Remember Labor

28 53
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Two days ago, my sister in law gave birth to her second child. Her first is a girl and now, they have a boy. Seeing her newborn's pictures make me miss those times when Matti was still a little one, very fragile and helpless.

Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty

Looking at a newborn makes me think of how I am too was like that once in my life. We all have been in that state and it brings me so much joy that my parents had done all their best to nourish me.

Now, since I was feeling nostalgic seeing a newborn and as a way of welcoming the new addition to the family, I would like to recall many things about the time when I was in labor and when I gave birth to Matti. I have seen a friend posting this on a social media site so why not bring it here on readcash too?

To all my mother friends here, feel free to also join this prompt!


1. Normal delivery/CS?

Praise God I had normal Delivery by God's grace. I had an operation before due to Ectopic pregnancy but when my OB checked my operation document, she confirmed that a normal delivery can be done. I was happy that my OB wants me to deliver my baby normally, she had been telling me that we will not do a CS because it takes time in healing the wound and we don't want to stay long in the hospital so she had been assuring me that I can do it.

2. Father in room?

I really want my husband to be in the labor room and delivery room but due to the pandemic protocols, he has to stay in our room instead and wait. He said he couldn't sleep actually as I was admitted into the labor room at six in the evening and I started having contractions at around five in the morning. He was really worried because it's been more than 12 hours yet there was no news about me. Thank God he was able to join a Bible Study online and his group praying for my safe delivery brought him peace. He was only able to sleep in the morning and was awakened when the nurse called via intercom.

3. Due Date?

According to my last ultrasound, the baby should be out by mid-July.

I'd like to share a funny story because when I went for a checkup with my OB, I met someone who was there too with a small tummy. I had a huge one by the way when I was still pregnant, this was due to the pandemic, I had been eating and eating without proper exercise, yes we go out but because of the protocols, my activity was lessened. Now we were conversing and I was asked by the lady if I am about to give birth. I told her not yet because the baby was still seven months and then I asked her back the same question and she said yes, she's going to give birth by the next week. I was dumbfounded! Her tummy was like my 5 months tummy! Haha!

4. Birth Date?

July 25, 2020. This is a memorable date because it's my maternal grandfather's birthdate too. So my mother had been telling me about it and she was so happy that the birthday fall on that date indeed.

Also, I was really thinking that I would give birth on the 24th. The number 24 is a significant number to me and my husband but when midnight passed and I still was not in labor, I was feeling bad. Anyway, it might mean that we should move on from the number 24.

5. Morning sickness?

Nope, I had no morning sickness. What I hated though was the smell of our favorite laundry soap Ariel, our liquid body soap Dove, our shampoo from Human Nature, my husband's odor, I super hate it, I also hated the smell of seaweed!

Until today, I still have not rekindled the love for Dove and Ariel.

6. Cravings?

I had craved anything sweet and starchy. I love milk tea too, all cold drinks in fact. I was always on Grabfood and the Marketplace. My husband was also spoiling me and would just say yes, you go order and have it delivered. He was always surprised whenever I'd say, Langga, there's a delivery man waiting outside, it was pandemic so delivery can only stay at the ground floor, some would need to stay at the guard house.

7. Gender of the baby?

Boy! I thank God that He had given us what we desired. Prior to giving birth and having my ultrasound for the gender, our friends asked me what I wanted, a girl or a boy and without hesitation, I said boy right away.

I had already a feeling that I was carrying a boy and I was not surprised during the ultrasound.

8. Place of birth?

I gave birth at Cebu Maternity Hospital. My husband and I had been thinking of availing some packages in other hospitals but my OB is affiliated with Maternity and her clinic is just next to the hospital which would be very convenient for us so we went for a private room instead because I have read a lot of negative reviews about the hospital and the nurses and doctors if one is on a package. But if the patient has a private doctor and private room, they are more accommodating and I had witnessed the harsh words and treatment they had given to those who were on the package. I was pampered during my labor because of the presence of my OB.

9. Hours of labor?

I was admitted at six in the evening on the 24th. My OB had an IE during our checkup and she said I was already 5cm dilated so we were advised to go for admission. I didn't feel any pain at all, no contractions but was advised to just admit myself because it was already 5cm.

But I only felt contractions and pain when my water bag was manually broken by one of the resident doctors who by the way was not even kind enough to tell me she was going to break the water already, I was afraid she brought in a huge scissor! That was five in the morning.

I gave birth at 11:15 AM so that's six hours of labor.

10. Weight?

Matti was 4.5 kg. I was having a very hard time pushing him out, the doctors helped in fundal pushing, there were around five doctors around me to help. My OB said thankfully, it was not a busy day, there were only three other patients in the labor room.

I actually passed out when I did the last push. I was counting and pushing but couldn't get Matti out. They told me they could see the baby's hair already so I had to push really hard. I did and then passed out. I was awakened when Matti was already crying at my chest.

11. Baby's Name

Johan Matti.

Before the ultrasound, since we don't know the gender just yet, we have to come up with two names. James said he wanted Nathaneal or such but I thought it doesn't fit well. What I wanted was a European or Hebrew name on the first name and then a more modern one on the second or third name but of course, the meaning should be something related to a dream and gift from God because of course, we had gone to a heartbreaking loss before and we believe this one is a really gift from the heaven. So I searched all over and found these websites:

After a lot of filtering, scrolling, mix, and matching, James and I thought this would be a fitting name for our baby:

  • Johan Aislinn Mattie/Myrtle - this is if the baby's a girl

  • Johan Athan Matti - if the baby's a boy

Johan means God is gracious; Aislinn means a dream or vision; an inspiration and Mattie or Mattih is a European name which I liked and this is also a name of a photographer/videographer that we both follow. Athan is a short term for Nathaneal which means gift from God. I also considered Myrtle which is the equivalent of the name Hadassah in the Bible, the Jewish Queen Esther's Hebrew name.

So basically, James got what he wants and I too got what I wanted. I love that his or her nickname would be an acronym of the three names which is JAM, short for James.

But I realized that three names too long so I decided to take out Athan when Matti was born.


Come on mommies! Let’s hear your story! You can do this to each of your babies! I am tagging in @Micontingsabit @Marinov @Usagi @mommykim


xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

12
$ 2.77
$ 2.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jerrysavage00
$ 0.05 from @Jher0122
+ 7
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

This is a beautiful prompt sis, am gonna make mine today.. your story is awesome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks dear... i look forward to reading your entry.. tag me!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I already wrote and tagged you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i will check it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yayyy, thanks for tagging sis. Would loveto try this asap 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yey looking forward to that sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try nako ni nga prompt sis.Lahi lahi gyud magbuntis noh ky ako sad dagko akong duha ka anak sa ngbuntis ko nila.sa Eldest nako they thought twins akong anak ky dako lagi ko ug tiyan unya gamay ra ko nga pagkabae.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

looking forward sis sa imong entry

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis. Ngstart nako ug suwat ganina. Myta matiwas nako later Para mapublish nako ugma pohon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

anina. Myta

nabasa na nako sis..hheehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Owawiii, sorry momsh, late ko na nabasa this. Thanks for tagging me :) Will do this prompt soon. How do you pronounce matti's first name, Yohan?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wawiii, sorry momsh, late ko na nabasa this. Thanks for tagging me :) Will do this prompt soon. How do you pronoun

yes momsh with a Y ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Normal delivery? Yes, at home included. With us that is normal. No painkillers, midwife and 3 out of 5 I was sitting. Laying on my back is not my idea of normal.

Father in room Once and it felt terrible and not stimulating or supportive at all. As the youngest two were born my eldest was present.

Due date All born too early The shortest pregnancy is 6 months.

Birthdate Twice March, September, October, December

Morning sickness? I was sick 24/7 till the moment I gave birth

Cravings

3 - spaghetti Bolognese from a certain Italian restaurant. Not my favourite food. Guess what? The child still (mainly) eats it.

5 - 'monchou cherry pie' (great the eldest worked at a bakery)

Place of birth Home and in one case just in time in hospital (doctor not present)

Hours of labour Water broke I went to bed. No pain, no puffing or contractions. Woke up with the feeling I needed to poop. I mainly waited for the midwife to arrive.

Weight 2300 grams 1550 grams 2220 grams 2490 grams 2600 grams

Names I never asked for knowing the gender but knew what it would be and always been right still had names for both genders. All names were given by me, not by the father. The meaning of the names was important to me. Each child has three names one of these names is the calling name which is normal with us and mentioned on the birth announcement.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

or knowing the gender but knew what it would be and always been right still had names for both genders. All names were given by me, not by the father. The meaning of the names was important to me. Each child has three names one of these names is the calling name which is normal with us and men

thanks a lot for sharing dear.. in our country, we are not anymore allowed to give birth at home.. either we go to the hospital or a lying in or the local health center... to avoid any problems....

i am glad to hear about the spaghetti..the child eats it..ahaha

as well as the morning sickness part. i am sorry about being sick the whole time.. and that's for five children! oh my goodness!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks for the tag ate. i will do a draft regarding this one right away. Ganda ng name ni Matti, Johan Matti pala siya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes johan matti siya sis..hehe actually ung first option ko was johan athan mattih with an h pero feeling ko magrereklamo siya pag magsusulat na paglaki nya so change ko to a shorter one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wahaahah magrereklamo yan ate kapag di na kaya isulat sa 1/4 na pape pangalan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uu nga sis hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello sis! I would loke to share mine too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i look forward to reading your entry sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sis! 😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

will definitely do this hhahahaa

it's always an amazing journey when it comes to motherhood talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i look forward momsh for your entry..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

will do this later mamsh hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay will look forward to that momsh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Johan Matti 😍 ang gabda ng name. At ang sweet naman ng partner mo ate Jean, spoiled na spoiled ka talaga sa mga cravings. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

super hahaha mo ana ra ug order lang diha.. dah ang ending daku kau si matti

$ 0.00
2 years ago