traveling can be frustrating only if you don't know what you're doing, and those on the list you've provided are a must. I had an experience some time ago when I was on a trip to NZ, and the immigration officer seems to be having a bad day that time and he doesn't want to let me off, reasoning I might go to NZ and become a TNT there despite me having a valid work visa and the stamps on my passport showing my previous travels to that country. I couldn't think of a way but thank goodness to my brain it came up with a solution. So I asked him if I could talk to anyone else besides him and that sorted out the issue. And I also agree with @bloghound's - traveling light and the cards are a must too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

oh i am glad that you were able to talk to another person for that matter...

unfortunately, creditcards can't be used in the province but then online for sure it is helpful...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, fortunately. And yeah, only major establishments accept credit cards in most provinces.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yep...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If a trip breaks up a friendship, I guess it wasn't that strong to begin with.

I will keep your tips in mind for my next travel trip. ;D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thanks for your insight.that is true. if it breaks then it is not strong indeed in the first place...i agree with that

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Great list, sis Jean! Ako naman, I always pack light. Ayoko ng mabigat na karga karga eh hehe. And always have an extra cash, debit or credit card. Although di ako fan ng credit cards, magagamit mu pag emergencies. There was one flight we had with my husband, nagkulang yung cash namin para sa immigration fees and we were about to board na. Mabuti nahiram nya nun cc ng lola nya nun na nagamit namin agad hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

t list, sis Jean! Ako naman, I always pack light. Ayoko ng mabigat na karga karga eh hehe. And always have an extra cash, debit or credit card. Although di ako fa

thanks sissy.. yes those things you mentioned too are very important.. the lessons listed here were only the things that I learned when we went to surigao...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lalo na now na meron ka na baby. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

naku super hirap na ngayun magtravel ng light pag may baby nga sis..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago